We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis on the drive”

Islamorada Fish Company
Ranked #22 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis on the drive”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

On our first visit to Key West we flew into Ft Lauderdale so we could experience the drive through the Keys. This is a scenic drive but a long drive. After a while you will start looking for a place to stop, rest and eat, this place is an absolute oasis. The location on the water is beautiful, the outside seating is comfortable and shady and the food is great. If you are looking for the perfect spot to start a wonderful Florida keys vacation this is certainly one of them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esjmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,093
    958
    531
    216
    167
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“make sure you stop on your way in from the airport”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Islamorada Fish company – make sure you stop on your way in from the airport! Great food, on the water!

Look for me to see my other reviews of Key West FL: Willie T’s, Islamorada Fish company; Garbo’s grill, Hemingway’s museum; Fury Water adventures; Dry Tortugas & Hyatt Beach House in Key West

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RUaVTBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Location... Food and Service (Not so Good)”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

When you are passing town, the location of this restaurant is perfect. It site on the water and the out door hut style building is very nice. Unfortunately, they were unable to carry these positives into the dinning experience.

The food was basis bar food. My son actually commented that the burger tasted like it came from McDonald's. I had a blackened grouper sandwich that was ok. My wife had the fish taco's and they were horrible (could not make out the fish (almost ground up) and they covered it up with a very spicy mako dressing. You would think that you should be able to get outstanding fish taco's in the "fishing capital of the world", but not at this place.

I would pass it up and go to Ma's for a fabulous meal (although there is no view).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank eppyhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“My Favorite Lunch Spot in the Florida Keys”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've been coming here for a couple of years now...sometimes, I'll drive to Islamorada from Miami Beach just to have lunch here.

I have yet to have a bad meal or experience at this restaurant. The food is always fresh especially their fish and oysters. The frozen mango drinks (mango being my favorite fruit) are scrumptious and one can easily lose track of how many you've had. Ha!

I love that they have fish feeding times in the enclosed tank/lagoon with tarpon, trumpetfish, nurse sharks for people to enjoy.

The live music on Sundays is awesome! The musicians take requests for tips...nothing like sitting under the coconut trees with a nice cold drink in your hand and listening to excellent covers of your favorite tunes.

This is a must-dine in The Keys...love this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, FL
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“OK lunch”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nice view for outside dining on the water. Actually, there was no indoor dining available at all when we were there. Prices were average for the area. Food was tasty and well cooked, except crab cake was so-so. Grouper sandwiches were good, but inconsistent in size - some huge some average. Nice view alongside dining area of swimming tarpon and assorted fish. Service was excellent. Very long walk to dining for mobility impaired.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Day_Tripper_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islamorada Fish Company also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Islamorada Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing