We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fed the tarpon and even those pesky pelicans!”

Robbie's of Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We drove down from Key largo (hilton) - about a 30 min drive (longer than i thought - sunday traffic!)
We only wanted to feed the tarpon and be on our way - back to our hotel to lay in the sun and relax....
we went Sunday AM and just beat the crowd - i walked right in gave the man $5 (admission for two and a bucket of fish!)
there was plenty of room on the docks - i was told NOT to feed the pelicans as they can bite and become agressive - but, they are my favorite sea bird - so I eventually had to throw them a few fishies too! When they open their mouths i could not beleive how big their BEAKS are! YIKES!!
You can lay down on the dock and basically hold your arm out so the fish is literally only a foot from the water and the tarpon will JUMP out and grab the fish - this all happens so quickly you dont' even know what made the splash!
The Tarpon are huge - 3 to4 feet i guess!
I had fun and would recommend for a quick stop on your way to somewhere.
there is also a bar/restaurant next door and a little flea market - we did not go to either.
this place is HARD to find people - ASK for specific directions - it is NOT well marked.

Date of experience: March 2011
1  Thank beardogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tarpon feeding"
in 243 reviews
"the hungry tarpon"
in 152 reviews
"bloody mary"
in 64 reviews
"fish"
in 1,311 reviews
"fun feeding"
in 56 reviews
"key west"
in 231 reviews
"captain michael"
in 58 reviews
"huge tarpon"
in 106 reviews
"party boat"
in 121 reviews
"fun place"
in 104 reviews
"flea market"
in 49 reviews
"rent kayaks"
in 38 reviews
"fun stop"
in 61 reviews
"for sale"
in 43 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 77 reviews
"snorkel trip"
in 52 reviews
"laid back"
in 48 reviews
Filter

3,675 - 3,679 of 4,003 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2011

Amazing massive Tarpon fish! That you can feed. Kept me entertained for an hour! Nice gift shop. Amazing seafood restaurant. Many daytime activities available to book right off the dock. Skidoos for rent, charters available for fishing and snorkeling, and kayaking. Very friendly people.

Thank Ellatalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Loved it! My husband said that stopping there on the way down to Marathon had made his trip, so we stoppped again on our way up as well. My son wanted to get another bucket of fish to feed the tarpon instead of buying a souvenier! We ate lunch outside at the hungry tarpon restaurant and I had the fish tacos, grilled they were delicious! Both teenage daughters had grilled fish sandwiches and ate the whole thing and dad had shrimp burrito that was quite tasty. Even the 7 year old boy's pancake was mickey mouse shaped and he ate it all! Will always plan to stop here when visiting the keys!

Date of experience: March 2011
1  Thank mandabekasaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Everyone at Robbie's and the Hungry Tarpon are fantastic. Excellent food, went to breakfast there three days in a row actually, and the staff was really nice. Also enjoyed the featured event there, feeding the tarpon, there was a man on the dock to help keep the pelicans away (quite aggressive!) and they really were fun fish to watch. My boyfriend and I also took a party boat out on the Capt Michael. Crew and captain were friendly and helpful, caught fish (wish we caught more) and brought some to a local restaurant for dinner. Great memories and pictures!

Date of experience: February 2011
Thank brownietr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Party boat fishing is always worth the trip- $38 and caught lots of fish on both trips. The mates Tony and Anthony, always seem to enjoy thier work and provide great tips and help with landing a great catch. Lunch at Hungry Tarpon was excellent. Even the dog had a great time, watching the pelicans and getting treats from the staff. Can't wait to get back.

Date of experience: February 2011
Thank frezncoldnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robbie's of Islamorada also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Robbie's of Islamorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing