We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Siesta Resort & Marina
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would stay here again!”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We have been traveling back and forth from South Florida all summer. We would definitely stay here again- and this is the first hotel I have said that about . The two level townhouse was great. We even had enough room to bring a blow up bed if we needed to. There is a small kitchen, and a living room with seating. Upstairs, two bedrooms: one with a king, one with 2 queens, which works out great with the kids. The pool is beautiful, and the beach with their hammocks and lounge chairs are picturesque. If you have boat, this is an affordable, clean place to stay and dock your boat right there. Try to get a beach view, we had a garden view, and there is really not much to see. Bring your pool towels- at full capacity, they run low. The staff is very accommodating. It is located right in the heart of Islamorada, surrounded by great restaurants- Green Turtle Inn, Lazy Days, etc. There is a washer/Dryer on the property, which was helpful. Breakfast at the pool was delightful. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaM3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank You some much for your kind words. We are so glad that you were happy with your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    191
    102
    56
    48
See reviews for
235
178
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I had stayed at Pines and Palms in Nov. 2010 which is next door to La Siesta Resort. I walked over to check out La Siesta and Dan the Manager was at the front desk he let us see one of the rooms to see what it looked like and it was nice as well at the pool and landscape. However, I am now wanting to go down there on vacation for Sept. 2011 and have gotten the run around. The first time I called down there I spoke to a very nice man (not Dan) he advised me that he was at the other hotel which is co owned (Holiday Isle.) and he was not on the La Siesta grounds to answer my questions but he transfered me. I spoke to a female who advised I would need to talk to Dan in reference to my questions that she could not answer. She took my name and number and was going to talk to Dan and call me back that was 1030 am and never did all day , so I called back at 445 pm and asked her if she had forgotten as she rudely replied I am still here aren't I. I am all alone here and it is very busy with a fishing tournament. I said okay thank you call me when you are not busy then. She needed my name and number again, I gave it to her but thought what happened to the one you wrote down the first time. You throw it out? This went on for about a week with no success of getting assistance to make a reservation. All along I was not wanting to bother the general manager (Dan) figured I would go via chain of command. I finally had enough, I called and got the prompt menu and hit #3 for general manager (Dan) left a message with my name and number for him to please give me a call back and I am still waiting. It's been a week and no call back. So obviously they don't care about customer service and they should because they are not the only place down there. We like trying new places when we go down to the keys. At this point all they have going for them is semi nice rooms, pretty pool and well manicured property. Customer service is terrible. Also they charge 20.00 a day per room for continental breakfast. bike and fishing pole rentals. Keep in mind if 10 people are in a 2 bedroom or if 2 people are in a room it's a flat $20.00 dollars. Where is that fair and whats wrong with that picture? Especially if the 2 people are older and not going to fish, bike, or eat. Hello?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim5093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
I am so sorry that you were unable to reach me. I have been on vacation the last week and there was no message on my voicemail. The actions of my staff are at best embarrasing and am working hard to make things right. I am unable to contact you as I do not have your name and phone number. If given the chance I am sure that we can provide the very best stay the Florida Keys has to offer.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We had a renovated room 409 suite very nice with great view and nice size balcony. They could use peanut butter or hard boiled eggs at breakfast. Resort fee really only includes hammocks and breakfast no kayaks. They have watersports on site but you must pay. Pool very child freindy. Robbies great for fishing and feeding tarpon. The restaurant did fried and blackened fish tacos from what we caught on our morning fishing trip. Wahoos was fun for dinner great food. We went to Morada bay food very average view was great for sunset.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank designtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank You so much for your comments. You will happy to know that we have added Hard Boiled Eggs to our Breakfast selection and are also adding Peanut Butter. The Resort Fee actually covers Local Calls, Wireless Internet (That recently was upgraded), The Use of non-Coin Operated free of charge Washer and Dryers, Use of Fishing Poles, Continental Breakfast as well as use of our Bicycles. Thank You for staying with us and we look forward to your return Trip.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We are south Florida residents who frequently spend time in the Keys. This was our first visit to this resort. I liked the location, it's on the ocean side, sunrises are great, the sand is nice, the pool is wonderful and they offer a nice breakfast. The grounds are nice and well maintained and the resort has that old Florida Keys atmosphere that I really enjoy. The rooms are adequate in that they could use some updating but they are very well appointed and clean. We stayed in a two bedroom that was two levels. The kitchen was well supplied and fully functional and the living room was spacious. The room had excellent storage space and the parking was decent. The dual balconies were nice but not divided from the other guests balconies so you have the luck of the draw in terms of neighbors but that is out of the hands of the resort. This resort has a lot of rooms and naturally more people equals more noise. Overall, the resort was nice. Unfortunately the front office staff is just terrible. I have experience in psychology so I was able to observe the behavior towards other guests and adapt my approach. As a result of a lot of effort on my part the staff member eventually was very nice to me but other guests were not so lucky (including two separate incidents with fiance who originally called to ask about availability and my cousin who attempted to check us in before I did but left before even giving our name because she was being so ridiculous). We all have stress at work and that's why we go on vacation. The office staff needs to understand that while they are stressed at work, the people they are dealing with are on vacation, paying money to be there and don't deserve the wrath of employees who are unhappy about being at work. Customer service can be a major factor in the overall experience of someone's vacation. I witnessed many, many guests receiving negative attitude from the office and I am sure they will write poor reviews because of that. This is unfortunate because the resort it's self is actually nice. I personally hope the customer service will improve and due to the other positive factors I plan on giving the resort one more chance. Hopefully our next experience will be better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. I am so glad that you found the overall resort to be very much to your satisfaction. To say that I am embarrassed by the conduct of the Front Desk Agent that you had encountered is putting it mildly. I want all of our guests to feel welcome and at ease. This is my home and would like you to feel that your are my invited guest not an imposition. You have my word that I will take swift action and know that on your next visit I will have worked hard to earn back your trust and respect.

Very Sincerely Yours,
Dan Rutan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend at La Siesta in Islamorada with our small dog. This pet-friendly resort is very clean and comfortable. The pool is great, with a zero-entry shallow end and tunes from Margaritaville playing all day. Our room was large, with a fully equipped kitchen. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay at La Siesta when we travel to Islamorada!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy33436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. I am so glad you and your dog enjoyed your stay and hope that you come back and see us soon. Jimmy will be waiting poolside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We left this place which was dirty and old. They tried switching our room but the second one wasn't much better.
We went back to Key Largo to the Hilton. It was fabulous, clean, newly renovated and even has a nature preserve!

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kl_christensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. I am very sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations. I did notice that your stay was back in December 2010. I do hope that you will give us another try this year. I was just new to the property then and I think that you will find that we have made great improvements.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I paid $18 a day resort fee. For this $18 I could use real worn out biks(they should have been thrown), fishing rods and business room without pc, printer and fax. You pay $18 for nothing. $160 for the apartment is also expensive compared to what I got. So stay away from this place. Some of the staff was depressing, they seemed to be tired of the job. Especially a woman in the reception. It was really a chore for her to answere my questions. I were staying for 3 days and got no room cleaning. I asked the lady in the reception for room cleaning 4 times, but nothing happens. But the view from the third floor balcony was nice and we had the whole third floor balcony for ourselves.
Summing up: Stay away from this rip off place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonnyOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
I am extremely disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I will be following up with the Front Desk to make sure all of our staff are up to our normally high standards for providing outstanding customer service. I do believe most Resorts in the Florida Keys charge a service and or Resort Fee. For our Resort fee you receive daily Continental breakfast, Fishing Poles, Bikes, Wireless Internet and the free use of the guest laundry facilities that inculde washer and dryers. I feel the is an exceptional value especially for the Florida Keys. We do maintain our equipment on a regular basis and I plan to take a look at our bikes to make sure they are in tip top condition. Our Business Center actually does come equiped with a PC and Printer. The fax machine is located in our Main lobby. La Siesta Resort and Marina is a rustic throw back to old Florida. We are a clean comfortable resort that has the feel of fishing villages of old.

Thank You for your Comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
0.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,364 reviews
3.9 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.7 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,414 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
700 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Siesta Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Siesta Resort & Marina

Property: La Siesta Resort & Marina
Address: 80241 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 80.5 Oceanside, Islamorada, FL 33036-3800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Siesta Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best kept secrets and favorite escapes of Keys aficionados, La Siesta in Islamorada, is located on 6-acres of oceanfront accessible by the historic Overseas Highway at mile marker 80. Our hotel is less than 90 minutes from Miami, putting the resort in the heart of the lively Florida Keys, providing a tranquil escape among native flora and fauna for an uncommonly relaxing retreat. Retreat from the everyday and embrace the natural beauty of Florida at its best. The shimmering blue hues of the Atlantic Ocean will greet you upon arrival and the private sugar sand beach will call your name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your La Siesta Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Resort And Marina
La Siesta Resort & Marina Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing