We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Motel,Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Jolla Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Jolla Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tombstone Az
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classic Motel,Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

A classic Motel. Great location Wonderful front desk,Clean will come again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoremore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    85
    22
    16
    15
See reviews for
87
116
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Big Pine Key, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

What a wonderful old time Keys Resort! We are locals from Big Pine Key. Wanted to go to Islamorada for bowling and shopping. Decided to stay for the weekend. Researched through Trip Advisor and decided on La Jolla. Stayed in Unit D as there was to be 6 of us. There turned out to be only 4 that made the weekend. But what a great resort. Directly on the gulf side. Immaculately clean. Unit D has two bedrooms each with their own bath and full kitchen. Faced the lovely beach area and gulf. Nice chairs to sit out and relax and even has a brick barbecue you can use. We didn't get a chance to use pool as it was a cool weekend (November 5th-7th). The pool is rather small and near the entrance but it is hidden away with nice tropical landscaping. I really cannot say enough about how nice this resort was. The only downside with Unit D is that if you did have 6 people (it advertises can sleep 7 people - queen sofa bed and twin sleeper chair in living room) the people who sleep in the living room have to walk through one of the bedrooms to get to a bathroom. There is no direct access from the living room to any bathroom. But as we ended up with only 4 people - it was not a problem. The kitchen was well stocked - even down to dish soap. If you want to experience a Keys vacation as it used to be.... this is the place to go. Forgot to mention - bring your boat! There is boat dockage right out in front. Definitely plan to go again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cattitudeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

I called and they said no pets allowed! Note this is not a pet friendly hotel. Ita a shame because there are nicer hotels in the same area for roughly same price that do accept pets.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jibbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

I was for a weekend with my 6 years son for weekend in Islamorada. We got so great time, that he didn't want to leave. He was playing on the beach or in the pool. We got a great view on the ocean and rooms were spacious. I must mention the manager and girl on the frontdesk, they were very helpful and nice. WE COMING DEFINITELLY BACK NEXT MONTHS. See you at La Jolla !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HANYBANY31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

I have no idea where the other reviewers stayed because this was a great little resort. The rooms are all painted in bright colours, with unique room decors bright and spotless, with two queen beds, bathroom, kitchette with huge fridge, outside each room wicker sofa and chairs on the balcony. In the garden a nice swimming pool, ocean deck with boat docking, picnic huts, sunbeds, hammocks. The receptionist could not have been more friendly, she gave us bikes to ride along the path and a fishing rod, we caught some great fish right off the dock - all within the excellent value rate. I would definitely recommend staying here, right in the centre of the beautiful key of Islamorada - also very close to locals bar Lori lee which is also recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyred50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Small quaint hotel with a great location on the Bay side with docks and thier own boat ramp. Staff is friendly and helpful with launching your boat into the bay and willing to share local knowledge about thewaterways.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

Nice enough spot by the sea with a jetty to fish off, hammock & loungers. The staff are pleasant.

The main negative is the price which represented poor value for money. However, we found that accommodation in the upper keys to be overpriced in general.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussy_bear2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
1.9 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
2.0 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.9 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Resort

Property: La Jolla Resort
Address: 82216 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Bayfront Islamorada Resort featuring efficiencies and apartments within walking & biking distance to all of Islamorada's top shopping, nightlife and dining. Our guests also enjoy FREE use of our kayaks, paddleboards and bicycles during their stay. Whether you are looking for a quiet island retreat or want to experience all Islamorada has to offer on the water or off, it all begins at La Jolla Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Jolla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing