We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Friendly Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Secret garden room. Room was not small, but there was not a lot of place to put our stuff.
The airco worked fine, but was noisy.
Breakfast was good and it was nice to have it at our own terrace. Parking in front of the house.
Running from this place is possible on the bikelane of the highway but boring as you don't get to see much of the water.
We spent two nights here. The first evening we had a nice dinner with sunset in restaurant 88 (MM 88) and the second evening we had great burgers at M.E.A.T. (with very tasty home made sauces).
Info in the room about wifi was not correct, but when we asked and got a different code, wifi worked fine.
Jennifer gave us a lot of information.
The setting of the house was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    47
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
12
209
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Casa Thorn islamorada as a way of breaking up the drive to Key West. It was easy to get to and we founf Thorn, Jennifer,Jj and Beau to all be quite nice. Our 9 lb puppy was welcomed and was quite comfortable staying with us! Mom & Dad stayed in the secret garden roo and we stayed in Bombay so we were able to all enjoy breakfast out in the secret garden at the larger table together. Beau prepared pancakes one day and french toast the next along with a good cup of coffee. Jennifer had good suggestions for dining.

There weren't other areas to relax together and limited seating in the rooms but a pool area was available to sit outside if we had wanted to. The garden areas were nice however some of the decking was a bit loose though it did not cause any issues for us.

There did not seem to be any services to the rooms between nights - might have appreciated a quick sweep to the tile floors to get leaves up or even provide door mats. Also, to change out
towels if needed. We used the wineglasses butthey did not even get rinsed out between (other thanwhat we did) - for the price it would have been good to have a bit of refreshing between nights. We hung up our towels to reuse but there were wet towels on our parents' floor all night due to them needing to help co trol the water flow from the shower the first morning.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay and always appreciate experiencing different tastes, styles and accomodations around the country. At this point, we would not return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bombay which was quite interesting - really enjoyed all of the garden areas around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThornIslamorada, Owner at Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize to you & your family for the lack of service on Thursday, March 21st. During season it's hard to find a good day to allow the staff time off. After an 8 day stretch, JJ had that day off. Due to the lack of communication, regretfully, service was overlooked. Once again, I do sincerely apologize and appreciate the kind things you had to say.
Just so you know, there is a screen door on order for the Bombay room and the decking is being repaired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked two nights in the morocon room and can't express our disappointment. It was the weirdest, yuckiest bed and breakfast I have ever seen. The decor was not romantic as described, but scary! We expressed our feelings to the owner, she wouldnt refund our money and we had no intentions on sleeping there. We left and will fight the $500 charge. The place is in a nasty looking neighborhood too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamlbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were very disappointed with the B&B. We were to stay in The Bombay room for one night and then continue on to Key West for a weeks stay. The room as well as the bathroom had a very musty smell, and it did not live up to the beautiful photos on the website. The exterior sitting areas and the pool are very run down and in need of repair especially the decking. We are both animal lovers, however pups and their business need to be off to the side and off of the wood decking. We were not able to stay there and left hoping to find a nights stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MoreenoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALLACE
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent a very restful two nights at the Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast in the Moroccan Room. Breakfast was served outside at a table near the entrance to your room. Lovely, loved that. Very accomodating for Celiacs (Gluten Free).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan210662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My boyfriend picked out Casa Thorn, and we were nervous that the Moroccan Room wouldn't be as beautiful as the photos online. Once we arrived, we were more than delighted that the room was exactly as it's pictured. We spent 7 glorious nights in the tastefully and inspiring decor of Casa Thorn with their helpful and friendly staff. I highly recommend Casa Thorn to anyone who may be staying in the Florida Keys!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Came upon Casa Thorn here at Trip advisor and we are so glad we did. My wife and I spent two wonderful days here in the Bombay room, a clean nicely decorated room with a comfortable Queen bed, fridge, A-C, and best of all our private nook in a beautiful green garden outside our door.

Thorn is an interesting woman, a world traveller who has collected artifacts from her worldly trips. You will see ceramic camels, stone frogs, lanterns, bird houses, adorning the entire B&B. Bo who services the B&B and prepares delicious breakfasts, is very personable without being intrusive and on top of that makes a mean omelette served in your own private garden nook.

For those who complained about the bathroom being a couple steps outside the room...all I can say is "get a life". It's a B&B for goodness sake! It's clean, well maintained and yes in B&Bs you share such facilities.

We met some great folks on either side of us, one couple from Germany the other a retired couple from Mass. That's one of the great things about staying in a B&B meeting folks from all over.

For those who enjoy a quaint, lovely and quiet garden like atmosphere with character to spare try this little piece of paradise. You will love it.

Room Tip: Rooms vary by price. The larger better appointed rooms are a bit more . We stayed in the Bombay rom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieFarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
7.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
3.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Conch on Inn Motel
Conch on Inn Motel
#4 of 11 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 114 Palm Ln, Islamorada, FL 33036-3015
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This treasure is hidden away in a secluded, quiet, tropical atmosphere in the Florida Keys. Each of the 5 rooms is decorated in their own unique style: Moroccan Room, Secret Garden Room, Malaysian, Bombay and Tiki Hut. All of the rooms include: breakfast, television/VCR/DVD, wireless internet, and terry cloth bathrobes. Pets allowed for a small fee. No children under 8, please. After breakfast, relax by the pool or use the pass to go to a really nice beach. We are not handicap accessible, however, 3 of our rooms are on the ground floor with sliding glass doors that make them wheelchair/scooter accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Thorn Hotel Islamorada
Casa Thorn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing