We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to relax”
Review of Kon-Tiki Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon-Tiki Resort
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is our favorite place in the keys. Clean, spacious, relaxing atmosphere. Nice boat ramp and dock, Steve and the rest that work there are courteous and ready to help you. Jenny, Mila and George in the front office will provide you with what ever you need. The place is clean as well as the pool, BBQ's, tables chairs and hammocks. We call it, our piece of haven, can't wait to go back again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank One48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Kon-Tiki Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 163 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Made a quick trip to Islamorada - looking for reasonable accommodations - found it at KonTiki! Cute 1 bedroom, 1 bath, full kitchen and screened private porch. #17. KonTiki reminds me of old Florida. NIce dock and beach area on the bayside + nice pool. Staff extremely accommodating - Jennifer is a sweetheart! Place is clean and maintained. Definitely will stay at KonTiki again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bch4me55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I loved this resort. Such a nice retreat and easy access to the water. Had a great room with a nice kitchen. My bed was so comfy I would fall asleep with no trouble, only to wake up next morning refreshed. Highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eviebaby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We've been to the Kontiki for several spring breaks in a row now and contrary to what a previous review stated, one of the main reasons we return each year is the absolutely wonderful staff! They go out of their way to make sure every last detail is just perfect for you and your family and after the first year, we felt as if they were personal friends! The grounds are immaculate, the pool is warm and clean and the hammocks and atmosphere are so relaxing! We couldn't ask for a more perfect place to unwind and enjoy a family vacation with our daughters! Thanks, Kontiki! We have priceless memories because of you and you will always have a very special place in our heart! See you next year! :o)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeVosFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We were at the Kon Tiki during Spring Break this year. The staff was very friendly and accommodating during our stay. My kids loved the lagoon, and the view was spectacular! The rooms need a little updating, and the daily cleaning left something to be desired, but overall we loved our stay. We used the kitchen everyday (nicely equipped), and the beds were comfy. It has a great location for getting around the Keys. Overall, a nice home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em2038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed here for one night on my way down to Key West. Really loved the location and the grounds. Very clean and good sized room which had a small table and chairs, microwave, refrigerator, and coffeepot. Jenny at the front desk was super nice. The dock area overlooking the water was very relaxing. Close to restaurants. Lots of good things about this resort. The biggest drawback (and for me it was a big one) was road noise. It kept me up most of the night. It is probably quieter closer to the water. Even though our unit did sit well off the road the road noise was pretty much non stop. If it wasn't for that this would certainly get a better rating. However, the prices are reasonable, the staff is great and so is the location. I do recommend it if road noise is not a problem for you.

Room Tip: Try to stay closer to the water.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marytc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I rarely make hotel reservations in advance unless there are pressing reasons to do so. March break 2013 was no exception, so we rolled in to Islamorada with no reservations, and no expectations (we didn't even know where we would be, just "somewhere in the Keys"). Having rejected several places from Key Largo west as either too run-down looking or far too pricey, we happened upon Kon-Tiki, and got way more than we had hoped for. The resort, on the bayside, has a number of housekeeping units, with large sitting/dining areas with a flat screen TV , fully equipped kitchen, super large bedroom with two double/queen beds and a second (older style)TV, large bathroom, air conditioners in both the sitting room and the bedroom, for less than the price of a room at some of the higher-end places. Ours had a screened in porch at the front and a small private patio out back. Some units had a deck in addition to the screened porch. Daily towel exchange is provided. There is a heated outdoor pool (necessary in March!), shuffleboard, hammocks, and a long dock with free docking for your boat, a fish cleaning station and a bit of cover for sitting out of the sun. When we asked about a local laundromat, we were directed to an older washer and dryer available for guests for FREE! One of the best parts of the resort as far as I was concerned is the fact that the units are not side-by-side for the most part. They are staggered or oriented in such a way that you get a bit of privacy, which is enhanced by bushes/shrubs that dot the landscape. The area around the shuffleboard court has lots of palms. Not a luxury resort by any stretch of the imagination, but great value for the price.

Room Tip: Book ahead for units closer to the water.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
1.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,371 reviews
1.0 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.7 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
709 reviews
3.1 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.8 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon-Tiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon-Tiki Resort

Address: 81200 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range: $88 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever been somewhere and feel there's something very important you have to do? Maybe it's fishing or scuba diving or nothing at all. The subtropical ambiance of the Kon Tiki Resort is that kind of place. You can enjoy swimming, fishing, diving, snorkeling and boating all year round. You'll be in paradise while soaking up the sun next to our heated freshwater pool or on the sandy beach of our private lagoon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon-Tiki Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing