We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast Joint In Islamorada”

Mangrove Mike's Cafe
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Locally owned and Operated Cafe. We specialize in Great Breakfasts & Lunches at Affordable Prices. We have been Voted Best Breakfast in Islamorada since 1998. Our Managers & Staff will help be your Travel Guides while visiting Paradise. Happy Travels, Mike
Florida Keys
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Joint In Islamorada”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Yes, there really is a "Mangrove Mike" and he's been flipping flapjacks and serving up hearty homemade breakfasts and lunches in this funky Keys "diner" since 1998. We eat here every time we stay in Islamorada (especially if we stay out too late at the Whistle Stop Pub) because it's the place to go for real home-cookin', the portions are huge, everything is under ten bucks and it's always packed with locals (TIP: get there early because it fills up fast) Especially like the breakfast burittos, here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuzzzBabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,168
    436
    91
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Where the locals go to breakfast. Good food and inexpensive.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank enzfrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to cure a Sunday Morning Headache”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Come on in for some good ole home cookin. Country fried steak and gravy and all the goodies. Very good homestyle food and a fun staff offering good service. Thumbs up!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johhhhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
293 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Filled with Breakfast Lovers, but the worst coffee ever!”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

In my quest for a good cup of coffee in Key West, I had my hopes really pinned on this place. It was very busy when we went inside with what appeared to be mostly locals. We ordered the breakfast which was good, but nothing above average. But the coffee really was probably the among the worst I have ever had. Cheap chickory flavour with a hit of old flavourings (as if something else had been put through the coffee maker about a month ago). I couldn't drink beyond the first sip. Must admit, it did put me off the rest of my meal. Service was very good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perpetual-Motion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Friendly, great food and a downright institution.”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Whatever you'd like can be made and will taste great. Blue crab eggs benedict were delightful and the staff as pleasant as can be. We loved the photos on the wall and several tables talking to eachother let you know that this is a local hang-out. Several walked out with key lime pies for the holidays saying they were the best on the island.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangrove Mike's Cafe also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Mangrove Mike's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing