We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again”

Islander Watersports Islamorada
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very, Very, unprofessional operation. We paid a day in advance and was told to come back at opening of the following day at 10 am. We were there but no one else was, for almost an hr. Then they finally "mozy" around, the owner yacked on the phone, while the helper seemed lost, Basically, this 1 hr tour, took over 4!! Yes we were there on vacation, but we had other activities planned that we lost money on because of this episode. The worst part about it, they could've cared less. What a way to run a business. I recommend going to Islamorada boat tours if you want an affordable, professional experience on the water.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jake542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    2
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hobie Cat Fun”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The staff was great with letting us take out a Hobie 14 in a good wind. We got soaking wet and had a excellent time!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank seekingsun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
1 review
“Rented Hobie Wave”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have a 27" sailboat back home, and because it was so windy, we decided to find a small sailboat to rent. We weren't guests at the Islander, but we found this place online, and gave them a call. Joe took our reservation on the phone for the next day for a 14-foot Hobie Wave.

David and Charles down at Islander Watersports beach snack were pretty good to us, and got us into the water on time when we showed up. Overall they were friendly and did what it took to accomodate us.

The boats were in good condition. There was a maintenance issue with the Wave that we were going to sail, but they had it sorted out by the time we were ready to go.

We sailed near shore in about 15 knots of wind with about 77 degrees F air and water temperature, and it was pretty comfortable for both of us--my girlfriend gets cold a lot on the bigger boat. Despite being ocean side, the water is reasonable flat, and although we got wet, the wind waves are fairly small, due to the shallow depth and a protective reef of some sort.

The only negative is that the beach here is actually rip-rap, and you launch from a lee shore (straight into the wind) from a relatively narrow launch ramp. I had a little anxiety about getting moving, since I hadn't sailed a catamaran before; things went fine, but I could have things seen things going wrong at the start and ending up on the rocks. However, they help you get started--and they offer a lesson of some sort if you're absolutely new.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aaronup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The "BEST"”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

(I'm late posting)
We took our daughter to Islamorada for a getaway before school started and decided we wanted to sail. My husband did research and made reservations in advance for sailing lessons and rentals. When we arrived, they greeted us with smiles and were so happy to assist us. The lessons we were given were clearly stated, very helpful and he was very polite. Anyone interested in learning to sail should definitely take the brief lesson there and continue with your sailing experience. We did sail for the majority of our time because we had such a great time with the experience.
We live in Lauderdale, so I took my daughter to a local activity. While looking around at the establishment, I noticed they have a club and they use the services provided by Islander Water Sports. It was rather exciting to see photos from a Club visiting Islander, especially after our return home from there.
Also, they are a Guy Harvey Outpost!
Worth your $, worth the time, and makes a great experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We rented a hurricane deck boat and Dave not only provided the details on how to operate the boat, but also pointed out where to visit while we were on the water for the day. Also rented the aqua-cycles (quite the workout) as well as a snorkeling trip with them... Highly recommend.. A+++++++

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islander Watersports Islamorada also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Islander Watersports Islamorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing