We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy choices even for non-sushi lovers”
Review of Nikai Sushi

Nikai Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Nikai Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located In The Cheeca Lodge and Spa
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Yummy choices even for non-sushi lovers”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My fiancé is a huge fan of sushi, and absolutely loves the bonsai roll from Nikai....I'm not a sushi fan, but am willing to try something each time we go. We lucked out and had a wonderful waitress who recommended a tempura roll for me that was chock full of avocado, cukes, spicy sauce and more. I could go back! Which is strong praise. Reservations are a must here, the seating is very limited, but worth it to be seaside with such wonderful choices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dkp213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    29
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Experience”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had the most disappointing experience at this sushi restaurant last night. Beginning with it taking 20 minutes to getting our drinks, to having a hair on our sushi. They took some of it off our bill, but after spending 70 dollars for dinner, we left hungry and had to get a pizza.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cjg228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamorada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I am a local Islamorada resident...365 days a year.
Nikai at Cheeca Lodge is my favorite ! my wife and I eat there often...I am not a sushi expert but the guys make it easy...specifically..Cyrus Hire, Dana Rose and Mark Jomolo...these guys are just wonderful.
Please check them out....Cheeca Lodge is a great place...just beautiful !
I have been coming to Cheeca for 25 yrs..it is now never better !
best regards,
Mike McLoad

Mike in Islamorada

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How Did It Take Us So Long To Come Here???”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We Finally came at the suggestion of friends from Ocean Reef and I must say, we were highly impressed! The menu was a little different than we were used to but the flavor combinations were quite unique and extremely satisfying!! We had the scallop sashimi dish, the Bonsai roll and the Samurai. All were outstanding. The staff was courteous and the chefs even acknowledged us and thanked us from across the room as we left. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SHowell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better the second time!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Came back to Nikai after visiting last year. The bar had moved and the restaurant is larger now. The quality was not compromised. Excellent meal, and sake. We had the divine droplets sake and it was spectacular. Food, as always, is par world class, our favorite being the ahi poke. Gorgeous plates and fresh fish. I highly recommend anyone staying nearby who enjoys sushi eat at Nikai.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikai Sushi also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Nikai Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing