We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet in the Keys”
Review of Casa Morada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Morada
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet in the Keys”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We wanted a small peaceful get-away in the keys... and we found it at Casa Morada. The staff was cheerful and helpful. We stayed in the building overlooking the bay. (the other building is nestled in the trees) Very nice room - clean, big, and stocked with snacks. The pool was small but clean and attractive. The hammocks and the napping hut were hits. The complimentary snorkel gear was fun. The hotel was very quiet... on the bay-side of the Keys... but was within easy walking distance to casual bars with great views of sunset. Overall, a very peaceful, clean, attractive hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    170
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
46
681
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I needed to take a break after having our Boy Caden who just turned 1. We always end up at Casa Morada in Islamorada, as it only takes us about 1 hour and 45 minutes to get there from our home in Fort Lauderdale. We love the place, as it is only 14 rooms, so it doesn't have that hustle and bustle of a big hotel. Every one makes you feel at home, including the resident cats. We had Pirate waiting for us when we arrived. LOL. Everything is perfect from the glass of champagne when you arrive to the wonderful continental breakfast on the balcony overlooking the bay. We always end up in the pool sipping wine and letting our blood pressure drop to zero. Definitely a hidden gem in the Florida Keys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLF888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Still a unique gem and a wonderful get away....The staff as helpful as always. The rooms are delightful. Love napping on the sailboat or in the Nap Hut by the pool. I'm not sure there is much more Casa Marada can do to improve the hotel. This is my home away from home...and the fact I don't have to get on a plane and deal w TSA is always a plus. Within 2.5 hours I am transported to ZEN.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lulu33469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Casa Morada for his post deployment leave vacation. We visited on Saturday June 15th - Monday June 17th. Every part of our stay in at the Casa Morada was relaxing, peaceful and just what we were in need of after 6 months apart. Checking in was a breeze. After everything was settled at the front desk, we were walked to our suite. Great service.

We brought a small 13ft Boston Whaler boat with us and were able to back it in down the boat ramp on site and keep it tied of to the dock near the pool. Very convenient! The property on site is gorgeous. Quaint but incredibly spacious. We stayed in the Shangri La Suite and were blown away by the amazing view from our front balcony and windows. Breath taking.

The staff was incredibly helpful. The breakfast each morning was sufficient. Nothing extraordinary but no complaints from either my husband or myself. The pool was large and the pool side bar was also a nice touch. I only wished they served liquor. (Beer & wine only). A pina colada poolside would have made it perfect!

The Casa Morada does not allow children under 16. I have never stayed at a place that did not allow kids and now I can understand why so many people enjoy this. (For the record, I love children). Laying poolside with about 12 other people and not hearing a single sound was something that will stick with me for my days to come. I will continue in my busy work schedule now that I am back at work, day dreaming of my days poolside at the Casa Morada. No hotel, resort, or accommodations before this have been more peaceful and beautiful.

Slightly pricey but well worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyglitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at this property for 4 nights Mar.10th thru the 13th as part of a 2 week vacation. The hotel is casually elegant. We also as like the previous reviewer stayed in the Moon Suite. It was large and airy. I loved the quietness of the location. The jacuzzi in the enclosed out door area was amazing. Property is beautiful and the people there are warm and helpful. If you are looking for a very formal environment , this place is not for you. It is caual and quiet without the constant noise of a typical 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annsherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was truly an island retreat away from home. We've stayed in many bed and breakfasts as well as resorts and this had some of the finer qualities of both.

The staff were very personable and friendly. They offered us a complimentary glass of champagne on arrival and gave us a tour of everything the property had to offer.

The sea view suites looked a amazing but we were worried that the morning complimentary continental breakfast would wake us in the morning so we opted for the garden suites. The room was simply amazing. We decided to stay in the garden suites at the back of the property to have privacy.

Our room was the Moon suite. There were two rooms: a sitting room with TV and the bedroom. If you count the sunroom in the back with the jacuzzi tub, then there were three rooms.

The sunroom was fantastic. There was a thunderstorm the first day and it was an incredible experience to sit in the sun room, protected by a large screen and awning outside, and just watch the rain fall on the lush garden outside. We brought food in several nights and just ate it in peace in the sun room as the sun set.

The bed was one of the top 5 beds we've ever slept on. It as large, had firm memory foam, and great pillows. I almost feel ridiculous spending time talking about the bed but it really was that nice.

We loved the continental breakfasts served in the morning. First off, the breakfast was served until 11 am which gave us time to wake up leisurely, get cleaned up, and still make it down with more than enough time to spare. The breakfast included hard boiled eggs, great chocolate and almond coussants, fresh fruit, yogurt, and excellent granola. Since it was served by the sea view suites, we had a great view of the bay during breakfast. We were also very lucky to have friendly and social guests to talk with. One couple was so nice we spent several hours hanging out with them over coffee even though we had just met them. Other guests brought their dogs who hung out with the cats that were also co-residing in the breakfast area, though unhappy to share their space.

Beyond the sea view rooms was a little man made island with pool, cabana area, beach chairs, hammocks, and couches. It was quiet, calm, and relaxing to be by the pool all day. There were kayaks and paddle boards that you could take out for free which were fun. But nothing beat hanging out by the pool, napping in a hammock, or having a light bite in the cabana while playing backgammon, chess, or scrabble which were already set up.

One day, while hanging by the pool, two sea manatees came into the dock area behind the island to graze and I snorkeled around them as they hung out for a while.

We loved casa morada and would go back there in a heartbeat if ever in the keys again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the moon room and loved it. It was quiet, secluded, and peaceful. We purposefully didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingTormans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This Hidden gem is more than relaxing, its heaven on earth! staff is attentive and discrete, suites are gorgeous and private. upon checking in, you are transported in a Zen world that will follow you through out your stay.
With an amazing view from the bar, time goes by nice and easy just like a dream...Try the Breakfast buffet in the morning with a " NO CELL PHONES" simply divine...what a change!
We are making this our secret escape from Miami and are now counting the days to return.

Ps: Amenities in rooms are amazing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEPHANE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
294 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
663 reviews
2.0 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Morada

Property: Casa Morada
Address: 136 Madeira Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morada is an upscale sixteen suite privately owned hotel inspired by the informal character of the Caribbean. The atmosphere is private, peaceful, and serene. The staff is known for their warmth and attentiveness. Raymond Jungles, a renowned Miami Landscape Architect known for his natural lush landscapes, designed the award-winning garden spaces throughout the property. The highlight of the resort is Casa Morada's spectacular private island. The island is accessed by a dramatic footbridge and features a fresh water pool, secluded cabana and the Sunset Gazebo bar with stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico. Casa Morada is a 90 minute drive south from Miami International airport and 90 minutes north of Key West. Guests of Casa Morada may also arrive to the hotel by boat. Casa Morada is a pet-friendly hotel and welcomes children 16 and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morada Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing