We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Eat Here Restaurant”
Review of Uncle's Restaurant - CLOSED

Uncle's Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Long Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Must Eat Here Restaurant”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you have not been to Uncle's Restaurant in Islamorada you have been missing one of the best dining experiences in the Keys. The food is flawless and the service is excellent. We are locals and highly recommend this establishment. You will not have an ocean view, but you have the option of dining en plein air under the large tiki or in the cozy indoor dining. Clark had the lamb shank with risotto tonight and it was to die for. I had the lite bite pasta special and it was to die for. Pasta perfectly cooked al dente and the a la vodka sauce was light and delightful. Looking for off the beaten path? Check it out, you will not be disappointed, it's to die for!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    15
    7
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“last-minute find provided a lovely holiday dinner!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We visited the Keys during Christmas week, and the restaurants were crowded with lots of us tourists. We were having issues trying to find a restaurant at last-minute that would take a group of 9 people. I called this place and they had room for us. All we were looking for, truthfully, was a place to eat, period. We were pleasantly surprised with the lovely food and customer service that we received! All of our dishes were cooked well and tasted great. We sat outdoors on the deck, though protected from bugs with the screen covering. Their key lime pie was also a treat - my husband was having his unofficial taste test of key lime pies throughout the week, and he found Uncle's to have the best one! Thanks for a great meal and a nice memory from our vacation!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fun-happy-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you think you should, DON'T!!!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just came off a meal at Uncles. We caught our own fish and lobster. So thinking this will be kinda fun to celebrate a birthday dinner here. It also came recommended by the captain of our boat. BAD CHOICE. Food arrived 1 1/2 hours after it was ordered. Yes, our waitress kept telling us how busy they were as we saw all the tables around us get served. Thanks for letting us know that they deserved their food earlier. When food finally arrived it was luke warm and OVER COOKED! Our lobster was rubbery and chewy. Not bad when we broke down the price and our bill came to over $33/person and we brought our own food! Very disappointing. The veggies were mass produced and so were the mashed potatoes. I felt like I was being served slop in a cafeteria.
I should mention that we did have reservations so I can't blame the delay on anything other than their staff both in and out of the kitchen. I NEVER stiff a tip and didn't this time either. However, I did feel like she deserved very little if anything. For the price I'm expecting very good at best we got edible!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindaOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Keys Charm”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have been to Uncle's many a time! The food remains consistent and Uncle's is always a go-to spot when you want a friendly atmosphere and great food. The owner has never failed to come over and show his appreciation for our patronage by thanking us for being there. Mussels a la Rosa is superb. If it is not on the menu order it anyway, they will accommodate! It is outstanding! We look forward to coming to Uncles for many years to come! GO THERE! You won't regret it!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Seafood!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If your looking for a place for fresh fish then Uncles fits the bill! Nice atmosphere. In side and outside dining. In the summer sit inside or the no seeums will eat you up. Nov-Mar outside is nice. A bit pricey but quality food. It does get packed so go early.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle's Restaurant also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing