We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Destination Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We got married here on 29.10.13 and had an amazing time. We found the website when searching for beautiful places to have our destination wedding, coming all the way from London UK it was a daunting experience!
Though we were very nervous at first as we had never seen the area or spoken to Paul, Magda or Patty we were soon to find that this was going to be a pleasure and not daunting or scary at all. I emailed in for a quote giving frankly very brief details about numbers of guests and time of year and got back the wedding planning guide and timeframes. Everything was so detailed and you could go through and pick and choose elements that you wanted to make it special and individual to you and your groom/bride.
Paul and Magda corresponded with me through email almost exclusively due to the difficulties with time difference and this was no problem and every little query/concern was answered quickly and with extra added help.
They helped me to plan the perfect hassle free wedding, also they helped e to arrange a fishing trip for my groom and friends for the day before the wedding, and my spa appointments for hair/make up etc at Ciao Bella day spa which was simply amazing.
Even after planning every detail I wasn't expecting the amazing scene that greeted us upon arrival. The resort was beautiful and just what i had hoped for, for a destination beach wedding. We arrived a few days before and us and our party of 20 - including lots of little kiddies - were staying at the resort. The Pool and Tiki hut - which we had full use of - were clean and lovely, very big and the pool had both shallow and deep areas for all the children, and adults needs.
We had a lovely relaxing few days before the wedding and i was so pleased to finally meet Paul, Magda and Patty who were such genuinely lovely people i was overwhelmed. Magda helped me so much with all the finer details and her eye for detail and precision with flowers, tables and designs was second to none, I almost felt like my sister was helping me to plan the day.
On the day of the wedding I was so happy to see it all coming together, there were hoards of people combing the sand, setting up everything bringing in potted palms, and table decorations it looked beautiful. The were setting up from around 8am and the wedding was at 5.30pm so you can see how much thought and effort goes in.
Paul really set us at ease at the rehearsal and was funny to boot! He had thought of some lovely words to say as we were both not happy to write our own - pressure!
The day itself went without a hitch and we so sad to leave the day after.
The flowers that Magda arranged were amazing, so bright and beautiful and nothing like what we could get in the UK.
Overall we were so impressed and would highly recommend Coconut Cove Resort and Marina for a destination wedding, or even just a relaxing and special break away. Our children loved the our time here and were made to feel special as well as us. All of our guests loved the resort and the wedding itself and we've had so many lovely comments on the pictures.
A special mention must be made for Patty who was such a lovely lady she helped us from start to finish and is a real asset to the fabulous team at Coconut Cove.
A last mention is the food and wedding cake, truly amazing food loved by all especially the lobster and the BBQ island pig!!
We loved it here and cant recommend it highly enough!!! Thank you so much were sure to be back xxx

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayleymbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 332 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and had an absolute blast. We rented out the entire resort for a wedding and had the keys to the kingdom. The food, the views, the location, the staff(especially Magda), and the experience was all amazing! They even put on a very nice fireworks show. The only thing that could make this place better would be to renovate the rooms or atleast update them to give them a more modern feel. Aside from that only trivial complaint, this place is awesome. I will definitely stay here again and recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great service, great staff, great atmosphere, clean, affordable, absolutely BEAUTIFUL! Only great things to say about Coconut Cove! Highly recommend for weddings or just a hotel stay in the florida keys!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I went to stay at the Coconut Grove Resort in June of 2011 for our anniversary. The room was very nice and the pool is absolutely gorgeous. I spent a long time in the pool as it was very relaxing. We headed to the keys but came back right away because we both had a cold. So we lounged at the resort and baked in the sun. The people were friendly and we had a good time. We hope to go back when we can enjoy it cold-free.

Room Tip: Rooms were being done over. Hopefully they are finished the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shimarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The place was excellent for a wedding. Paul and Magda are terrific and work well with you all throughout the planning. The staff is phenomenal. The wedding was beautiful and the food delicious. They are gracious and work hard to provide a great experience. The DJ they recommended was a perfect match for our group. The only negative is that the cottages need some updates. I would highly recommend this site for a wedding. November 2013- Islamarado Florida- A wonderful experience for our whole group!!

Room Tip: Choose the new section if you are wanting more updated hotel style rooms. Choose the cottages if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmama25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here Nov 28- Dec 1 in spite of some of the negative comments seen here. Should have listened to them! Place has a lot of potential and needs lots of work/updating. The positives were: friendly staff, clean rooms and nice pool/wedding/beach area...but in no way is a "resort". The negatives were numerous. We stayed in the "new" building. The building itself needed a good power washing and paint job. Our room had a mini fridge, microwave, hair dryer mounted in bathroom and an iron. No coffeemaker! I would think that more people would use a coffee maker before an iron these days. Coffee was available after 9am in the office but we wanted to be out fishing before that time. Also, the front office is a cluttered building that smelled like a wet dog...don't think I would want to drink the coffee made there. The furniture and beds in our rooms looked like they came from second hand store. Maybe a good coat of paint would have made them appear newer and cleaner. The biggest complaint was that there were about a dozen (possibly more)kids ranging from toddler to teenagers running around the property unsupervised. They appeared to live there and all know each other (assuming children/family members of the owner's family). They ran all over the place screaming and yelling...in the building, out of the building, back in the building...constantly slamming sliding glasses doors. My friend and I watched them from our balcony (common balcony area=no privacy) while we tried to relax and read peacefully. We saw them put their dirty grimy hands in the ice machine, pick through the cubes and pop them in their mouths. One kid even opened the door and rested his sweaty little face on the ice to cool off! Gross!! There was absolutely no adult supervision of these kids at all. During the late evening hours, they ran through the halls of our buildings...yelling and talking loudly...it echoed down the hall and into our rooms. The people in the rooms above ours...stomped around so loudly (at all hours of the night...woken up at midnight, 2am, 4:15am) that we thought they would fall through the ceiling. We did complain to Patty about it and she offered to move our rooms but we didn't move because it would have put us closer to the room where most of the kids appeared to reside. Why couldn't the people upstairs be asked to be quieter?? We didn't get a decent nights sleep on any of the 3 nights we stayed. It was a holiday weekend so no refunds available per the website or we would have packed up and left after the first day. Also, the pool is beautiful until you see the ducks swimming in it and realize that you would be swimming in the equivalent of a duck pond. Again gross! I have never written a review but felt compelled to let future guests know what you're getting into before booking here. Very disappointing and will not be going back again! Truly wish I would have been writing a review raving about the place instead but this place needs to make improvements. Hope this helps someone. Now off for a much needed nap after staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was a bit disappointed in the rooms. While the bathroom was nice, the furniture looked like it was second hand. No wi-fi in our room....you have to go by the pool/tiki bar to get a signal. No coffee maker, there was a small fridge and the microwave was old, but worked fine. No internal phone to contact the desk. For the price, it could have (and should have) been better. No restaurant or bar, except for weddings.

Nice view of the water and the pool was great. Staff was friendly, but probably wouldn't stay there again. Spending just a few bucks more would get you a much nicer place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.9 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cove Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cove Resort and Marina

Address: 84801 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3418
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Islamorada
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $136 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cove Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 7 acres nature preserve, Coconut Cove Resort & Marina exudes a "Caribbean vibe ," offering visitors a quiet, secluded escape at a surprisingly affordable rate. The lowest-priced of the 20 rooms are the Captain's cottages with a full kitchen and picnic table right in front of the room. General's rooms are situated in the more modern building, and are ideal for larger groups and wedding parties (which the resort specializes in). Ceremonies take place on select weekends and come complete with an evening fireworks display.Beautiful sunning beach overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, complimented by a zero-entry outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. Within walking distance there is boat, wave runner, kayak rentals. Situated in the heart of Islamorada with many restaurant and bars, Theater of the Sea, and the Geological Park within walking distance Coconut Cove is the perfect place to have fun. Complimentary coffee and Danishes are offered each morning along free parking and maid service daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Coconut Cove Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cove Resort And Marina Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing