We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THOUGHT PROVOKING”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hurricane Monument

Hurricane Monument
Ranked #17 of 59 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: monument to the hundreds who died in the Great Labor Day Hurricane of 1935.
Castle Hedingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“THOUGHT PROVOKING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Walked here from our hotel - Ocean House. We had previously done the trip to Pigeon key; so had heard about the disaster. Not too much to see; but makes you think about the vulnerability of main vs nature.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tpouvtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    66
    47
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simple Monument”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

A small monument to a very sad event - natures fury killing mainly veterans of the First World War who were caught out on a train while trying to escape the storm. Right by the main road... Worth a moments reflection!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Weedsatdenstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The worst landmark ever! I was looking for it, driving over Keys and when I`ve found it was like "Is just it?".

If you`re in Islamorada, enjoy the beaches, the road, the nature. Forget abou The Hurricane Monument.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndreZanetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is an interesting perspective of the 1935 hurricane. My kids enjoyed reading the signs and gaining insight into both the magnitude of the storm and the aftermath of that dismal Labor Day. On the south end of the monument there is a vary informative brochure about both the hurricane and the islands-building the roads, incorporation, etc. I would recommend going early in the morning or after sundown--it's hot!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Myla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Came across this when walking from our resort, Ocean House. Small but interesting with plaques to read regarding the largest hurricane ever to hit the Keys.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SVG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Monument also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hurricane Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing