We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the paddle!”

Indian Key State Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$123.65*
and up
Eco-Adventure and Snorkel Cruise
Ranked #11 of 59 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the paddle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We paddled out here with kayaks rented from Robbies. It was a short and easy paddle. We walked around viewing the remains of the village, and spent some time snorkeling and fishing. There is a ton of coral fossil around the key. Very scenic. One of our favorite parts of the trip! We even caught some barracuda.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ERits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    66
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
224 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Catch a boat and take a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

This place is an old settlement in the keys that was burned down by the local Native Americans. Its considered a "ghost town" but there isn't much there. you can see the old reminents of a town square, homes and watchtower. Pretty neat and the snorling around the area is gorgeous. Need a canoe, kayak or shallow water boat to reach it. Most of the water there is a no motor zone.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jadejoann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, private and quiet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Seeing historical sites is one among many of my favorite activities. I loved how quiet it was, how able I was to imagine the history of the place. Not to mention that everything has been preserved beautifully.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank bri k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grassy Key, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An Island Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Indian Key is worth the trip. The history is remarkable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxedtravels57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
526 reviews
240 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Worth the trip to this key. Very interesting and a fun walk around the place. Quiet and remote - a real get-away.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Key State Historic Site also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Indian Key State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing