We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great view make up for the service”
Review of Marker 88

Marker 88
Ranked #13 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great view make up for the service”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

There were 6 women in our party and after a flight and a long drive from Ft.Lauderdale we were ready to relax. Marker 88 was recommended to us as a good place to stop for lunch and it is. We got a table outside, no waiting. It's right on the water with a great view. We were there on a Thursday afternoon and they had live entertainment which was very good, not too loud, just pleasant. We ordered drinks and 2 appetizers to start. The drinks came and we ordered lunch-the Alligator Reef Salad is excellent, very fresh with lump crab meat and a delicious mango citrus dressing. One of our party realized she did not get her Dark & Stormy, but a Mojito and called the waiter over. I guess he was busy but he made no attempt at an apology and when he came back with the drink, he took away the Mojito. In my book, you leave the wrong drink and apologize for the mistake. Bottom line, on the way back, we decided to try another restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CatherineSlattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,165
    619
    226
    84
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The food here is terrific. Great view, great location. We drive 12 miles past a bunch of other restaurants just to eat here. Although, the prices are bit high so we cannot go to often.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquiraz, CE
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The sunset was beautiful, the rest...a joke!

After being ignored for half an hour I got up to find a waitress.
When our meal came, no utensils. We had to stare at it, watching it getting cold until I found a waitress and asked for them.

Same thing for dessert. They said that there were busy and were short of spoons!

As for the overpriced food: it said "wild rice" but it was a pathetic looking, bland, integral regular rice. The side order of mushrooms was without any flavor too.
The fish had absorbed too much oil and I had a hard time digesting it that night.

I ordered the cream brulee with the optional strawberries with balsamic. A small "solo" plastic cup came, with a red puree. I asked if those were the strawberries and the waiter said yes.
It turned out to be raspberries instead! They later realized their error (by themselves) and brought out the strawberries, but I could not taste nor see the balsamic...

I recommend that you watch the sunset from the pier and go eat somewhere else!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cescolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great view in Flordia Keys”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stopped at Marker 88 on the way to Hawks Cay Resort. The view is beautiful! Nice covered rocking booths. I had Hog Fish sandwich and Sweet Potato fries. Key lime pie looked good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoJo114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marker 88”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a "must do" while in the Fla. Keys! We have eaten at least 3 or 4 times and it is always outstanding. I had a salad with fresh crab and hearts of Palm and it was so fresh and tasty, my husband had onion encrusted Mahi Mahi and swears it was the best meal of the week. Beautiful Gulf view. Doesn't get much better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nunder2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marker 88 also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Marker 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing