We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drop Anchor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drop Anchor Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Marion, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice place, well kept, friendly management. Room was very nice, bathroom fixtures a bit old but everything worked fine including the HVAC. recommend room 6, second story on the ocean with a nice deck and great view. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    223
    66
    17
    15
See reviews for
150
400
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Drop Anchor on a two week Keys Road Trip. We varied our stays between a Bed & Breakfast to Hotel Chains to five star private island luxury. Drop Anchor was one of our favorite stays of the trip. We (2 rooms, 2 couples) spent two days enjoying the pool and the grounds and visiting the great area restaurants and shops. Very conveniently located to everything Islamorada has to offer. Even though there was no vacancy, we felt as if we had our own private retreat!

The room was clean, kitchen stocked very efficiently, bathroom stocked with amenities and plenty of towels. We were under the impression that there were no daily housekeeping services but to our surprise we came in from a day by the pool to a cleaned room. (Thankfully by an honest employee as we left valuables out not expecting anyone to be in the room.)

The pool was the most refreshing we experienced during the entire trip. Not too warm, not too cold. All of the other places we stayed, the pools were too warm or too dirty to enjoy.

We would certainly stay there again without hesitation and have told many of our friends planning trips to consider staying there.

Room Tip: Check the website for the virtual tours of the rooms. You will see exactly what you are getting. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longing4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

call to make reservations iam disabled with a service dog person that I spoked to on the phone did not want a dog on his property.said he need paper work and he was goning to investigate paper work from a to z fedral law states no paper work is need for any service dog would not listen said no dogs on property they .should follow up on ADA laws. does not want to help with disabled people best to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MIKE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drop_anchor_12, Owner at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We are ADA compliant we respect rules and regulations . When someone refuses to show proof that they have a licensed service dog only spells out one thing they do not have a service dog. We have had experiences where people stated this Federal Law and show up with 3 dogs and destroy the room . My customers health and well being comes first and we don't allow pets on the property. If you have a service dog show me proof and we will respect your rights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here to end our vacation in Islamarada. What a lovely resort! Steve in the office gave is great suggestions on restaurants & things to do. Not fancy, but clean. We stayed in room 3. Away from the road & our patio opened up to a beautiful view of the ocean. Nice pool. Tiki huts & hammocks all over the property. Will definately return on our next visit to Islamarada!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our way to Key West. It was a very relaxing couple of days. We stayed in room 15. It was quite small and had no closet, but it was clean and well maintained. It faced the ocean which is beautiful. The pool is really nice and well maintained as well. While the hotel was right on the main road, we heard no traffic from our room or pool area.
The downside is that there is no restaurant or even anyplace to get a drink but there are a couple places close by to buy stuff.
The guy at the front desk was always polite.
Would stay here again if ever in the Keys again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillsnVicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Highly recommended! This was our first time visiting Islamorada, as we were in town for a weekend wedding. From the moment we pulled up, we knew this was going to be a great place to stay. Drop Inn has a great 50's kitschy vibe on the outside. Colorful, cheery and private. Inside, the room was modern, comfy, immaculate and plenty big. Our room (#7) had a great private balcony overlooking the man made beach, pool and waterfront. Great views. The outdoor areas were spotless and tranquil. Inviting tiki huts, lounge chairs and hammocks were plentiful. Even on a weekend when the property was completely full, we felt like we had space of our own and privacy. At night, the property is colorfully lit up in neon and twinkly lights adorn the waterfront tiki huts....a perfect place for a quiet nightcap with friends. A bonus? Lots of great little waterfront restaurants and night spots nearby. Service was friendly and accommodating, both by phone and in person.

We are well traveled throughout the US and abroad and have stayed in luxurious 5 star properties and smaller individually-owned properties like this one. In the Keys, this is without a doubt the way to go. If maid service, luxury fittings and a concierge is important to you, then be prepared to pay an arm and a leg elsewhere and, even worse, have a generic experience at a chain hotel or resort. We will most definitely be back--and we will recommend The Drop Anchor to our friends!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleJaySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed in room 18 which felt a bit like a garage conversion! Fixtures and fittings a little dated and big for the room, included a microwave but no cutlery or crockery (only 2 plastic cups) so a bit useless. Good fridge though. Air con and road a bit noisy. The other rooms looked really nice and all have some sort of outdoor space and bbq. The pool and man made beach area is really nice and a great place to chill out. Plenty of beds, chairs and hammocks to relax in. It is more of a motel than hotel and there are no services at all on site, not even maid service so be prepared to make your own bed. Free wifi which is great and plenty of parking.

Overall a nice place to relax as for us the outside space was better than in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 590PaulaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drop_anchor_12, Owner at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
All people have different tastes and this is the first time i have experienced someone not liking the decor in this room. We have 12 kitchen units and 6 non-kitchen units. This guest choose a non-kitchen unit to stay in . We do not provide cutlery or crockery in non-kitchen units. We provide daily housekeeping service but do not change the beds daily ( every other day ) .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
5.0 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
0.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,129 reviews
3.8 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drop Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop Anchor Resort

Property: Drop Anchor Resort
Address: 84959 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drop Anchor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life at Drop Anchor is simple, intimate, and unforgettable... Drop Anchor Resort and Marina is a unique oceanfront hideaway nestled in the heart of the fabulous "purple isle" of Islamorada. Intimate and private, accommodations range from Standard rooms to Suites, in most cases with private balconies. Each room is individually designed with a tropical flair befitting the unique island spirit of the fabulous Florida Keys. Our history is rich; wed have been a landmark in Islamorada for more than 50 years. We aspire to keep the "Old FL Keys" spirit alive while offering just 18 fresh, updated rooms with charming amenities for our guests' comfort is one of our top priorities. We strive to ensure rooms are among the most immaculate in the Florida Keys. Lush palm trees sway over our beautiful pool and private beach. Our grounds feature colorful tropical flora, relaxing sitting areas and hammocks swaying under tall palms. The property also boasts an Oceanside dock and private boat ramp available to our guests. Located in the "Fishing Capital of the World", we are within a few miles of the best dining and water sports in the Florida Keys. Our memorable resort hotel is located approximately 80 miles south of Miami International Airport and 85 miles north of Key West. Get lost and found in paradise at Drop Anchor Resort and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Drop Anchor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drop Anchor Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing