We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A picturesque quiet escape”
Review of Drop Anchor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drop Anchor Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This place was phenomenal! A memorable weekend getaway. Our room (#15) was one of the less expensive and smaller options at the motel, but the Drop Anchor website pictures were right on the money. Our room looked just like it did in the pictures. It was a romantic little space with the bare essentials for a beach vacation.

The property...the beach is well-groomed and is decked out with comfortable adirondack style chairs and little tiki hut umbrellas. There was NO ONE on the beach with us for the majority of the weekend. We got to see guests come in on their boats with fresh mahi catches--next time I will try to rent a boat or go on a fishing excursion :) We did not jump in the ocean more than once because the pool was so fabulous and right on the water's edge.

The only drawbacks... our shower backed up a bit and there wasn't a traditional "walk in" style beach. We are not big complainers so we didn't mention the shower until we had checked out. We should have spoken up because the management and the property maintenance attended to it right away. As for the beach, we can't change that. Plus, it's a fishing destination and is great for people staying and docking their boats.

Room Tip: Check out the Drop Anchor website--very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knightmaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 757 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2011

The Florida Keys are a funny place; it's so expensive to stay there, but the landscape is pretty ugly, What is incredibly beautiful is the water, and the waterviews. We traveled the Keys from the northern end, almost all the way to the southern tip, and I didn't find any particular mile-marker of hotels/motels to be much more inviting than another. The stretches of road where there are businesses are downright ugly.

Most of the tourist places are right on Highway 1, and look kind of scruffy from the road. Drop Anchor is no different. And the cinderblock construction wouldn't seem to bode well either, but I loved this place.

One shouldn't count on "beachfront" lodging in the Keys- the Drop Anchor, and most of the other places, have seawalls, not sandy beaches. But the feeling was marvelously tropical, with palm trees and sandy, immaculately groomed grounds. Lots of hammocks, chairs and grills.

I paid top dollar for the most expensive room, and think it was worth every cent. It was like a small apartment, with a head-on view of the ocean. To hear the wind in the palms every night was a vacation in itself. On the second story, our large (4' x 12') deck was our private world.

If at all financially possible, I suggest getting an ocean-facing, second-story room; we got so much bang for the buck. Staying in a lovely room at the Drop Ancor made up for all the budget places we stayed at the rest of the time.

The kitchen is full sized, very well equipped. There's a Publix market in Marathon for supplies.

The pool is small, but so clean and inviting.

The Drop Anchor is a quirky mix of shabby chic, and give-and-take; e.g. the quilt on the high quality king-size bed was beautiful, very high end, but the kitchen didn't come with paper towels. There were small things that could have been improved (not enough clothes hooks, no place on site to do laundry, fold out bed not comfy), but the positives far, far outweighed the negatives.

This place is spotlessly clean and well maintained. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 133travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Very Clean, spacious rooms. Staff very helpful with suggestions, and allowing a later check out time. Property was pristine - could of used a few extra days. Enjoyed it and plan to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We booked the Drop Anchor at the last minute based on reviews and were pleasantly surprised it was even better in person, than the room by room, pictures. We stayed in room #11 and it was tastefully decorated and extremely clean, with a side ocean view, balcony. The beach area was clean and the hammocks that were scattered throughout the grounds were a great treat. The pool was very clean. The owners and the grounds crew were extremely friendly and accommodating and take great pride in the property and were always working hard at keeping all the areas clean. It was our first time visiting the Drop Anchor, but it definitely won't be our last.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We've stayed at Drop Anchor several times over the past few years, and have enjoyed our stays, can't say the same for this visit. We love the grounds and the view, but our room was not good. The air conditioner was VERY noisy, and when we commented, we were given a speech on how an air conditioner runs, so when asked later how it was doing, we simply said OK because our initial comments didn't net any favorable results. We don't mind the no daily maid service, but there's no place to hang your towels to dry for reuse, so we draped them wherever we could find a spot. The walls were in need of a good cleaning, especially near the nightstands. The free WIFI didn't work, and when we asked, they said some people had been having trouble with it. That was it!
The only thing worth the $145 per night that we spent was the view.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keysin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Where do I start?
As you drive into Drop Anchor , you immediately can see the waterfront view and palm tree laden beach provided for visitors. The small and secluded resort aims to bring the visitor into the Keys and it does it in style. Each building is painted and decorated to match The style of the Keys. Each room is decorated entirely different. The room we stayed in (Room 9) offered a fantastic view of the serene ocean, a big king size bed, flat panel lcd tv (no idea on channels- with a view so nice, why watch tv???), stocked kitchen, cold A/C, and a bathroom with iron and blow dryer amenities. The only bad thing I would say about the room was the bathroom's age. The tiles and bathtub (can only use for shower) look older compared to the rest of the room. The room was very well redone, but you can tell that the bathroom is still not redone. It's still very clean and fully usable, so not too much of a problem for us.
The manager was a very nice fellow who has cute pets (Tweety the bird and Fifi the dog) and is there to help if needed. We needed to borrow a wine opener and they provided one to us with no problems.
The best part of the resort is the location. Living in Miami, I do not think I have ever been to a place so quiet and peaceful. As you lay out on their semi-beach (It's more like a beach that ends to a dock) filled with chairs, tiki huts, and hammock, this place becomes a paradise where even the most stressful would probably relax for the first time ever.. They do have a ladder from the dock to the ocean and while there I saw people snorkeling right off the edge and have a decent size pool for use. The blue water views and the cool breeze are to die for.

Pros:
~Secluded and Peaceful
~Clean
~Great view of the ocean
~Well Decorated Rooms with plenty of Ammenites
~ Very nice Manager

Cons:
~ Bathrooms are a little older (still in good shape)
~ No early Check-in
~Price?


Overall I am very pleased with my stay at Drop Anchor Resort. I went there being stressed and busy and I left feeling happy, calm, and relaxed.
This is a great place to stay at!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kushinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

This little resort/motel combines the charm of a relaxed little 70's motel with beautifully decorated rooms, modern amenities, and absolutely immaculate rooms and grounds. Watch both the sunset and sunrise from the sand right on the Atlantic, or from your own balcony or patio if you book the right rooms! We absolutely loved this place where we could relax by the water or at the pool, keep our slider and windows open to the ocean breeze at night, use our kitchenette to make breakfast to eat on our balcony overlooking the water, and generally get away from the real world.
Islamorada is the least developed part of the keys and still has that laid back flavor, but with plenty of things to do. The food was wonderful everywhere, snorkeling, kayaking (we loved Robbie's) easy to get to. Drop Anchor is truly central to anything you want to do in the keys.....we drove to Key West one day (our attitude is that we are glad we saw it, the drive is nice, but too touristy for us), took a snorkel trip (Robbie's), rented kayaks (Robbie's again) and were out for a wonderful 5 1/2 hours, tried many of the restaurants and loved them all (Bentley's had the BEST key lime pie) and went up to John Pennekamp State Park (definitely a place we will go back to for the snorkel trip to the reef) on our way back up to Miami area
The owners of Drop Anchor are on-site, friendly and helpful and certainly make sure all is perfect for your stay. If you are looking for room service, on site bar, hot tub, etc. this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a simpler, more relaxing place, with kitchens so you can create your own happy hour, this is indeed the place to go. We absolutely loved it and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Believer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
5 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,392 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,376 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
986 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drop Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop Anchor Resort

Address: 84959 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range: $187 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drop Anchor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life at Drop Anchor is simple, intimate, and unforgettable... Drop Anchor Resort and Marina is a unique oceanfront hideaway nestled in the heart of the fabulous "purple isle" of Islamorada. Intimate and private, accommodations range from Standard rooms to Suites, in most cases with private balconies. Each room is individually designed with a tropical flair befitting the unique island spirit of the fabulous Florida Keys. Our history is rich; wed have been a landmark in Islamorada for more than 50 years. We aspire to keep the "Old FL Keys" spirit alive while offering just 18 fresh, updated rooms with charming amenities for our guests' comfort is one of our top priorities. We strive to ensure rooms are among the most immaculate in the Florida Keys. Lush palm trees sway over our beautiful pool and private beach. Our grounds feature colorful tropical flora, relaxing sitting areas and hammocks swaying under tall palms. The property also boasts an Oceanside dock and private boat ramp available to our guests. Located in the "Fishing Capital of the World", we are within a few miles of the best dining and water sports in the Florida Keys. Our memorable resort hotel is located approximately 80 miles south of Miami International Airport and 85 miles north of Key West. Get lost and found in paradise at Drop Anchor Resort and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Drop Anchor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drop Anchor Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing