We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great price for a great time”
Review of La Jolla Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Jolla Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you don't need a typical hotel experience and want a rustic room with a view, go to La Jolla in Islomarada,Florida which is located in the Florida Keys. Although I used the word "rustic" Conch Villa A Bayfront was clean, cozy, and had a full kitchen. We loved the kitchen because we could just stay in our bathing suits, make dinner and jump back in the water where we could snorkel, kayak, or lounge in one of the hammocks. Furthermore, one could bring a boat and dock!
So Floridians or anyone else who likes sun & fun without the superfluous glitz, go to La Jolla

Room Tip: take a room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 326 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you're not bothered by little things, this is a lovely, quaint little place to stay. They have a small, nice beach area with a boat ramp, docks, fish cleaning station, kayaks and other things to do. The rooms were within 50m of the water, reasonably clean and had a nice kitchenette. Motels in the Key's are pricey, especially during lobster season, but the owners/operators clearly take pride in taking care of all the place. I've seen better down there, but I've seen a lot worse. The property is right in the middle of Islamorada and convenient. AC worked good, bathroom pretty clean. TV=good, WiFi really good. In all, we really enjoyed our stay there. Reserve as far ahead of time in the Keys as possible; else get stuck with a $200 bill.

Room Tip: Units A, B, & C are waterfront... very nice. Check to make sure everything works immediately af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FixeRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I loved this place so much I hope it stays just the way it is, undiscovered except by serious fisherman and the folks who love the Salt. I loved, loved this wonderful little American owned place. I didn't want to leave :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and the view is what it's all about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shack26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This place has a really nice, laid-back kind of feel. The buildings are vintage 1950's-1960's concrete block with bright tropical colors. Very nice retro-keys look. The vintage neon sign out front says it all. This is not fancy- but most rooms have a kitchen or kitchenette and they are well-kept and clean. The manager on-site is Scott, and he is awesome. Friendly and helpful. Also- this is walking distance to one of my favorite breakfast places, Mangrove Mike's- try the Mangrove Oscar!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front with a bay view. Gorgeous sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AParkhillHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just came back from La Jolla resort. I have to say this is the best place we have stayed at in the Florida Keys. Scott the property manager was absolutely incredible! The service and attention was amazing. The girl at the front desk who has the same last name as I do, "Mrs T" so I dont disclose any names was also great! The rooms, location, free bikes and kayaks and accessibility to Fishing and Lobstering was incredible. Were booked for next year and are looking forward to many more trips in between!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed at La Jolla for a long weekend-the grounds are perfect- dock,boatramp,hammock,they offer
Kayaks and bikes to
Enjoy at no extra cost. You can snorkel right off the dock-great fish to see.Fabulous
Location(plenty of eateries within walking distance),clean practicle rooms,and very helpful front desk help. Will definately return asap

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelleykole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wow. Loved this place, and sooo reasonable. The place looks E.X.A.C.T.L.Y. like the website photos and is colorful, and charming. Somehow we landed in the Keys during late May and early June to a week of downpours and we still loved our time here. The location is perfect, as you can walk to several restaurants, the best of which is Loralei for nightly entertainment and the sunset cocktails. About a 7 minute walk on the same side of US1. Easy. There are FREE kayaks, which we enjoyed in the calm waters. Our room had a full kitchen, which was such a money saver and so convenient for breakfast and meals. Colorful clean paint, charming grounds, and views, and the service was really great for the most part. One young woman seemed to be unhelpful (telling us it would be "very hard" to find a nearby liquor store (really in the Keys??) and sending us 14 miles up to Key Largo to find a wine store, when in fact there was one just south of the resort. Live and learn, oh well. But for the most part this one unenthusiastic employee does NOT in any way represent the place overall, as most of the staff went above and beyond! There is a pool, though it's shaded and right next to the road, so not exactly tropical relaxation... for that head down to the bayside dock where there are lounge chairs as well as a pavillion --- which we needed due to the aforementioned rainy week. Nice large television, the room was nicely re-done and super clean. Fully stocked kitchen with dishes and everything you need! We stayed 2 nights, and would have stayed longer!! Traveled as a couple and a friend (3) in the room and it was more than adequate, so charming!!

Room Tip: The partial view rooms are just as nice as the bay front, and may even offer a bit more privacy as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainydayghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,392 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
213 reviews
8 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,376 reviews
2.7 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
757 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Resort

Address: 82216 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: $222 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Bayfront Islamorada Resort featuring efficiencies and apartments within walking & biking distance to all of Islamorada's top shopping, nightlife and dining. Our guests also enjoy FREE use of our kayaks, paddleboards and bicycles during their stay. Whether you are looking for a quiet island retreat or want to experience all Islamorada has to offer on the water or off, it all begins at La Jolla Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your La Jolla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing