We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Drop Anchor Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean House(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Morada(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islander Resort(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveler rating
420
245
78
18
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
245
78
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisland grillkey westadirondack chairsfull kitchenpalm treeshog heavensandy areaold floridaboat rampnice poolsmall roomlaid backqueen bedbeautiful ocean viewpicnic tablessea wallone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
564 - 569 of 776 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Wanting do do something special for Mother's day. My daughter's and I stayed for the weekend. We had an amazing time.The kids loved the pool and made friends. The rooms where very clean, with beautiful decor, along with equipped kitchens. The staff was very helpful. We plan to take the whole family back down in June. Cant wait.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in May 2013 and can't wait to go back. The staff was great, the resort was great. We made several new friends. It is in a great location, close enough to everything but not crowded!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welltrvld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a lovely night at the Drop Anchor back in April 2013. We went down to Islamorada for a wedding at the Cheeca Lodge. The bedding was wonderful, white, cotton sheets, pillow cases and blankets, Just like home.
The wall air- conditioner was not working very well and the room was rather warm...the ceiling fan was very helpful.
The best part was morning coffee on their private tiki beach. Would like to go back and try out one of the rooms off the beach with the private balcony. Worth a try.

Room Tip: Splurg and go for one of the rooms that actually face the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FitPro101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel confuses romantic with run down. The room is clean and you have a bed. That is sufficient for a night.
Unless you need internet access. The download speeds are extremely low, good for emails, but they better not have an attachment and no video possible at all.
They could change it but have no interest in doing so.

Room Tip: As far away from the highway as possible due to noise, windows and doors are very old, trucks are driving right through your room at night.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edenliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drop_anchor_12, Owner at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We are a small quiet resort, and to many it is our proven track record of why we have so many repeat guests .We have many compliments about our rooms and furnishings. Our WiFi is not perfect all the time, Weather , Wind Etc. but we do try to accommodate always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Drop Anchor on a two week Keys Road Trip. We varied our stays between a Bed & Breakfast to Hotel Chains to five star private island luxury. Drop Anchor was one of our favorite stays of the trip. We (2 rooms, 2 couples) spent two days enjoying the pool and the grounds and visiting the great area restaurants and shops. Very conveniently located to everything Islamorada has to offer. Even though there was no vacancy, we felt as if we had our own private retreat!

The room was clean, kitchen stocked very efficiently, bathroom stocked with amenities and plenty of towels. We were under the impression that there were no daily housekeeping services but to our surprise we came in from a day by the pool to a cleaned room. (Thankfully by an honest employee as we left valuables out not expecting anyone to be in the room.)

The pool was the most refreshing we experienced during the entire trip. Not too warm, not too cold. All of the other places we stayed, the pools were too warm or too dirty to enjoy.

We would certainly stay there again without hesitation and have told many of our friends planning trips to consider staying there.

Room Tip: Check the website for the virtual tours of the rooms. You will see exactly what you are getting. Loved Room 7!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longing4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews