We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect island getaway”
Review of Casa Morada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Morada
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The perfect island getaway”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I just had an amazing long weekend stay at Casa Morada. I'm pretty sure we took advantage of almost every amenity they offered- from morning yoga to the property's kayaks and bikes. This resort was so calm and intimate; there were times when it felt like we were to only people there. What a difference as compared to the atmosphere when we visited Cheeca Lodge for brunch one day. That chaos made us REALLY appreciate the tranquility we were enjoying at Casa Morada. Casa Morada is definitely catering to couples- I don't think I would stay there if traveling with children. They probably would not be welcomed by the other guests.
The service from reception to checkout was warm and efficient. We spent a lovely evening sunset chatting with Jessica the bartender at the beach bar. The only thing I would have added is some nice bubble bath to have used while enjoying the jacuzzi tub on the screened porch of our room. Can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: Every room is different. Do some research on their website before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigsOrganizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    171
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
48
691
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We went there for five nights middle of december, could have not been better, staff did everything to make our stay the most relaxing and enjoyable....captain bill made also a difference, the eco tour as well as sunset sailing was just so terrific, his enthusiasm and knowledge about the area are just superb.....a little tiny thing, little coffe machines in the room would totally complement the excellent picture..again thank you!!!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Coin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Beautiful property, quiet, great location. Staff and management go out of their way to assist in any way they can. One of a kind boutique hotel. Family has stayed there as well and continue to rave about the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hutchhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place, not as big at it seems at the web, but totally worth it. The space is enough...you can enjoy the quietness of a perfect weekend. I went as a mini honey moon and we spent a perfect weekend. The SUN room was huge, paddle and kayak were in good conditions, also bikes. There is a special place for the sunset, and we stayed outside watching a perfect night while drinking in peace...that's what you will find here, PEACE.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Enzo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We visited Casa Morada for 2 nights in late November. The weather was not the best, so we were not able to enjoy beach time/lounge chairs, though they were comfortable and the oceanfront setting was lovely. We did go for a dip in the pool, but the water was on the cool side for our liking, especially given the cool weather. We thought the overall property was beautiful and enjoyed playing on the bocce ball court. The beverages provided upon arrival were a very nice touch. The breakfast was top-notch, and the breakfast terrace is protected from the weather with a beautiful ocean view. The beach bar hut is really nice and well-equipped with magazines, games etc and the bartending gal was very welcoming. The only things that we felt detracted from our experience were the lack of certain comforts in the room. There is a hard floor throughout, which is great for Florida, but not a single mat or rug in the entire room, so it felt kind of "cold" and not very cozy at all. Not even a mat inside or outside the doors to wipe your feet or leave your shoes on. We thought that was strange given the sandy grounds. Also the lack of end tables in the sitting area and bedside nightstand in the bedroom was inconvenient. Closet space very restricted.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank straightsc00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Location, food, swimming, fabulous staff -- it's got them all. The day starts with wonderful pastries and the New York Times, continues with dips in the pool or ocean. Avery pleasant seaside bar helps you observe sunset. Staff are on hand with discerning advice about nearby restaurants. Rooms are spacious and airy -- even during a hot spell we could sleep without air conditioning. Balconies overlook a tropical garden or the sea providing wonderful private space to relax in. Suites consist of bedroom, bath, balcony and what might be a living room -- in our case rather sparsely furnished, looking for a purpose or theme. The centerpiece was a mildly uncomfortable day bed.

Room Tip: Try a garden room a bit removed from the office/.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winst0n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I spent a week at the Casa Morada on business and it was absolutely wonderful. The staff were probably the most friendly people I have ever encountered and they provided outstanding service. My suite was surprisingly large and gorgeous with a spectacular view of the ocean, and the grounds were immaculate with lots of tropical vegetation. I honestly felt like I was on my own private island, yet there were plenty of places to explore within walking distance. If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing place to escape, I highly recommend the Casa Morada. It's the perfect place for a romantic get-a-way and I definitely plan to visit them again.

Room Tip: I stayed in two different suites and all of the rooms are gorgeous - you can't go wrong no matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsDonnaSue2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
686 reviews
2.0 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Morada

Property: Casa Morada
Address: 136 Madeira Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morada is an upscale sixteen suite privately owned hotel inspired by the informal character of the Caribbean. The atmosphere is private, peaceful, and serene. The staff is known for their warmth and attentiveness. Raymond Jungles, a renowned Miami Landscape Architect known for his natural lush landscapes, designed the award-winning garden spaces throughout the property. The highlight of the resort is Casa Morada's spectacular private island. The island is accessed by a dramatic footbridge and features a fresh water pool, secluded cabana and the Sunset Gazebo bar with stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico. Casa Morada is a 90 minute drive south from Miami International airport and 90 minutes north of Key West. Guests of Casa Morada may also arrive to the hotel by boat. Casa Morada is a pet-friendly hotel and welcomes children 16 and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morada Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing