We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An interesting spot”

Lignumvitae Key Botanical State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$123.65*
and up
Eco-Adventure and Snorkel Cruise
Ranked #27 of 59 things to do in Islamorada
Attraction details
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An interesting spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Take a boat ride over from Robby's and visit the park - or come over in your own boat. Unfortunately, you can't roam the island on your own, and they only offer short but interesting guided tours twice daily, so check their website for the times.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting Piece of Hitory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We kayaked to the island from Robbie's marina. The paddle was a little more vigorous than we expected, but well worth the trip.

We enjoyed touring the home on the island and learning about it's history. The park ranger was very friendly and informative. He gave us ideas of other sites to visit while in the keys.

We did not get to tour the rest of the island and see the foliage as the park ranger warned us that there were a lot of mosquitos that day.

The island is beautiful and serene. Well worth the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtngirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Intersting learning experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Only available Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Only 50 people allowed on island, and only 25 allowed in the forest. Interesting couple of hours if you are interested in the trees of the Keys. They have a dozen of the largest trees of certain species. All tours must be with the park ranger. If June to October, make sure you are covered for mosquitoes. This is definitely not Disney World.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnW1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to get there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We took our kayak over and thoroughly enjoyed touring the building. It was a rather long paddle and of course it can be reached by motorized vessels - there are docks available. We were not able to explore any of the key itself and you have to be sure to take bug repellent as the mosquitoes can be quite ferocious at certain times of the year. Very fascinating historical site.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice, worth the trip out there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was a very pleasant and informative island to tour and Robin from the state park was very welcoming. We enjoyed hearing about the history of the island and home, and seeing the unusual tree life. Peaceful and picturesque setting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank straightsc00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lignumvitae Key Botanical State Park also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Lignumvitae Key Botanical State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing