We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Family Friendly”
Review of Kon-Tiki Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon-Tiki Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stay at a different place every time we go to the keys. This stay was at the Kon Tiki Resort in Islandmorada. I read the reviews before going so I had an idea of what other guests where saying. We stayed in rooms 11 and 12. Room 11 is a mid size open room with 2 queen size beds and a couch with a pull out bed. The small dining area seats 4 and is between the kithchen and sleeping area. The kitchen is adequate with dishes and cookware. We had to go buy our own spatchula. There was only one outlet in the kitchen and the breaker would pop if you used all three plugs at the same time. The bathroom is small and had alot of black ants in it. I guess that is why the room came with a can of Raid. Room 12 is small. Two queen size beds, small portable refridgerator, and small bathroom. Ants in that bathroom aswell.
There are two cooking grills avaialble at the common area of the grounds. We did not use them because they where being used. So plan your cooking ahead of time. We ended up going to the store and buying a $20 grill. It was well worth the money. It cooked great. So maby bring a small charcoal grill with you just in case.
There is boat docking there. We rented a 24 foot boat from bump and jump. The waters are shallow there so no big boats will make it in. The private lagoon there has alot of fish in it. They kids like to swim, snorkle and kyak in the lagoon. I thought it was a little murky. They should find a way to clear it up.
Well I am sure I could go on about this place but would just like to say that I would stay there again. It was quite, clean, friendly, and Safe.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2009

We have been going to Kon -Tiki for over 25 years and have watched some ot the units get sold and resold and no maitenance done. We stay in UNIT #1 and have alerted management for several years now that we have been seeing Scorpions and cockroaches. There are numerous openings into the unit from the back store room into the bedroom and openings in the hall closet duct work to the outside from poor cental air-conditioning construction . No amount of spraying will control the insects until the outside of the building is sealed and the back store room is sealed off!

We use to love our time there and overlooked some of the problems, but a HUGE SCORPION got up onto the bed this year and stung me. Fortunately my husband was able to kill it and we have the evidence to show. Management did not care at all and unfortunately they have lost a loyal customer. You are no longer treated as a guest at Kon-Tiki, but a nuisance. There was no concern for the injury or the trauma that I suffered.

It is one of the last low-key places in the keys to stay but there is no interest in treating us like guests, they just want 1 or 2 night over-nighters.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeysCatLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Finding the Kon Tiki was really easy from Miami. The place was inviting and beautifully kept. We were shown our accommodation and were really impressed and the immaculate facilities, cooker, microwave, fridge were spotless. Great to have a covered viranda too.
The view over the mangrove "Little Basin" was spectacular. Nurse sharks, Pelican, Osprey and massive Tarpon were all over. They have a small lagoon, where they have small baraccudda, gruber and other fantastic fish, great for the kids to feed with the pin fish caught on the end of the jetty. This place is a great find.

Win Dixie supermarket up the road about 2-3 miles stocks most everything.

For fishing enthusiasts, Bud and Marys great for seeing huge fish caught in the rental boats, (this was my husbands favourite place) Hire a boat and get out to fish, my husband caught a huge stingray!

Food wise we catered for ourselves mostly as there is BBQ area by the swimming pool with hammocks. Pool lovely and warm and all around clean and not over crowded. Hope they never extend and lose the ambiance.... FANTASTIC PLACE!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bigbolders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

We rented an adjoining two unit duplex. The grounds were clean and nicely landscaped. The units were older, but nicely kept and very clean. The rates are very reasonable and would defietly go back.

Thank Travis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Kon-Tiki resort from March 28-31, 2008 and found it to be just what the doctor ordered. We stayed in Unit #2 which was perfect for what we needed. It was clean, the bed was comfortable and the deck was a lovely place to watch the sun dip while sipping a drink. It has a view of the water and the grounds and is relatively private.

We ate out a lot but would reccomend going to the market that is up the road and getting breakfast/lunch supplies if you are trying to save money. Mangrove Mikes and the Islamorada Bakery are GREAT for breakfast as well.

Staying at the Kon-tiki is kind of like being at camp. There is a fire pit and a fishing peir and a pool and hammocks and shuffleboard. We didn't leave that stretch of the hwy the whole 4 days. There are ants in the kitchen if you leave food out but that is to be expected. We also saw Unit #1 and that was nice too but had a bar instead of the larger kitchen of Unit 2.

We rented a boat from A1-A Rentals for 2 of the days and hung out on the gulf side fishing, sunning, and drinking beer. We saw dolphins, caught a nurse shark, and saw sting rays. A PERFECT keys vacation!

I would definitely stay here again.

Here is a video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fq9aB3dIUN0

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baltimore_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

What a great place!!! the grounds are so nice and very quit, The room was nice room 12 it was like a hotel room just what we wanted they have all kinds of rooms some with kitchens if your looking for a place to stay for a week this is the place.

The price was great and we had our boat and they don't charge you extra to dock it, the dock is very nice. if you have a boat this is one of the best places I have seen.

The staff was great and the housekeeping was really good they cleaned our room everyday.
The hotel is near all the great places to eat and drink, we were very happy with our stay.. and will be back .

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank btaylorFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2007

We have been coming to the Kon Tiki for years. Every year the managers attitudes are worse but the prices keep going up! It starts with the managment, they are un-freindly with no hospitality or customer service skills. We feel like year after year that they could care less that we are the customer. This last time the boat docks were so crowded and not once did managment come out to ask if we needed help finding or locating a spot for the boat, it was so crowded someone should have been supervising the dock. Also we had two apartments we rented both had scorpions. Several of the scorpions were in the closets and the bathrooms. When we reported it to the manager the responce was "thats the Keys." No joke...we having been coming to the keys for 30 years and Kon Tiki has never been this bad. I gladly would pay 200.00 a night for a hotel worth that price (we paid more then that that to stay this year) but Kon Tiki is not worth it. Some one needs to remind them that people expect to pay less when they stay at a "mom and pop" operation, gouging eventually will catch up with you. Sadly after all these years we will not be returning to Kon Tiki again. There are other beautiful resorts like Kon Tiki that would love to have our business for less money and maybe they would be happy to see us!.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GipperKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,411 reviews
9.3 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
428 reviews
3.9 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
992 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Caribbean Resort at Sea Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon-Tiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon-Tiki Resort

Address: 81200 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range: $88 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever been somewhere and feel there's something very important you have to do? Maybe it's fishing or scuba diving or nothing at all. The subtropical ambiance of the Kon Tiki Resort is that kind of place. You can enjoy swimming, fishing, diving, snorkeling and boating all year round. You'll be in paradise while soaking up the sun next to our heated freshwater pool or on the sandy beach of our private lagoon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon-Tiki Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing