We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”

Islamorada Fish Company
Ranked #23 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This place came recommended from someone in the wedding party we were attending. View is beautiful, right on the water, great island setting for dinner or lunch. I don't think anyone in our party of 10 raved about what they got. I was so excited about conch fritters, but they were basically fried batter. Much better conch fritters and dipping sauce at Lorelei's. Compared to some other places we ate this seemed overpriced and just okay. I would probably not return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AshandJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,063
    939
    521
    211
    164
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dont go there...”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Atmosphere was nice at sunset, but food was bad!! Appetizers were... ok, but worst lobster in my life!!! Key lime pie was artificial and not good. Staff was friendly, but would definitely not go back ever if in the area again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dam-Slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, nice views but no dogs, PLEASE!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stopped for lunch and had a nice view of the water and future sunsets later in the day. Had the fried Grouper sandwiches and fries...very good. There is a water pen that contains several large Tarpon, Nurse Sharks and Bull Sharks for public viewing. Come by around sunset when they feed them and watch the "show"! Parents and kids will enjoy. DOWN SIDE: Must you allow people to bring their dogs (pets not working dogs) into an eating establishment?? One tourist brought his schnowzer (sp) in and he almost bit the waitress as well as another customer, yet he was not asked to take the dog outside. Does $$ mean more than a good reputation and customer safety?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Came back for seconds”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

During our stay in Islamorada we ate here twice. Loved the idea of watching the sunset during dinner (get there early!). Outdoor seating was comfortable, right on the dock/water. Also around 6-6:30 they feed the tarpon/sharks off the dock, it's good entertainment! Saturday evening they had a fire dancer and live music.

The food was great the first night, fresh fish, tasty, large portions. The grouper was good and the fish taco appetizer was a meal in itself. Our second night we just came in for an appetizer and drinks, the Mango Frozen drink was very good and our favorite during our stay, however I'd suggest skipping the Island Appetizer platter and any of its suggestions. The alligator was tasteless, the crab cakes looked frozen, and the conch fritters... lacked conch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MafiaChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
2 reviews
“great atmosphere..disappointed with food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We dined at the IFC in October 2012. It was a slow night, beautiful setting. My partner and i decided to share a few appetizers. Starting with the conch fritters, which we are testing throughout the keys. We found the fritters bland, very doughy. With little conch in them, they were served with 2sauces, which helped add flavor. The fish tacos were fabuloulous! The salsa that was served on the side was a nice compliment. The next app was the crab cake. Again, very bland, and actually cold in the center. Our waitress offered us another, but we declined, it was taken off of our bill. We had also orderd french fries which never arrived....so again, I was disappointed after having high hopes at such a lovely place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattie4331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islamorada Fish Company also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Islamorada Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing