We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous beachside restaurant. Good for romantic and friends”
Review of Morada Bay

Morada Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
Morada Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beachside restaurant. Good for romantic and friends”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The best part of this restaurant is the location. It's right on the beach and perfect for the sunset. Tables line down to the beach and its perfect. The wait can be long so plan ahead but they have a great bar to have a few drinks at before you are seated.

The food is very good and fresh. I had the fresh fish if the day and a friend had the fillet mignon. Don't get the skirt steak, another friend had it and it wasn't spectacular. Honestly, the only reason we didn't give this 5 stars was that there were not alot of healthy options on the menu, just the grilled fish really but it's a winner.

If you are down here, this is a great spot

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan-and-Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,177
    582
    197
    73
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and views.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went there last weekend and stayed there for about 2 hours and loved every minute of it.
I would suggest all people who are visiting Key West must visit this place.
The food was excellent and the prices were worth.
The views were excellent and the water was very very clear and blue.
The place is beautiful overlooking the water.
Tables placed right on the sand, the music was perfect, the service was good.
Its located right on the highway.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sumit1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rude staff but great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stopped on the way to Key West for lunch and were overall impressed, but the staff was anything but friendly. They acted annoyed when we walked up to the hostess stand and after we were finally seated in the bar area, it took much longer to actually get a waiter's attention. In their defense, the food was definitely worth the wait and the view was fantastic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a fantastic, underrated gem!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

An online search for "best place to see sunset in Marathon" actually brought us to the Morada Bay in Islamorada. It's very laid back and serene, and quiet -- perhaps because it's under publicized as THE place to go for sunset. This is the only place during our week that we visited more than once, and we went each night after we discovered it. The decor is very minimalist "beach cute," the food is very good and more creative than most of the Keys restaurants, and the service above all else is outstanding. In three visits, we had no less than 10 people attend to our needs. The service staff all cover each other nicely and, most importantly, they are all friendly and conversational. They know how to talk to strangers. On our last night, we struck up a conversation with the gentleman seated at the bar, discussing the blizzard that was hitting our home, and had a good-natured exchange about our rival sports teams. He asked where we had dined during our trip and what we thought of Morada Bay. We ultimately discovered that he was the owner, and wanted to anonymously check in on what his clientele thought of the place. The service the two nights prior, when the owner was not present, was exactly the same -- outstanding. You'll go for the sunset and the food, but you'll come back for the service, which was far and away the best we encountered in the Keys.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhodyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the sun set”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went here for lunch and ended staying all afternoon. Right on the beach and as others have said, just a terrific location. The food was outstanding and the tapas are not to be missed. The prices were a bit high for the tapas but so was the quality. This is the place to go if you are looking for good food, drinks and a fantastic view of sunset over the Keys. I will absolutely return here when I'm back on the Keys.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morada Bay also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Morada Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing