We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Kaiyo Grill & Sushi
Ranked #20 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a nouveau fusion restaurant, representing eclectic styles of cuisines. We source local and seasonal ingredients to compliment our ever changing menu. We have a wine list that represents 5 continents and over 120 offerings.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

After a HORRID experience at NIKAI sushi next door, we walked over to Kaiyo and had a wonderful dinner. We sat outside and enjoyed this beautiful weather - had wonderful sushi and we could not have more pleased. Thank you Kaiyo for turning our night around and helping us to forget how terrible Cheeca Lodge is -

We will be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shannon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    160
    58
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing to brag about”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Our meal here was fine, but nothing spectacular. The prices were extreme for the amount of food you received. The sushi was delicious, but you needed to order $100 worth to make a meal. I don't think I will return anytime soon.

Helpful?
Thank Trixie1434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Much more than a sushi joint”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We started our meal with sashimi. Delicious. My wife had salmon and I had some steak. The food was well prepared, fresh and served quickly. The deck was quiet and pleasant. A lovely evening, Glad we stopped here rather than Pierre's.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleTracker, Public Relations Manager at Kaiyo Grill & Sushi, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Rob Y,

Thank you for your five star review of Kaiyo Grill. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and hope you will dine with us again if you are in Islamorada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Soooooo Delicious!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent 3 nights of our recent Florida Holiday in Islamorada, staying a Casamorada. We were recommended by the staff to try Kaiyo Grill and we were not disappointed! The steaks were absolutely delicious, far superior to a steak house in Orlando that claims to be in the top ten of American steak houses. Appetisers were exceptionally tasty & a very generous size. Special mention has to go to our lovely server Christina. It was an absolute pleasure to have her serve us, she is charming and attentive. My only negative is that Kaiyo does not open on a Sunday so we could only attend 2 out of our 3 nights. Honestly can't speak highly enough of this restaurant and the staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nightingale78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleTracker, Public Relations Manager at Kaiyo Grill & Sushi, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Nightingale78,

Thank you so much for such a fabulous review of us here at Kaiyo grill. We appreciate all of your compliments I will be sure to pass the compliment along to Christina your server. It's always nice to receive a pat on the back for a job well done. We hope to see you in Kaiyo again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamorada, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seafood..”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

For more then 5 years I dined at Kaiyo's.
During my last visit i noticed the menu had changed and
to my surprise waiter explained the non of the fish offered was local, all cold water fish imported
a total disappointment to locals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleTracker, Public Relations Manager at Kaiyo Grill & Sushi, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
MarthaP,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your waiter would tell you that none of the fish offered is local, because that is false. The Fresh Catch of the Day is local as well as a few other menu staples such as the Hogfish. We do offer fish that is not local such as the Yellowtail, which comes from the west coast, I will be sure to speak with the management and chef's so that our servers may be properly informed of the origin of the fish in our restaurant. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiyo Grill & Sushi also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Kaiyo Grill & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing