We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Keys”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2014

What a memorable vacation we had at Casa Thorn last month. Thorn and her staff warmly welcomed us (including our little dog Willie) and made us feel like family. The eclectic decor and the personal mementos displayed in the living room/office served to create an atmosphere of intimacy, inviting us to explore the rest of the B & B. Our room, complete with kitchenette, was comfortable and spacious, again with touches of the exotic such as a carved headboard and a wooden elephant which served as a towel stand in the bathroom. Just off our room was a beautiful little pool, and surrounding the property were lush tropical plants and trees where could be discovered the occasional whimsical animal sculpture. Delicious gourmet breakfasts were prepared and served by Sarah each morning of our stay on the patio outside our door. We can't wait to return!

Lilianne, Wayne and Willie

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, each with its own character.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NorthcountryLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThornIslamorada, Owner at Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Louise,

We can't thank you enough for such a lovely review!
It was truly a pleasure getting to meet you and Ray!
Let us know when you want to exchange your palm trees for ours...Paradise is calling.

Thank you again from all your friends at Casa Thorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 283 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

We spent a wonderful and romantic night at this beautiful Bed & Breakfast in the Secret Garden Room. The owner and staff treated us like one of the family and we walked along a garden path adorned with wonderful adornments with a lovely little pool. We felt like we were in a special world. We were served a lovely breakfast and the room was very pretty. We are hoping to return. A must for all to enjoy.

Room Tip: If you like gardens then choose the Secret Garden Room and if you like a huge spa and bath and luxur...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThornIslamorada, Owner at Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Hi Louise:

Thank you so much for your review.

I am really glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Thorn. We hope to see you again.

Regards,
Thorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Numerous travels to The Keys and I've never stayed at the same place twice. New tradition; Casa Thorn!!! I adore this place! Courteous, kind staff that really make you feel welcome, like family (thank you Sarah!). Delicious food (and I'm a food snob), such clean rooms (I'm a neat freak), and it truly felt like home! We stayed in the Moroccan Room and the experience was better than I expected. I am recommending this place to everyone I know! I have already reserved our next stay for the Secret Garden room, can't wait!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very welcoming hosts. Comfortable room and good breakfast by the pool. We were upgraded to the Secret Garden room. Clean and comfortable room with fridge and microwave. Only complaint was the air conditioning unit was quite loud.

Room Tip: Secret Garden has en-suite and high degree of privacy but noisy air conditioning unit.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThornIslamorada, Owner at Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

thank you fred and ellen for the review of casa thorn. we very much enjoyed meeting you. i am so sorry about the ac. i thought it was fixed. i am now replacing it. thanks for the alert. hope to see you again. have a nice summer. thorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I canceled my reservation 7 days in advance. The policy for cancelation is 10 days. They could not rebook it so I was charged for the reservation including tax! That is not the usual standard-I received no service or product so should not pay tax. As well, one would think that the policy might be a 50% penalty taking into account they had time to cancel their staff and food. Bitter taste in my mouth. I don't usually booked places with this type of cancelation policy but was under some pressure at home to book something-will never do this again. I would encourage you not to book here to force them to change their policy-it really is not fair to the consumer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank sunholiday2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I booked the Secret Garden room for two nights in late April, and enjoyed our whole stay at Casa Thorn. The pictures online are accurate: The bed is extremely comfortable and the room is cozy. It is very secluded and sensual. The full mirrors in front of the bed and bathrobes in the closet are great touches. Don't get too excited about the "open" shower, as it really is just a sliding glass door that opens into a high wall.

Sarah was fantastic and took care of us throughout our stay. She gave us valuable tips for restaurants and outings. Just about everything we did that weekend was through her recommendations. Plus, the breakfast she cooked was excellent (frittata one morning, biscuits and gravy the next).

Overall, Casa Thorn is a lush and well-kept property. You'll enjoy the pool and backyard seating areas, along with the rooftop deck to see the stars. Great place to spend a weekend with your significant other. Privacy and supreme comfort are the highlights.

Room Tip: If you want your own entryway and outside seating area with ultimate privacy, choose the Secret Gard...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spencer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Eclectically fantastic grounds!!!

However, room was tired and had broken door.....staff smoking and coughing outside your window at 6:30 a.m.

Owner was very cordial and her helper also, but not a place to return to

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank higuy1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
7.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,372 reviews
2.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
745 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
721 reviews
3.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
5.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 114 Palm Ln, Islamorada, FL 33036-3015
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: $155 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This treasure is hidden away in a secluded, quiet, tropical atmosphere in the Florida Keys. Each of the 5 rooms is decorated in their own unique style: Moroccan Room, Secret Garden Room, Malaysian, Bombay and Tiki Hut. All of the rooms include: breakfast, television/VCR/DVD, wireless internet, and terry cloth bathrobes. Pets allowed for a small fee. No children under 8, please. After breakfast, relax by the pool or use the pass to go to a really nice beach. We are not handicap accessible, however, 3 of our rooms are on the ground floor with sliding glass doors that make them wheelchair/scooter accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Thorn Hotel Islamorada
Casa Thorn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing