We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIP OFF SCAM ARTISTS”
Review of Limoncello

Limoncello
Reserve with OpenTable
Limoncello is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mile Marker 82
Islamorada, Florida
2 reviews
“RIP OFF SCAM ARTISTS”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

To be fair the food here was decent, nothing to write home about or worth revisiting but prepared reasonably well with good flavor and cooked right. The reason I only give 1 star is to give fair warning to others who might decide to give this place a chance.

THE PROBLEM we had was that after going through the menu we opted for a special of the day. The menu prices seemed reasonable with appetizers 8-15, entrees 20-30 and the highest priced item being approx. $45 for prime rib. So we ordered the "Surf and Turf" which was a normal sized lobster tail and small piece of filet mignon with some veggies and mashed potatoes. We also ordered a couple beers and were brought out a replacement that was supposed to be similar but wasn't even close.

The service was a bit slow paced but when I got the bill was shocked to see we had been charged $75 for the plate with 2 small peices of meat and the veggies this is almost twice the price of their highest priced item. I also pointed out to our server that the beer was overcharged and the plate price was absurd. She began giving reasons why... including it's "8oz" as if that justifies the price tag and claiming that I ordered that beer. Management came out and offered the beer adjustment but refused to budge on the double priced item. I informed her that we were locals and would most likely not visit again and certainly not refer them business.

If you decide to dine here expect decent food, mediocre service and WATCH OUT FOR THE SCAM AT THE END OF YOUR VISIT.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    22
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“pretty darn good italian”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was pretty good italian food, especially for a hotel restaurant. It's located in the Cheeca Lodge, has indoor and outdoor seating, and the service was exceptional.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyttrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a joke”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This restaurant is so terrible that it is not even funny. The brushcetta tasted like stale hockey pucks with frozen tomatoes.
Our veal meatballs tasted like last nights dinner, regurgitated and rolled into balls over sauce so watery - it must have come from a can of some sorts. NASTY

But really upset us, was our waitress Michele. She was clueless to the menu and could not answer any of our questions, and she would dissapear and never come back to check on us or ask us if we were even enjoying our meal. Which we werent.
And the most odd issue - she smelled like POT. Yes, im serious. She smelled like marijuana every time she did make it to the table. Probably the reason we never saw her too.
We never saw a manager or anyone else who would even care to hear us out. So we paid for the worst meal we have ever had and we got out of there as soon as we could.

what a joke.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very good food, outstanding service, romantic and beautiful ambiance.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We dine at limencello restaurant a few times a year and every time we stay at the cheeca lodge. My husband gets the short rib ravioli and its always consistent and delicious. Pizzas are great. Its a very small menu. I've had the seafood agnolotti and mushroom and spinach tortellini, both are outstanding. The chicken parmesan is OK. We eat at limencello every wedding anniversary and the staff including the manager Gabriel always make it so special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank de c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Dinner”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great Food. The Short Rib Ravioli was fantastic. I was very surprised by the fact that they were stuffed so full and some short rib meat was garnished on top. Sauce was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CombatCulinary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limoncello also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Limoncello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing