We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger in the Key's”

MEAT Eatery And Taproom
Ranked #5 of 92 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: M.E.A.T. Eatery And Taproom is a Cutting-Edge Quick-Service restaurant in the Upper Florida Keys. A Diners, Drive Ins and Dive spot featured for its Smoked Wings and Home Made Pork Rinds. It smokes its Pulled Pork, makes its own Sausage in-house, was named #1 Burger in Florida for it's stuffed Burger the Inside Out Juicy Lucy and Top 101 Burgers in America for the Nancy Pants Burger and even makes its own Ketchup and Mustard. MEAT also carries Craft Beers, Microwbrewed Sodas, Organic Wines and Fresh Made Ice Cream. Not to be missed traveling in the Keys!
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
284 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best Burger in the Key's”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Eating burgers out is not really my thing. I much rather grill in the back yard, if I'm going to eat a burger. MEAT was recommended by a friend and I wanted to try it out. Very surprised with the quality. The burgers were really, really great, cooked just as ordered. I had the 5oz and fries and it was a perfect amount of food. Service was friendly, but not overly attentive. The fact that they were very busy on a Monday night is a good sign. Looking forward to going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keyscritter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    196
    59
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Went on advice of tripadvisor. I don't know what was so great about it. Very crowded. Basic meal. Bar in strip mall.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank katem j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Xfactor!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We stopped at Islamorada on our way to Key West. MEAT was on top of the Tripadvisor resto list and we found out this was not without a reason!
Great food (home made mustard and ketchup), excellent choice of music and same service. A real find in Islamorada, literally as you will need your satnav if you don't know the area...

Helpful?
Thank Harold D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
485 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Little Hole in the Wall”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stuck in a very non-descript strip mall at Mile Marker 88 in Islamorada is a great find. The locals have known about it, but due to recent publicity it is catching a lot of tourists and other out of towners. Home brew with a good selection of popular bottle beers. Even home brewed root beer and soft drinks. Great hamburgers and fries! They make all their meat on premises and you can get sausage, lamb, pork, beef not only for a meal while there, but take home also. Try the pork and beef burger. Big screens above the bar and a very friendly staff. Very small place and its packed with a waiting line most of the time during meal hours. I will stop in again any time I am in the area!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wano16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yes. This place is legit! Great, fresh food with zero fuss.”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Meat is the best food in town. It's a cute location with excellent food, beer, soda and desserts. I had the Ruben and everyone else had burgers. Onions rings were the best ever! I mean ever. So many good fresh things on the menu to choose from, you can't go wrong. Try it. Note: it's not fancy inside, just a perfect taproom.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twinexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MEAT Eatery And Taproom also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to MEAT Eatery And Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing