We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmosphere is awesome, food very good... Service could use some work.”

Marker 88 Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is awesome, food very good... Service could use some work.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We took a recommendation from someone on our flight down to stop at marker 88. The atmosphere is amazing. You can sit right on the beach and eat. The view is absolutely gorgeous. We even put our toes in the water while we were wating for our food and saw quite a few fish. The food was pretty good. We had the crab dip - it didn't look like much but it was delicious. The yellow fin snapper was very good as was the mahi. The server was not very friendly and it felt like he hated his job. Even with the crummy service we would still go back. The food and the atmosphere outweigh the service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heathsrutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,122
    597
    214
    78
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere that's about it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch and ended up leaving and going somewhere else. Conch fritters were burnt, I understand island time but when its even slower then island time taking 45 minutes to get a table and drinks when its not even busy is a little much. At least the bottle of beer was cold.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Floyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner but the server was out to lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderful location, very nice menu and good food with great sunset over Florida bay. The evening we were there they also had wonderful entertainment with a very talented singer. All was great with a minor problem with salad dressing until it was time for the bill. It took four tries and about 45 minutes before Joe finally got it right. We'll go back but will get a different server.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackorrcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful sunset dinner right on the water.
The only negative was the two Latino hostesses. They were disorganized and somewhat snotty. The rest of the evening was a complete success. Our server, Samantha, was friendly and attentive even though she was quite busy.
The restaurant has an extensive wine list that is worth a look , even for true wine snobs. The food is excellent and a good value for the location. Dinner for two, split an appetizer, a bottle of wine = $100 Not bad at all!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Humblepai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Liked the sunset view, food and wine, disliked the outdoor seating wait time so we ate inside next to window. They had open tables so clearly it was short staffed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marker 88 Restaurant also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Marker 88 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing