We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, convenient to all the keys”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Drop Anchor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drop Anchor Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Saugus, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place, convenient to all the keys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

If you're looking for the Ritz this place isn't for you but if you're looking for clean, comfortable and reasonably priced this place is perfect. We had Room 7 which is the best room. It has a beautiful view of the sea, the pool and the sandy area. The sand was raked every day, the pool was cleaned and tested. The owner, Steve and his friendly dog, Lady and employees are friendly and very helpful when looking for things to do and places to eat. We had a king size bed, kitchen with fridge, stove, microwave, toaster, coffee pot, blender and service for 4. The only minor complaint is the bathroom is very small and with a pedestal sink there was no place to lay out my toiletries. The toiletries they supply are really nice and the salt scrub was so wonderful, I bought some in the gift shop to bring home! We would go back with no question.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikiTiki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are so glad that you had an enjoyable experience! We have met our goal! I will be sure to let the staff know of your kind words and a job well done! Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    226
    66
    17
    15
See reviews for
152
404
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

They Keys are an interesting place...they haven't updated much (see: a lot of Florida) and a lot of the buildings/hotels have been there for quite a while. But this place is in as good shape as you could want and we thought they had done a very nice place taking care of the whole property.

The room wasn't dazzling or modern, but clean and plenty of space. The grounds were groomed (sand) and peaceful, even with the highway right there (that's how it is pretty much everywhere in the Keys). Lots of hammocks, Adirondack chairs, loungers, nice pool area right on the ocean. For the price, I think the Drop Anchor is well worth the stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EETravelfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for the review of our property! We hope that when future travels bring you back to the Islamorada area that you will once again "drop anchor" with us! Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights after being in Key West for a couple days - it was perfect! There are a couple of great restaurants within walking distance (very close). The oceanfront pool is great and the sandy area with hammocks overlooking the ocean is perfect! We stayed in room one and loved it. Steve, the owner, was very accommodating and very kind. We locked ourselves out of our room late one night and he arrived within minutes to let us in (sorry Steve!!!). He was great and our stay was perfect. We are planning a trip again in July and will definitely book here again. All of the rooms are in good locations - ours was just off the parking lot by the front office and it was fine - we would book this room again if we weren't bringing our kids with us (it's just big enough for two) - it also has a private porch on the back. Everything about this place is great, I would highly recommend it, even to the pickiest of travelers. Great stay!

Room Tip: Room one is great! Don't be fooled by it's location - it's the perfect room, very recen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MindyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our property! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to future stays with your whole family next time! No problem with the locking yourself out thing! It happens frequently! Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmot, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I chose this property due to the great reviews that it received on this site, and I will agree with all of the positive comments one hundred percent. It is, without a doubt, a well-cared for property with wonderful outdoor seating right on the ocean. There is no swimming in the sea, but this is pretty much the case throughout the Keys. As we sat outside the first night, with the property illuminated in such a way that enhanced the experience, my review was glowing. We had eaten a late lunch so our dinner consisted of stuff we had picked up at a local grocery store, and we were happy to sit outside and enjoy it all. That first night I dreamed that there was someone in our room talking to us, and when I "woke up" the next morning, I couldn't get over how real it had been. The second night we were awakened by our "roommates" next door having sex at 1:00 a.m. And as we lay there listening to them for the next several hours (yes, youth has its advantages!) my review changed dramatically. The primary thing I look for in any lodging situation is a good night's sleep. This couple had every right to enjoy their vacation, and this is certainly not something one can go to the management to be solved. The issue here is that the wall between Unit 16 and 15 is not sound proofed enough to allow both sides to sleep properly. I realized, of course, that the dream of people talking in my room the night before had actually been people talking in THAT room! It is my opinion that Unit 15 should not be rented out separately! It should be part of Unit 16 (there is a door that can be used between the rooms, which also doesn't help the sound situation) and then my review would have remained favorable as I would have received the proper night sleep that I was looking for. This does, of course, only pertain to that unit. I have not stayed in any of the other rooms, and the freestanding trailer that was right next door looked mighty appealing as it had no shared walls, so I am not saying I wouldn't return, but I absolutely would not rent Unit 16 again!

Room Tip: Unit 16, while a great option for families using 15 as well, should be avoided as two separate units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Owner at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I as the owner am pleased this customer brought this to our attention . We are fixing this problem immediately putting in better Sound proofing between rooms so that this sound problem will not occur in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed one night here in January. Although it might not look like much from the road, this little hotel has lots of character. Our room was very clean and spacious. Despite being close to the road it was also incredibly quiet. We stayed in a much much more expensive hotel in Key West but enjoyed our stay at the Drop Anchor exponentially more! The Drop Anchor is an incredible value for the price - especially in terms of the Keys!

There is a cute little beach area, pool and hammocks out back. It was still a bit cold so we didn't get the chance to take full advantage of everything. I would recommend the Drop Anchor to any family, solo traveler or couple without hesitation!

Even though we found the hotel through priceline.com, when we arrived the super friendly staff told us we had been upgraded to a larger suite facing the water with it's own patio and recliner chairs! The next morning I had gone to the office to buy coffees (I didn't realize there was free coffee in the room), even though the office didn't open for an hour and I interrupted the manager cooking his breakfast, he was nice enough to let me in for coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay! I will pass your review along to staff who very much appreciate the acknowledgment of a job well done! We can't wait for your future stay when travels bring you back to Islamorada!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd annual week at Drop Anchor. Will be back . Just a good bang for the buck! Owner lives on premises and the place is spotless. Pool was great salt water. Grounds are impeccable . This is nota fancy foo foo place but staff is great, location pretty much in mid key. For the money there are a lot more costly joints that deliver no more in terms of beauty and a peacefully stay. Easy parking . Wi Fi is good..Hammocks are inviting.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and let others know of your great experience! We strive to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as yours! We hope to see you again very soon!
Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Honestly, we just spent one night and one morning there, so we really didn't get the vibe of the place... Professional photos of the interior of the rooms make it look wayyyy nicer than it is. Outside shots of the grounds and pool are very accurate. It was adorable. We had a late check in so we let ourselves into our room, made up the sleeper sofa for the kids and called it a night. Getting ready for bed I pulled back the covers to inspect the sheets (which I aways do. call me crazy) and the sheets were stained and also there was a long dark hair on the sheet.(I have blonde hair) Ok I removed the hair and pulled the sheets back up and checked out the bathroom, small but it seemed clean until I looked in the shower. Sour smelling shower curtain and (no lie) a pair of womens underwear hanging from the shower curtain rod. EWWWW. Took a tissue and removed them and threw them in the trash. Not cool. Not sure if I could recommend this hotel to anyone. I did tell the woman at the front desk about the panites, and she was very apologetic. Glad it was only one night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Owner at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are very sorry that this customer had a Bad experience. We pride ourselves with having clean rooms and grounds.We are not perfect all the time , however we have instituted a double inspection to try to eliminate this problem in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
5.0 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,192 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
2.9 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drop Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop Anchor Resort

Property: Drop Anchor Resort
Address: 84959 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drop Anchor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life at Drop Anchor is simple, intimate, and unforgettable... Drop Anchor Resort and Marina is a unique oceanfront hideaway nestled in the heart of the fabulous "purple isle" of Islamorada. Intimate and private, accommodations range from Standard rooms to Suites, in most cases with private balconies. Each room is individually designed with a tropical flair befitting the unique island spirit of the fabulous Florida Keys. Our history is rich; wed have been a landmark in Islamorada for more than 50 years. We aspire to keep the "Old FL Keys" spirit alive while offering just 18 fresh, updated rooms with charming amenities for our guests' comfort is one of our top priorities. We strive to ensure rooms are among the most immaculate in the Florida Keys. Lush palm trees sway over our beautiful pool and private beach. Our grounds feature colorful tropical flora, relaxing sitting areas and hammocks swaying under tall palms. The property also boasts an Oceanside dock and private boat ramp available to our guests. Located in the "Fishing Capital of the World", we are within a few miles of the best dining and water sports in the Florida Keys. Our memorable resort hotel is located approximately 80 miles south of Miami International Airport and 85 miles north of Key West. Get lost and found in paradise at Drop Anchor Resort and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drop Anchor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drop Anchor Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing