We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Stopped for Lattes Twice”

Midway Cafe & Coffee Bar
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Midway Cafe and Coffee Bar - a must-stop Islamorada restaurant and shopping spot! We are a funky little cafe, bakery, coffee shop and retail store located in Islamorada, midway down the Florida Keys. We make all of our baked goods and breads on site and serve local fresh roasted coffee. At Midway Cafe we pride ourselves on using fresh organic high quality foods in all of our dishes. We have an extensive menu to choose from including vegetarian and gluten-free dishes. When you visit Midway Cafe we want you to feel at home because our family is always ready and willing to help you however possible.
Northern Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just Stopped for Lattes Twice”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The coffee was very good without that charred, burnt flavor. The people working there were very pleasant. My husband bought a hand-painted buoy to bring home. This is a lovely, small coffee/breakfast spot. There is wi-fi available.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    863
    291
    53
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Yummy breakfast with a generous helping of friendliness in a funky Keys setting. What could be better?”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Yummy breakfast with a generous helping of friendliness in a funky Keys setting. What could be better?

We tried this place on the advice of a local who mentioned that the place is under brand new management. The new owner’s hard work and attention to detail really shows! Our hometown is a foodie mecca so we have high standards, and we visited Midway Café during a busy spring break week, but we found the place welcoming and fun. We loved the cheerful décor.

The place was hopping when we arrived, but staff kept everything moving along and we never felt rushed. You order your food at the counter, take a seat, and then your food is delivered to your table. I think the person who took our order was the owner. She was warm and easygoing about answering a few questions, even with the long line of folks behind us. A friendly staffer checked on us after our food arrived to make sure that all was well.

The breakfast offerings were very solid – unpretentious and very tasty. We really enjoyed our omelet and breakfast burrito, but we raved over the muffins and the great coffee. We stopped by later in the week to take out some of their irresistible bakery goodies.

We look forward to returning the next time we visit the Keys.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midwestchic94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My favorite place in the Keys”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This place was so good we went pretty much every morning of our stay. Food and coffee were excellent, baked goods were awesome and the staff was super friendly. Really nice outside seating. Wish we had one of these at home!! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marianacci3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Biking Breakfast”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was doing a bike ride from Key Largo to Key West and stopped here for breakfast. A little fancy inside for a sweaty biker but never mind. They make you feel most welcome. Had great coffee and the Breakfast Pita with two eggs, scrambled, fresh salsa, caramelized onions, garlic and pepper jack cheese wrapped in a pita with ham. OMG it was amazing and then I had the best ever oatmeal with honey. It's at MM 82.5 - be sure to stop.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToprodChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sisters trip”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Wow we almost missed it. We didn't stop for lunch or breakfast but would have if given another opportunity. We stopped for drinks (fruit smoothie, chai and coffee drinks). Such a cute little cafe. Very cool decor/painting. This spot has a cool little gift shop and bakery as well. Stop in even for a minute. The girls working this cafe are layed back and accommodating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJones12361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midway Cafe & Coffee Bar also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Midway Cafe & Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing