We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent display.”

History of Diving Museum
Ranked #5 of 32 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum is dedicated to collecting, preserving, displaying, and interpreting artifacts, antiques, books, documents, photographs, and oral history relative to the History of Diving. We tell the international story of man's attempts to explore, understand, and venture under the sea. We also celebrate the special role that South Florida and the Florida Keys played in this story. The Florida Keys History of Diving Museum is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit educational institution focused on the Story of Man's Quest to Explore Under the Sea. The majority of the Museum's artifacts have been provided through the generous support of its founders, Drs. Joe and Sally Bauer, who hold one of the largest collection of historic diving equipment and research documents in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed November 5, 2018

We visited here probably 10 years ago and it was very much a "Mom & Pop" affair.
Things have changed! The displays are far more professional and extensive, for example the "hard hat" display is probably the best in the world.
Basically you amble through a twisting corridor that traces diving from ancient times to modern rebreather and mixed gasses. As a vintage diver of more than 40 years it was great to see twin hose single stage regulators and BC's made out of lifejackets!
There is a well stocked gift shop and the lady behind the counter was friendly and courteous and made us feel welcome.
A great place for a couple of hours particularly if you are a diver.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, Public Relations Manager at History of Diving Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're glad you enjoyed the changes! We're proud of what our curator and staff have accomplished, and it's nice when a repeat visitor is able to see the updates.

Our gift shop carries unique items and we're happy you found some great purchases.

Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rainy day"
in 40 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 26 reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 23 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 16 reviews
"non divers"
in 12 reviews
"on display"
in 19 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 16 reviews
"gift shop"
in 31 reviews
"all ages"
in 29 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 9 reviews
"great stop"
in 15 reviews
"few hours"
in 13 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 8 reviews
"key west"
in 18 reviews
"helmets"
in 75 reviews
"information"
in 57 reviews
"technology"
in 17 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 758 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2018

make plenty of time to visit this lots to read and take in well worth the stop . will probably bore little kids .

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank eaterofallthingsgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, Public Relations Manager at History of Diving Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Thanks for the review Mark! We defiantly have lots to read and videos to watch. Many adults are surprised, but kids enjoy the Museum because we have a scavenger hunt for them and there are little Playmobil figures hidden throughout. I bet you saw some too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018

If you are an underwater adventurer you should not simply stop by - you have to put on your mask and move your fins and get here.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank keysmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, Public Relations Manager at History of Diving Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thanks for the review Mike! We love adventurers of all kinds. It defiantly is a great way to learn about diving and experience its history without getting your feet wet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Well worth the visit! As the tropical storm was washing out most outdoor activities (and diving) I took some time to visit this little gem. The museum is small, but packed with interesting exhibits of human's attempts to explore underwater. Includes a variety of diving helmets, a small display of work on 20,000 leagues under the seas, through scuba diving and underwater habitats.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Sharkhunter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, Public Relations Manager at History of Diving Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

So sorry to hear that your diving got washed out! We are glad you were able to come and explore other aspects of diving. Hopefully you were able to get some diving in, and if not you can come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

This museum exceeded my expectations, because of the organization of the artifacts and information about the artifacts. I learned a great deal about the history of diving, which goes back 5,000 years! This is a must-see for all ages.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, Public Relations Manager at History of Diving Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Thanks for the great review Patti! It is crazy to think how long people have been trying to explore under the sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed History of Diving Museum also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to History of Diving Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing