We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good service and location, bit pricey”

Wahoo's Bar and Grill
Ranked #18 of 92 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Perched above the world-famous Whale Harbor Marina, Wahoo's Bar and Grill offers the Key's freshest selection of locally caught fish and seafood including mahi-mahi, grouper, snapper, tuna, and Florida lobster that come right from our docks. Wahoo's Bar and Grill offers both an indoor and outdoor bar to help you lose track of time while here in paradise. Just don't forget about our fantastic happy hour which is available Monday through Friday from 4pm to 7pm
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice place, good service and location, bit pricey”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Wahoo was very nice restaurant overlooking the water for lunch. The service was great, with servers and hostesses each helping each other out. The food was very good , but not cheap (given it’s in the keys). I suggest the shrimp Po-boy, absolutely the best I’ve had this side of New Orleans. The grilled Grouper sandwich was great, although pricy at $17.00. I do not recommend the conch chowder, although tasty, was more vegetable soup with a piece or two of conch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    439
    170
    55
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Conch!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great place to eat! good food, and good service...the conch, the chowder, and the shrimp were awesome! great value, good drinks, too!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dianeterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great buy for the money. Food was excellent”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place has food as good as the view. We had eaten there once before and I figured if it was good last time, it should be good this time. It was actually better. We had pan fried Wahoo, for the main course with lemon butter and encrusted with macadamia nuts. For an appetizer we selected fired conch. The fish was excellent; moist and full of flavor. The sides were fresh, warm and delicious. You can't go wrong if you select this spot for an outstanding eating experience. I'm guessing a lot of their fresh from the sea offering come right from the numerous charter fishing boats berthed around the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will3642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

After some of our other experiences in the Florida Keys, we went to Wahoos Restaurant with low expectations not expecting excellent food. We were mistaken! We started with cocktails. My chocolate martini was nice. Then we ordered conch appetizer and it was good, not exquisite, but good. We split dinner. Ordered grouper pan fried with macadamia nut crust with key lime butter sauce, with plaintains and a mix of broccoli, zucchini and yellow squash. One bite of the grouper and I was in heaven. The grouper melted in my mouth. The fish was done PERFECTLY and it was very fresh and very well presented. Plantains were also wonderful. Vegetables perfectly done as well. This dish rates a 10 out of 10 rating. Service was also very good. We ate outside overlooking boats. This restaurant is the best we have dined at in the Islamorada area. It is better than Marker 88 with slightly lower pricing. FIRST CLASS.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karenk1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickamauga, Georgia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a nice lunch”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped by chance at Wahoos for lunch and enjoyed the experience very much. We ordered Prawns and they were fresh and huge. We had a really great meal, good service, and the view overlooking the ocean was wonderful. I would go back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahoo's Bar and Grill also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Wahoo's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing