We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot”
Review of Casa Morada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Morada
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2006

Staying at Casa Morada in the middle of our week long Keys vacation was the highlight of our trip. My wife and I have stayed at several boutique resorts and this was among the best we have experienced.

I would suggest staying in the main building in a suite on the second floor. All the rooms have lots of space and from the second floor you have a great view of the grounds and the water. The area is very quiet, there is no street noise.

Our room had a sitting room, bedroom and screened porch. The interiors were tasteful. Each room comes with complementary snacks and drinks; beer and wine are extra but very reasonable ($4 per beer). They replenish everything daily, including Fuji water (nice for the pool in the heat). Fluffy bath towels!!! They also offer free use of Kyaks, bikes, and DVDs (nice for when it rains).

The owners worked with Ian Schrager and this shows in the service. These people do not say 'no'. Everyone we met that worked there was friendly and knowledgable about the area.

The pool island was great; just over a little bridge. Its more of a lounge than a pool area. Plenty of room for everyone. There is a nice sized cabana/bar over the water with games like chess and scrabble to get you out of the sun for a little while. They will bring you lunch at the pool from the menu of a nice Greek place across the highway, they pick up the food for you and plate it nicely; worth the few extra bucks for the convenience.

Threy have a nice continental buffet each morning with breads, cereals and fresh fruits. Its served on a deck overlooking the water.

For dinner try Morada Bay, Ziggys, Lazy Days, or order in from Tower of Pizza and eat on your terrace. The best meal we had all week was at Kaiyo.

Down the street from Casa Morada is Lor-e-lei. Before the hurricanes last year it had a full menu and inside/outside dining. They got hit very hard and are rebuilding. They offer a small selection of food, all served outside. Lots of local guides hang out there and its a good spot to plan a day trip by getting to know the regulars. If you're not looking for a charter you ought to drop in for happy hour drinks one evening or lunch on day and support their efforts to get back to normal.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
There are newer reviews for Casa Morada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 970 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
NC
19
Reviewed May 14, 2006

We stayed at Casa Morada for 3 nights, in a garden suite with an outdoor shower. The suite was not huge, but had plenty of space for us. We loved all the little extras, like the complementary refreshments in the room, a wonderful continental breakfast, and free use of the kayaks. The suite was very clean, with housekeeping each morning and turn-down service each evening. The rooms were not at all damp and humid, which you often find when staying near the water.
The garden area and small waterfall were a relaxing place to sit, and the pool area was beautiful. The pictures really don't do it justice. I loved the hammocks, and the cabana areas for some time out of the sun. We took a snorkel/fishing trip and the staff were terrific in taking care of all the arrangements for us.
There were only a few very small things that kept me from giving a 5 rating. The patio screen had several rips, so we could not use that and had to just use the glass door. Also, the housekeeping staff mostly did not speak English. This was a problem when there were small requests that we tried to make, and were not able to make ourselves understood.
I do think that the prices were somewhat high, but the wonderful environment and all the extras really made it worth it to us. We absolutely would have stayed longer if our room was available for more days.
Overall, if you are looking for a relaxing place to stay with a lot of extras and great concierge-type service, you would probably like it here.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2006

Fantastic boutique hotel. From the service, to the food, to the rooms everything was above and beyond. The only thing that didn't meet our expectations was the weather. Unfortunately the Keys were experiencing a cold front that weekend. I tell you if want to be pampered and treated like a celebrity by the staff this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islander70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2006

Casa Morada is a tucked back in the bay and is extremely peaceful. If you are looking for privacy and a relaxing place to stay, stay here!! The staff at Casa Morada were magnificent and are attentive to anwering questions and guest satisfaction. Having been to Cheeca, I have to say I like Casa Morada better due to the seclusion. We stayed in a garden suite w/ an outdoor shower on the lower level and were never bothered by others. The inside in small but the garden suite has 2 rooms, one being the bedroom and the other being a sitting room w/ a tv. The outdoor patio was extremely relaxing and private since there were curtains that could be closed for privacy. I think the upstairs suites were screened in and the lower units were not screened in. Anyway, great place! Will return again!!

1  Thank AroundtheWorld2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Canandaigua, New York
536
Reviewed April 28, 2006

Staying here in June 2005 was not what we thought it would be. We stayed in the Garden rooms and although they were nice, they were very overpriced. If I ever return, I would probably stay on the Island at Casa Morada, but then again, we discovered the Caribbean Resort at Sea Isle and love that so much more.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tampa, FL
13
Reviewed April 23, 2006

We recently returned home from Casa Morada. What a fabulous oasis! My husband and I eloped two weeks ago and were married on the Casa Morada property. What a wonderful experience it turned out to be. We LOVED the staff!! Thank you to Lauren, Trey and everyone else for being so accomodating. We just loved how quiet and peaceful it was. We could not have asked for a better wedding experience.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2006

Stayed only two nights, which was just enough time for us to enjoy the tranquility of the resort and the friendliness and helpfullness of the staff. We truly enjoyed RELAXING at our almost private resort! It was a great place to get away from the usual resort crowds and noise. Staff respected our wishes to be left alone, yet were available to recommend local eateries and even offered to get food for us. Since my husband and I enjoy getting away to relax without the hassle of crowds and screaming children, this really was great for us. Our own private jacuzzi in our room with our own tropical balcony was a special treat....privacy, tranquility, what more can we have asked for? We will have to do it again when we are ready to run away for a few days.

I might add that both my husband and I travel a lot and we both have allergies. I must say that we didn't have the usual dust allergy problems because our room and bathroon were SPOTLESS!

3  Thank SunnyA1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
305 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Morada

Address: 136 Madeira Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $355 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morada is an upscale sixteen suite privately owned hotel inspired by the informal character of the Caribbean. The atmosphere is private, peaceful, and serene. The staff is known for their warmth and attentiveness. Raymond Jungles, a renowned Miami Landscape Architect known for his natural lush landscapes, designed the award-winning garden spaces throughout the property. The highlight of the resort is Casa Morada's spectacular private island. The island is accessed by a dramatic footbridge and features a fresh water pool, secluded cabana and the Sunset Gazebo bar with stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico. Casa Morada is a 90 minute drive south from Miami International airport and 90 minutes north of Key West. Guests of Casa Morada may also arrive to the hotel by boat. Casa Morada is a pet-friendly hotel and welcomes children 16 and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morada Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing