We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheery bar”

Wahoo's Bar and Grill
Ranked #17 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Perched above the world-famous Whale Harbor Marina, Wahoo's Bar and Grill offers the Key's freshest selection of locally caught fish and seafood including mahi-mahi, grouper, snapper, tuna, and Florida lobster that come right from our docks. Wahoo's Bar and Grill offers both an indoor and outdoor bar to help you lose track of time while here in paradise. Just don't forget about our fantastic happy hour which is available Monday through Friday from 4pm to 7pm
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheery bar”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Eclectic menu for a bar, speedy service, fresh simple seafood. Had the mahi mahi sandwich which was bun fish lettuce tomato; nothing special ( I don't know why I'm under the impression that fish sandwiches will one day blow my mind). Mahi mahi tacos were flavorful and fresh. Don't sit outdoors in the evening ! Thankfully Brian was kind enough to tell us to move inside when he saw Mosquitos circling us; within 5 minutes I was bitten to bits don't know what would've happened if he didn't say anything.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    452
    174
    58
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, cold beer, great views”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped here several times over our two week trip, and were met with friendly smiles and a comfortable, easy atmosphere each time. The outside tiki bar is great, and you can watch the captains unload their catch as they return from their trips.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Busy place”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I loved the fact that they cooked the permit fish I caught that morning. Brought it in, they grilled it, gave me sides and a drink and I was happy. It's a bar/restaurant, nothing fancy at all.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AsISeeThem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really good food!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Initially i thought the service would be bad, the clean up boy was rather rude, looked at us and said you can sit anywhere, we chose a a table and he trew the cutlery on our table... Lucky we got a for real waiter after that. He was patient and polite and made funny comments...
The food was delicious,i had mahi grilled with sweet plantains...yum. My husband ordered the enchilada with shrimp, although quite spicy it was very good.
Pricing wasnt the cheapest but worth it.
I would return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NursePonpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Excelente server and service”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We visited Wahoo's restaurant for a quick drink on our way to Key West. Well we had the most amazing experience with this server. As we were quickly approached by our waitress Margarida we told her our dog was in the car so we were only having a quick drink, and she informed us that our dog was able to join us. When we got back upstairs Margarida was waiting for us at a different table with our drinks and a bowl of water for our dog Scott. She asked if the table we were sitting at was comfortable because a smaller table would not be ideal for Scott. My wife and i looked at each other as we were amazed that she was treating our dog like a customer it was unbelievable, we were speechless. So we decided to stay and have lunch, the food was really good, we had the Pan seared shrimp and fried sample platter. This restaurant has provided the best service that i have ever come to know and we have been to loads of places. We have been bragging about it to all our friends and family and even in Key west we told a few new friends to stop by and try out Wahoo's Bar an Grill on their way back up from Key West. Margarida with a D lol keep up the amazing work and your a great example to follow thank you soo much for everything.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahoo's Bar and Grill also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Wahoo's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing