We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”
Review of Casa Morada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Morada
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The wonderful grounds and waterside location of this hotel could not be bettered, especially at sunset. The room did not quite come up to the same standards as the location but was nevertheless, comfortable and clean. The bathroom is a little on the small side and more of a motel standard. However, the location was so stunning, breakfast on the patio was glorious, with plenty on offer and I would definetly recommend this to anyone looking for a hotel in this area. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. I would certainly love to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thingx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 973 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

When we arrived it was evening and we weren't sure if we found the right place. This is how off the beaten path Casa Morada is. Once we realized we were at the right place, we were graciously greeted by friendly staff.

They showed us our room, which faced the gardens. The grounds were well kept and most of the time it seemed that we were the only guests there!

PROPERTY:
The property consists of lush gardens (think Caribbean islands with Palm trees), white sandy footpaths, private "beach" with hammocks, pool, cabana, and bar. There's even access to the bay for snorkeling. At night the grounds are softly lit, and with the breeze, it's heavenly.

ROOM:
The room consisted of a sitting area, bedroom, bathroom, and screened-in sitting area with a huge jacuzzi tub/shower. It was clean and we never heard our neighbors. Oh, and the beds were super comfortable.

AMENITIES:
We borrowed bikes and took a ride up and down the main strip. We were able to leave our bikes outside when we stopped to eat a great french cafe (Bitton Bistro Cafe). The property also had canoes and kayaks available, but we didn't get a chance to utilize those.

FOOD:
Continental breakfast was included, which was served on the patio of the guest rooms facing the bay (as opposed to the garden-facing guest rooms). If you were lucky, you'd get a visit from Bama, the resort's house cat. The fruit was great and they had a nice selection of healthy cereals, bread, hard boiled eggs, tea, and coffee.

I can't close this section out without mentioning Kaiyo Grill. If you're into Asian cuisine, this place is AWESOME! We had a selection of the most unique sushi dishes, hands down.

SUMMARY:
I have to say that of all the resorts we've been to, this by far is in the top two. The staff was sooo nice and helpful. They felt like family by the time we left. I want to especially give kudos to Terri. She made us feel like we were visiting her home - very welcoming, indeed.

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. You can't go wrong with whatever you choose. The only option is bay-vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HapyKatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We recently stayed at C M for 3 nights along with a group for a wedding in Islamorada. This is an excellent small hotel and I would highly recommend it. I am a frequent traveller and I can tell you that you will not find a better hotel value-certainly not in the keys. This is without a doubt one of the nicest overall resorts in the keys. As long as you don’t need big resort hotels with the amenities (and lack of charm) that go along with those places, then this is the place to stay. Don’t get me wrong-there are plenty of amenities here-bikes to ride, a beautiful beach/pool are, breakfast each morning and a wonderful staff to name a few. The rooms and the grounds are impeccably clean and well maintained. Everyone I came in contact with on the staff was professional, helpful, and polite. The inclusive breakfast was very good and the coffee was excellent. The pool area /gazebo/bar area is beautiful and is a wonderful and relaxing place to while away the afternoon enjoying the sunshine, a book, a drink or whatever. I give this hotel my absolute highest recommendation and would love to find an excuse to come back to the keys in the future to stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms with a water view are more expensive but the non-water view rooms are excellent as well wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was our first time in the Keys and Casa Morada and it was fantastic. The drive on to the Madeira Road hid the true beauty of the property. It was beautifully landscaped, tranquile and inviting. The gem of the property is a small private island which holds a pool, bar area and beach furniture and overlooks the gulf for fantastic sunsets. The suite was surprisingly large, comfortable and clean. There was a living room area, bathroom, bedroom and patio. The staff were friendly, helpful and the best part of our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nana1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our way back to Miami. What a relief it was to find a professionally run small hotel that looked after the rooms, the garden and the guests!
The rooms are large and are in relatively good shape. We were in one of the first floor rooms nearest the water. It was a little muggy but the A/C was quiet and effective - we even used the heat when the temperature outside dropped suddenly! The shower was effective with good pressure and was well lit. The only problem was that the breakfast balcony above us woke us up at 6.30 a.m. on both mornings. That was not a huge problem since we are early risers but...
The bar, the bayside area and the garden are really lovely.
This is a fine small hotel and we both thought that it was one of the best in the Keys... see my other reviews about our experiences on the Keys.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife, son and I recently spent an entire week at Casa Morada. It was the best. We were warmly welcomed and we immediately felt at home. Our waterfront room was perfect. Every detail was covered. When we couldn't find the safe, the staff apologized and said the safe was out for repair and would be back tomorrow. Tomorrow came and there it was. Too many other hotels would not have followed through. Any special request we made, there it was. The staff knew all the right restaurants and things to do. One of the best surprises was morning yoga right by the water. The yoga teachers, Jeff and Chavon (sp?) are fantastic. It is yoga tailored to your level. Vacation yoga. Wake up to the sunrise over the water, do yoga, have breakfast overlooking the palmtrees...all before 11am. So many great activities, or just do nothing. All in a first rate setting. Food at the little cafe is good too.

Room Tip: Our room was Starfish, right on the water. Pay the extra money and go for a room on the water. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary10100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I booked a room at Casa Morada for 2 nights and they upgraded my room...nice. The room was lovely & clean & within steps of the pool, ocean, & hammocks. The grounds were beautiful and they provided bikes free of charge which was very handy. The service was great. The price, however, was steep & surprising because there were several things I would have expected for the cost. The reading lamps were worthless; one was too dim and the other was a desk lamp with a swing arm that refused to stay in position without toppling over. In a day when everyone travels with mobile phones, etc., the outlets were not convenient. There were no hooks to hang towels that would have been helpful for their green initiative. I would go back if the price was a little less.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room below the patio where breakfast is served and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimbo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
14.7 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
9.3 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Morada

Address: 136 Madeira Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $354 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morada is an upscale sixteen suite privately owned hotel inspired by the informal character of the Caribbean. The atmosphere is private, peaceful, and serene. The staff is known for their warmth and attentiveness. Raymond Jungles, a renowned Miami Landscape Architect known for his natural lush landscapes, designed the award-winning garden spaces throughout the property. The highlight of the resort is Casa Morada's spectacular private island. The island is accessed by a dramatic footbridge and features a fresh water pool, secluded cabana and the Sunset Gazebo bar with stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico. Casa Morada is a 90 minute drive south from Miami International airport and 90 minutes north of Key West. Guests of Casa Morada may also arrive to the hotel by boat. Casa Morada is a pet-friendly hotel and welcomes children 16 and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morada Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing