We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kon Tiki weekend”
Review of Kon-Tiki Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon-Tiki Resort
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Plantation, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Kon Tiki weekend”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at the Kon Tiki the weekend of March 1st. The front desk clerk was very friendly and went out of her way to accomodate us when we decided to stay another night. The room was very clean, full kitchen, comfy beds and had a nice screened in porch. The grounds were very clean & quiet. Excellent spot to keep a boat and it doesn't cost extra. Will highly recommend this place in the future. Cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    54
    13
    5
    13
See reviews for
42
67
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fallbrook,Ca.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Did not have a reservation on a very busy Friday night in the Keys & were so happy to find this idyllic spot.
Had checked a few other places that were on Trip Advisor & they were either crazy$$$ or packed.
This Retro place had a great laid back vibe.
Gal at office very nice & showed us our huge 1bedroom private cottage facing the bay.
Had wanted to stay on the beach but this was so pretty & tranquil. Big front porch,swaying Palm trees,hammocks,private beach & dock,boat launch.....
If known would of stayed a few days instead of 4 nights in Key West.
Full large kitchen.
Would of been nice to grill steaks on the many barbecues on the sand while playing shuffleboard & watching the Pelicans rest next to you on private dock.
Thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimfallbrook_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peralta, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our first trip to the Keys, and we loved it!

The Pros - BEAUTIFUL property, good location, clean rooms, nice pool, great rates (even gave us a military discount when we asked).

The Cons - We stayed in unit 18, and the unit next to us was occupied as well. The walls are PAPER thin. We could hear coughing, sneezing, and even normal conversation. This unit is also close to the highway and there is considerable automobile noise (if that's something that bothers you).

All in all, this is a great property and we would likely return if we got a unit further away from the street.

Room Tip: Try to get the furthest room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We've stayed at the Kon Tiki many times and have enjoyed all of our stays there. We travel to the Keys frequently for short "staycations" and Kon Tiki, located in Islamorada, is an easy after-work drive to make. There are plenty of great restaurants nearby, the Trading Post up the road has everything you might need during your stay (at very reasonable prices) and Outdoor Sports World, the Islamorada Fish Company and the Green Turtle Inn are all within easy walking distance. The property offers plenty of shady spots to relax and read a book, hammocks for napping and shuffleboard courts as well as a heated pool. We take our kayak with us and have had many a great paddle launching right from the docks. There are various accommodation types and we were happy with our unit which included a full kitchen, and living/dining area as well as a screened porch.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in little "triplex" like buildings and if you are in a middle room, and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I went down to Islamorada for Labor Day weekend with another couple. We chose this resort as the other couple had been there before. Room was perfect for us and the boat dock was very handy. Parking wasnt any issue for us. We enjoyed night fishing, shuffle board and the pool. Hotel is very close to restaurants and stores. Great experience overall.

Room Tip: Room 8 was great for 2 couples traveling together
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenacres17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here end of may. Was with a big group of guys and we stayed in 19&20. First time in that house, I have been in just about all of them. What surprised me was that they were full to capacity and so was the dock. I was worried because some past posts had a bunch of moaning and griping about management and parking. If that we're ever gonna happen it would have been on this trip. We had three cars and two boats in the party. Never heard a peep from the office staff, except how can we help you. So.....with that being said the Kon-tiki is still a protected piece of the keys. Thank GOODNESS !

If you wanna see real keys and not pomp and circumstance, try this place for sure! FYI been going here for thirty yrs, still has a piece of my heart!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 6digityachtclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights during the middle of the week in mid-May. Jenny was very helpful with our reservation over the phone and while we were on site. We were looking for something laid back and relaxing, not an upscale resort, and it fit the bill. We stayed in #5 which is a one bedroom and was spacious for two people. There is a 70's vibe to the decor but the cottage was very clean and comfortable. I had read other reviews about road noise so asked for something away from the road. I don't think that road noise would have been much of a problem during the week. The grounds are well maintained and there are several hammocks to relax in and read a book. They don't allow cars to park near the boat ramp so the view is preserved for everyone. There a little area at the end of the dock to have cocktails (that you provide) and watch the beautiful sunset. I only have two complaints - the bed pillows were uncomfortable and there were a lot of them so they could have had different densities. And the wi-fi connection was poor in our room. I had to walk closer to the office to log on and then sit on the porch of #6 (which was unoccupied) to maintain the connection. I would definitely return here again and enjoyed this area of the Keys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMPate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
1.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
3.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.7 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,414 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon-Tiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon-Tiki Resort

Property: Kon-Tiki Resort
Address: 81200 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever been somewhere and feel there's something very important you have to do? Maybe it's fishing or scuba diving or nothing at all. The subtropical ambiance of the Kon Tiki Resort is that kind of place. You can enjoy swimming, fishing, diving, snorkeling and boating all year round. You'll be in paradise while soaking up the sun next to our heated freshwater pool or on the sandy beach of our private lagoon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon-Tiki Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing