We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Back In Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
GreenLeadersSilver level
Casselberry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Travel Back In Time”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here on a side trip to the Keys prior to the NASCAR Championship weekend in November 2012. I had searched for a reasonably priced place that had a kitchen, and room to sleep four people in 3 beds. We were also looking for an Old Florida experience, not a sterile chain hotel. I wanted somewhere peaceful and quiet, and we found EVERYTHING at Coconut Cove. If you are looking for a modern experience, the new hotel building will be a good choice. We stayed in the older section and had the unit above the office, overlooking the pool. Even though there was a wedding and reception party the first night, it quieted down at a reasonable hour so we could sleep.

I got up with the sun to take sunrise photos and enjoyed the wild life and the peaceful sunrise. The resort is also a wildlife area, in addition to the pet chickens. You can watch the tarpon feedings, walk through the wildlife preserve, arrange for fishing trips, rent jet skis or kayaks, or just sit on the beach and watch the world go by. This is very much an "island time" resort, where you can relax and enjoy life the way it was back in the 30's.

The second morning of sunrise photos brought me to meeting Paul, and later Magda, who have put so much work into the resort. They live at the resort, and are warm and welcoming people, as was everyone we encountered at the resort.

We discovered The Hungry Tarpon restaurant at Robbie's Marina a couple miles south on Overseas Highway, and HIGHLY recommend it, especially for breakfast! Their "Purple Isle" crepe stacked with fried eggs, lobster, and served with hollandaise sauce will fill you up for many hours and is quite reasonably priced, especially as it is stuffed (not lightly sprinkled) with lobster.

The resort is next to the Theatre of the Sea, the second oldest marine park in the U.S. We enjoyed visiting this attraction, which offered us a discount since we stayed at Coconut Cove.

While the mattress on my sleeper sofa was a bit thin (I drew the short straw), my friends and I found the room and resort to be charming, comfortable, quiet, relaxing, and clean. Yes, the bathroom and shower in the older section is small -- that was the style when the hotel was built. I've stayed in other motor hotels from the 30's and 40's and this was no different. If you want the Ritz, this isn't the place for you. If you want to time travel to a more polite and uncomplicated time, you'll love the Coconut Cove.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Five_Meowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    70
    26
    22
    31
See reviews for
101
111
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We just spent 2 terrific nights at Coconut Cove. The owners, Paul and Magda Bates and their family live on site, so personal attention is evident. The resort has a main building with newly redecorated hotel style rooms as well as cottages with small kitchens. They perform a lot of weddings (Paul is an ordained minister as well as an American Airlines pilot!). They have a large tiki bar area, huge dock, nature trails, a giant fish pond, and beautiful pool with a rock waterfall. There is also a gym and lovely common area with lots of couches and chairs. The grounds are beautiful with lots of picnic tables and grills. This is a wonderful family run resort SO much nicer than any other we've been to in the keys.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 in big building. Newly redecorated with jacuzzi tub in spacious bathroom. Gre...
See more room tips
Green Features: Paul has a nature preserve on site. He does a great job.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have been there in two occasions, and the place is magnificent. This is a great place for families where activites vary from jet ski to relaxing under the sun by the pool. The pool is marvelous, just another level of greatness. I would go back every weekend of my life if I could.
I would like to thank the owners because I met them and they are just the most wonderful people.
Very friendly place....

Marcela G.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marce05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just left and were very sad to see our vacation end. We had a great time at this resort. We have stayed at many properties in the area and enjoyed this one the most. The owners Paul and Magda were great and their children were the cutest and polite kids I ever met. We are very much looking forward to returning. Tom

Room Tip: Choose room number 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We drove down to Fla. for our honeymoon, no reservations just winging it. We stopped at Coconut Cove, got prices and looked around. Then went on down the road and got a few more prices but came back to this enchanting place. Palm trees, coconut trees with coconuts, fire pit and picnic tables with grill, beach sand and a pool to die for. Caribbean music playing, with tiki huts all over. We rented the honeymoon suite. It had a double jacuzzi tub, fit right in with the honeymoon theme. Simply Paradise!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzzan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconutcove85, General Manager at Coconut Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our facility and found it to be a nice place to stay in Islamorada Florida. We look forward to see you again in the future! Warmest Wishes from Sunny Florida... Coconut Cove Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

looking for a place to stay last minute, the CC gave us a bang for our buck! The place is nothing fancy, but there's a district flavor that's cute and quirky. the cottage my dad and I stayed at was accommodating, just as long as you're got afraid of a little outdated linnens and bright colored walls. You stay right the water, get a fresh taste of nature, and have a smiley face to greet you. Definitely good value!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jujer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place is a great place to have your destination wedding. We got married there in June of 2006 and it was a success. Each year we return to say hello to Magda and Paul. They made our day special. According to our friends who came (we had 60 people at the wedding) our wedding was the most fun they have experienced. We would highly recommend booking your wedding with them and we are already planning our 10 year renewal of vows.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,182 reviews
2.7 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
4.4 mi away
La Siesta Resort & Marina
La Siesta Resort & Marina
#11 of 19 in Islamorada
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cove Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cove Resort and Marina

Property: Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
Address: 84801 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3418
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Islamorada
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cove Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 7 acres nature preserve, Coconut Cove Resort & Marina exudes a "Caribbean vibe ," offering visitors a quiet, secluded escape at a surprisingly affordable rate. The lowest-priced of the 20 rooms are the Captain's cottages with a full kitchen and picnic table right in front of the room. General's rooms are situated in the more modern building, and are ideal for larger groups and wedding parties (which the resort specializes in). Ceremonies take place on select weekends and come complete with an evening fireworks display.Beautiful sunning beach overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, complimented by a zero-entry outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. Within walking distance there is boat, wave runner, kayak rentals. Situated in the heart of Islamorada with many restaurant and bars, Theater of the Sea, and the Geological Park within walking distance Coconut Cove is the perfect place to have fun. Complimentary coffee and Danishes are offered each morning along free parking and maid service daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Cove Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cove Resort And Marina Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing