We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable for The price”
Review of La Jolla Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Jolla Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our first stay in the keys and I wouldn't return here...the staff especially Scott was very nice...four of us stayed and for well over 300 a night the room was not comfortable...bed squeaked ..air did not work and I felt sticky /wet the whole time...bathroom was tiny with bad water pressure...toilet actually tipped sideways....they defiantly need to do some updating for this kind of money....I am glad we check out the keys but being uncomfortable and not sleeping well just left a bad taste in my mouth...I'll continue to go to a nice Mexico resort from now on...also this is all coming from a true farm girl....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lajollaresort, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

In response I would first like to say that this is our first bad review since I have been employed at La Jolla Resort so responding to it is quite difficult and upsetting because during this guest's stay we were not informed of any problems or concerns. If we know of a problem we always take every step possible to correct it. However if we don’t know about a problem there is no way we can correct it.

With regard to each issue stated in this review we have never heard any complaint about the memory foam beds which are less than 8 months old, the water pressure, the air conditioning or the toilet in this particular unit (The Blue Heron Cottage). The air conditioning units in the cottage were replaced less than 6 months ago and since receiving this review we have checked the shower heads, toilet, the water pressure and bed frames to find there were NO issues with them with exception of a loose bolt on the base of the toilet which we have tightened.
In addition we would also like to make it clear that this guest paid the rate of $299 per night plus 12.5% tax for a two bedroom, two bath, waterfront cottage centrally located in the heart of Islamorada and received complimentary use of the resort’s bikes, kayaks, paddleboards, fishing and snorkeling gear and wifi.

Unfortunately there is not anything we can do about the size of the bathrooms without major construction and possibly ruining the charm of the property. La Jolla Resort was built in the late 40’s in an Old Florida Style offering comfortable accommodations to families and fisherman, and that is what we strive to represent the resort to offer. We have put current pictures of the units and the bathrooms on our website at www.lajollaresort.com and it is our hope that anyone interested will take a look so that they have an accurate expectation of where they will be staying at La Jolla Resort.

In this particular situation we believe this guest’s expectation was unfortunately not one of the Florida Keys but more of an all-inclusive resort in Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 316 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

This property is small, but cozy and comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They have kayaks you can use for free, which was a bonus for my travel group. The property is peaceful! I agree with other reviwers, the rooms are not decorated in the typical "tropical" syle. The beds were extremely comfortable. The location in Islamorada is great for driving out for the day to explore the other Keys and then returning to this quiet location. Our room had a full kitchen, but they also have an area for grilling outside. I was happy with our stay and did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a weekend here for his birthday, not knowing what to expect I was delighted that our room was clean and did NOT look like a typical hotel with those nasty floral comforters! Our room unit N was clean with a great cold mini fridge and our bed was a comfortable memory foam. The water pressure in the bathroom was a little weak and the toilet needed help with the flushing, but for the location it didn't matter that much. A restaurant called Lorelei is a bike ride or short cruise away and amazing happy hour as well as view! The staff at La Jolla are very friendly and anxious to help with anything! I will definitely come back and maybe spring for a closer room by the water to keep an eye on the docks with our boat. The access to the water from la Jolla's boat ramp is difficult but Scott was very helpful, and it was so convenient having the boat in the water all weekend. Nobody messed with things around the docks and adequate cameras and security is present overall a great experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tapleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lajollaresort, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed La Jolla Resort. Just wanted to let you know that the problem with the plumbing was due to a clogged pipe which has since been repaired. We hope to see you again soon at La Jolla! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Loved the La Jolla! We spent a night here in mid-January of 2013 en route to Key West. It's very charming, and the staff was quite friendly and helpful, offering restaurant recommendations and helping us grab kayaks. We enjoyed sitting on the water and watching the sunset, taking out the aforementioned kayaks (for free) and spending a little time in our room. It's definitely a beachy place -- don't expect the Ritz -- but clean, spacious and comfortable. It was within walking distance of a few great restaurants and bars, too, which was a plus. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Though only certain rooms are right on the water, the property is small enough that it doesn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateinNY295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

When you fall in love and marry a fisherman there are two things you need to accept… One if you want to spend time with your significant other learn to fish… and two… get used to staying in “Fishing Camps” and various dives…. When my very sweet husband said he wanted to spend Christmas Vacation “Fishing the keys” I cringed but went along with it. We landed at the La Jolla Motel (Resort). I was very excited to see such a great place. The Dock easily fit our 23 foot boat and there were several security cameras aimed to insure the equipment security. There was plenty of nice high end lounges to get some sun/relax and a beautiful grill to cook your catch in the evening. The atmosphere was vintage 50s’s (but modern) and encouraged guests to mingle and get to know one another. There are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance if folks don’t want to fish. There were only a few things that i would improve: there was no laundry facility on property to use. There is a coin operated business across the street but the hours did not really work with a fisherman’s hours. The cleaning staff really just left fresh towels and sundries along with changing out the garbage pales daily during our stay. I would like to have seen more of a true clean down of the room each day. Overall we had an awesome stay and by far it is one of the nicest “Fishing” Resorts we have stayed in over the years and would recommend to even the non-fisherman... just a nice relaxing place and what I would consider the OLD KEYS EXPERIENCE.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeaKracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lajollaresort, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our resort and wish we would have known that you would have liked a deeper cleaning of your unit during your stay. As a matter of course our housekeepers service the units daily by providing clean towels, making the bed(s), sweeping and mopping the floors and changing any trash bags. However if a guest would like a more thorough cleaning of their unit such as a change of sheets or landering of the bedspread(s) we are happy to ablige without any additional charge as we want our guests to be happy and comfortable during their stay.

We hope you will return to La Jolla Resort again and give us a chance to make your stay perfect! Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Discovering La Jolla Resort was wonderful! Built in the 1940's, this little slice of heaven in Islamorada offers affordable, charming accommodations and dockage. If you want modern, commercial style, check into the Hilton instead. La Jolla has clean rooms, a pool, outdoor BBQ, hammocks, tables and surrounding tropical gardens that are constantly being groomed. Its also nice that they have kayaks and bikes for exploring too. After all, a trip to the Keys is about getting away from the crazy world elsewhere and staying here allows that but its location is within walking distance of all the best places the locals hang out. The only bad part was having to leave! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen because they have more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gweny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

stopped in for a last night in the keys after a week of debauchery in key west. the place was very nice, front desk worker was totally cool and very friendly. cool little bungalow efficiency apartments that are nice and clean with little kitchenettes. the one hang up is that the bed and pullout couch beds were terribly uncomfortable which led to a horrible night of sleep. that being said, i have stayed in much worse places with much worse customer service so i still rate it 4 out of 5. cool little boat dockage area on the property complete with grill, tiki hut, shuffleboard and a great view. good place to sit and watch the sunset with good company and cold drink.

Room Tip: ask for ocean front, theres only a few out of the many on the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbum393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.6 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.9 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
625 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Resort

Address: 82216 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: $200 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Bayfront Islamorada Resort featuring efficiencies and apartments within walking & biking distance to all of Islamorada's top shopping, nightlife and dining. Our guests also enjoy FREE use of our kayaks, paddleboards and bicycles during their stay. Whether you are looking for a quiet island retreat or want to experience all Islamorada has to offer on the water or off, it all begins at La Jolla Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Jolla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing