We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving Monument”
Review of Hurricane Monument

Hurricane Monument
Ranked #17 of 59 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: monument to the hundreds who died in the Great Labor Day Hurricane of 1935.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Moving Monument”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

It's well worth a stop at the Hurricane Monument on Islamorada to give some thought to the some 400+ souls who are interred at that spot, who died in the worst hurricane on the Keys to date. Whilst we enjoy the sunshine and beaches, give a few moments to consider the vagaries of the weather and the bad luck these people had to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    68
    47
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
839 reviews
429 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Interesting hurricane history”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Beautiful monument to the victims of the 1935 hurricane that decimated the area. Signs give historical overview of the area, including information about the veteran workforce and the WPA. Monument has interrred remains of several victims. Good parking and whellchair accessible.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place to rest if you're biking through.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stopped to rest here on a long bike ride. Shady areas , sunny areas, history lesson. One person in our group mentioned that we should have thought ahead and brought lunch with us (or buy it from a nearby place eatery.) It's a cool, quiet, educational break from biking so close to this busy/crowded section of Overseas Highway.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank welloff78726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tragic historic monument”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A beautiful memorial to those who perished in the Hurricane of 1935. Interesting facts in a peaceful setting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
225 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Roadside History”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stopped for the Geocache but I really like the FREE roadside histroy lessons anyway so it's a nice little park to stop for a minute and get out of the traffic on the two lane road.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Monument also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hurricane Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing