We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected”
Review of La Jolla Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Jolla Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed in room U (located above the lobby) and it was very average.I think some of their other rooms are nicer Pros: comfy bed, mini fridge in room, huge windows, clean. Cons: very outdated bathroom and musty smell. As for the rest of the rest of the resort - it is very nice. There is a nice dock and sitting area and the pool is closer to the road. For the price La Jolla is worth it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it choose a room that you can see the water.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GreenBear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for La Jolla Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 315 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

Booked in for five nights mid March after looking at positive reviews on here, and whilst we enjoyed our stay it was 'time to move on' (roadtrip!!) so left after four. No problem with a refund and, as in all other matters the owners/staff were superb. Professional but friendly. The resort is as others have reported, muted colours thru-out, madmade beach, free seating/beds, kayaks, bikes, shuffle board, barbacue, boat docking, fishing. A little quaint, but overall very comfortable and friendly. The rooms, whist having been 'done up' to a more modern style lack some essentials; for us it was a balcony. But what we had made up for this and I would happily stay again. Excellent location for amenities and food/drink. Very reasonable rates, and whilst you don't get complete 5 star rooms, you certainly get 5 star service (the owner is a sweetheart).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anniegirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Nicely decorated, planted and maintained grounds with a manmade beach area on the dock. Colourfully painted buildings by day and colourfully lit up by night, creating a great holiday atmosphere. Clean communal areas and rooms although no view from our room except onto a scrubby area next door (although we knew this when we booked, it was not a surprise). The pool is very small and the day we were there was not that clean with a lot of little insects on the surface (although to be fair, we were there as the pool guy seemed to be cleaning it and it is surrounded by trees). The beds were comfy and clean although the sheet quality was just fair, not great. Free bikes and kayaks to borrow were a definited plus. All in all we liked this place a lot for the atmosphere, the friendly service, the charming grounds and the location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mad-Mum-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Yes it is quirky, yes the pool is surrounded by trees, yes my fridge looked like it was balanced on an old chair, yes the air conditioner made few noises, yes the tv was surrounded by cables, yes I endeded up having to hang my phone from power sockets 1 ft from the ceiling, yes there were only 4 clohes hangers, many of these things previously noted by travellers but I loved it!

The price was VERY competitive I enjoyed my chats each day with the reception staff. There was always a bike available for bar hopping. The location is amazing for many bars and restaurants particularily close to my favourites the Lorelei and Bentleys.

Rooms were clean and bed was great.

If you take into account this is the Keys and you normally get up very early fish/explore/shop and leave most bars around 10pm arriving back to your room tired and this will be perfect. If you want perfection and 5 star accommodation then dig very deep to pay for it...if not then this is Perfect for you.

I will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank courtieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for a night. It was affordable and convinient. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Very peaceful!

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the water
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Figui2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We went for a night to get out of Ft Lauderdale. I have passed this place many times. The staff was very nice, the free kayaks and bike access is fantastic. Love that you can take them out anytime, and we did. The kayaking right off the beach was amazing. The only thing I will say is that the bed in room v, needs to be replaced as it was extremely uncomfortable. Other than that, I love this place and will be back, I'll just ask for another room next time.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spent one night at La Jolla. It was a great experience for us. Who took a day off without the children and escaped to Islamorada.
This is a great old fashion hotel with nice rooms with sofa, stove, fridge and a big bed.
We wanted to stay longer but the kids were back on Saturday night therefore paradise was kinda cut short. No complaints other than the water front has no beach but that is usual in Islamorada. The staff is very courteous and helpful. rooms are very clean and the atmosphere is relaxing

Room Tip: Room M is great.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pahvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.6 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.9 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
622 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Resort

Address: 82216 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: $181 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Bayfront Islamorada Resort featuring efficiencies and apartments within walking & biking distance to all of Islamorada's top shopping, nightlife and dining. Our guests also enjoy FREE use of our kayaks, paddleboards and bicycles during their stay. Whether you are looking for a quiet island retreat or want to experience all Islamorada has to offer on the water or off, it all begins at La Jolla Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your La Jolla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing