We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Jolla Resort
Nearby Hotels
Amara Cay Resort(Islamorada)
$267
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Morada(Islamorada)
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$338
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheeca Lodge & Spa(Islamorada)
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drop Anchor Resort(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
$254
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveler rating
184
97
26
17
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
97
26
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold floridafishboat slipsfree kayakskey westold schoollorelei restaurantgulf sideshuffle boardpaddle boardspots and panskeys experiencemangrove mikesnice beach areaclean roomscomfy bedwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 340 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great place. Friendly staff, Scotty was great. Perfect location. Clean, spacious rooms. Everything is close by. Kayaks and bicycles on the premises. Swam off the dock. Beautiful sunsets. Restaurants and boating nearby.

Room Tip: Midway between Key Largo and Key West.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mom-of-Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We loved this place. We had an apartment facing the waterfront and absolutely loved having that great view right in front of us. The place was spacious, clean and nicely decorated, spacious bedrooms, lots of kitchen utensils if you want to cook. Service at the reception was very friendly and helpful. It was wonderful to have free paddle boats available for the kids, and bikes available to take a look around Islamorada in a more relaxed way than by car. There's fishing parties leaving and coming from the small beach in front of the bungalows, and the view of the water is lovely. The place has a nicely laid back vibe to it.

Room Tip: Apartment facing the waterfront was perfect
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakooandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel itself is very cute and quaint; however, it's very very outdated and the customer service is non-existent. We constantly had to ask the front desk attendant for fresh towels, soap, etc.. and when we did it was as if we were inconveniencing him and being a pest. The only vending machine on premises was sold out of water the entire 4 days we stayed and the maid kept turning off our air conditioner when we left leaving the room very hot after we'd been out fishing all day! They also overbooked the hotel, so we had no place to park our vehicle most nights. The room was also extremely outdated and old with rusty areas and stains everywhere...not to mention the ants. We will not be returning to La Jolla considering all the other hotel options on the island.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem similar...terrible
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcheck101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lajollaresort, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience at La Jolla Resort. We never overbook the resort and unfortunately parking is limited as we only have one space for every unit. We try to make sure everyone gets their space however sometimes issue do arise. In your case we did have the guest in the space next to you move over to make sure you had room to park your car in the space for Unit O where you stayed.

There are no excuses for the attitude you received from our front desk staff, we are sorry for that. Our housekeepers service the occupied units everyday and provide fresh towels, soap, toilet paper, change the garbage and sweep or mop the floors. Additionally the a/c units in our rooms are never to be turned off. Sometime they do get put on energy save and therefore shut on and off to save energy however before a check-in our procedure is to switch the a/c units to cool.

As far as our hotel being outdated, it was built in the late 40s therefore we cannot be compared with newer hotels. I would hope that any potential guest who reads this would view the pictures of their unit on our website before they come so that they are not disappointed in the room. Its all a matter of opinion and expectations.

Though painful to hear we do appreciate your input and have taken measures to make sure another guest does not have an experience similar to yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

La Jolla is our new favorite place in Islamorada. It's a laid-back, clean, comfortable, old school resort that's right on the water and boasts a friendly, helpful staff. The grounds are beautiful (we debated asking for a cutting of one of the plumeria trees because they're so gorgeous), the pool is clean, and La Jolla offers bikes and kayaks for guests, which is great because most of the best places to eat, drink, and shop are within biking distance. We don't go to Islamorada for high end amenities. We look for barefoot places where we can relax and unwind, so as far as we're concerned, it doesn't get any better than this.

Room Tip: The property is not large so all there's no such thing as a bad room location, but the best views are the waterfront rooms. We'll probably book one of those next time.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lajollaresort, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, this is exactly what we love to hear. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Ants got in the kitchen during the night and into all of our food. Toilet handle kept falling off. This place is in need of repair. We had stayed here before when it was under different management and it just seems that the place has gone into disrepair.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Deana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lajollaresort, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

After researching the complaints raised in this review it has come to light that Deana is a family member of the person who posted the review titled "Looks can be deceiving". Obviously this is another attempt for revenge for being kicked out of our resort by the Sheriff's Department for rude and obnoxious behavior.

We invite everyone to come check out the resort and judge for yourself if it is in disrepair. We are sorry you even have to read these bogus review posted by disgruntled people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews