We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Museum I have ever visited!”

History of Diving Museum
Ranked #3 of 59 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum is dedicated to collecting, preserving, displaying, and interpreting artifacts, antiques, books, documents, photographs, and oral history relative to the History of Diving. We tell the international story of man's attempts to explore, understand, and venture under the sea. We also celebrate the special role that South Florida and the Florida Keys played in this story. The Florida Keys History of Diving Museum is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit educational institution focused on the Story of Man's Quest to Explore Under the Sea. The majority of the Museum's artifacts have been provided through the generous support of its founders, Drs. Joe and Sally Bauer, who hold one of the largest collection of historic diving equipment and research documents in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Museum I have ever visited!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

It is a very cool place for anyone interested in diving. I personally enjoyed the collection of diving helmets from all over the world. The entire visit was extremely informative, educational, and entertaining! The exhibits had a wonderful flow to them and I recommend this place to any diver wholeheartedly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippintony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    173
    30
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Having found our original destination closed, we stopped here more for something to do than any particular interest. It's fascinating. Loads to look at, information covered in an engaging and interesting way, lots of artefacts and things to play with.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you are a Diver don't pass up on this....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

It is not all that expensive 12 bucks, and the history contained within is a fascinating look at man’s attempts to explore the ocean. As a diver for the past thirty years it took me way back. I loved all the helmets from around the world and the super deep dive suits. I always wondered what you would do if you in one of those suits and down about 100 feet and you got a nose itch. Lots to see here the owner has obviously put a lot of love into this. Take your time and feel the history and courage that surrounds you. I will go back again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fascinating museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is a gem of a museum. I didn't know much about the history of diving, and I learnt a lot. The exhibit takes you through the a timeline of history of diving from the very early days (pre-historic) to today. There is an impressive collection of diving masks and suits. The small gift shops has interesting souvenirs as well as expensive artifacts of you are a serious collector.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sbeauchesne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun history of diving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

For those who enjoy scuba diving or history, this is a fun place that is inexpensive and does not take long to visit. It was interesting & educational about diving and would appeal to children as well (except possibly very young).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed History of Diving Museum also viewed

 
 

Been to History of Diving Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing