We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looking for a peaceful getaway this is the place”
Review of Casa Morada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Morada
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“looking for a peaceful getaway this is the place”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

i was there with my boyfriend for a weekend getaway for my birthday we were lucky and found a special package for a room with a Jacuzzi. from the moment you arrive you feel like you discovered a little hidden gem. we were greeted by the owner of the hotel who offered us a glass of mimosa and a tour of the property. the room was spacious, clean and very personal the staff is very nice tissa and terry thank you for making us feel welcome. try the drinks the barman is makes great drinks with sake they were surprisingly awesome. if you are an early bird try the yoga i know i will next time i go. and the complimentary breakfast is great i loved the croissants. they made a mistake on our bill but fixed it promptly when we noticed it. my only regret is not being able to stay longer we will be back. and schedule a massage

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomiebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    170
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
46
681
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights last week. I originally emailed them some time ago and received a very good special offer the Jungle Suite which has a hot tub bath.
When we arrived we were offered a glass of champagne and given a tour of the hotel. The grounds are lovely with hiden pathways to the sea. Our room was fresh and well cleaned, with a massive bed!
Sunbathing by the bar watching the boats and using the kayaks and snorkeling gear was very relaxing too... Overall it was a very chilled break and I would certainly return if in the Keys. The only thing to watch is the cost of drinks and food. We felt hungry one lunch and as the hotel is quite a distance from places to eat we looked a the limited lunch menu by the pool (they dont have a restaurant) and ordered a pizza which included a 18% gratuity and $3 service charge on top of the cost of a pizza - which was a bit steep for a pizza that arrived in a takeaway pizza box! We were also charged a service charge for drinks at the pool bar despite being called over to collect our own drinks when the barmaid had made them! However, if you steer clear of using the bar too much this is a great little place to stay!

Room Tip: Try the Jungle suite if you can for a large Jacuzzi bath tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights at the Casa Morada earlier this month. We were due to only stay for 5 but it was so amazing that we came back. It is the most beautiful, peaceful and relaxing place that we have ever stayed in, the staff are so friendly, the rooms and views of the ocean were breathtaking, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. We would like to extend a huge thank you to the whole team for the most incredible time, and for making this holiday our best ever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mightygirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon about 7 years ago for a few days before carrying on down the keys to Key West. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the service friendly and helpful yet personal and discreet. The poolside areas are perfect for relaxing in the delightful Florida sunshine with a lovely pool, bar and some great hammocks. We particularly liked the semi-outdoors bathtub that made for a special and relaxing experience. Definitely an adult orientated resort and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mancfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was here over Labor Day weekend with some girlfriends. We live in New York and wanted a relaxing weekend to drink cocktails, get some sun and chill out. Casa Morada offered just that! Tucked away in Isla Morada, just 1.5 hours easy drive from Miami airport - this hotel is perfect for any tired New Yorker, Floridian, Angeleno etc (the list can go on!) in need of a quick, refreshing break.
Set right on the bay, the views are gorgeous with the most beautiful sunsets ever. The hotel is small and intimate. The staff were all wonderful - especially Jessica and Bernardo. Nothing was too much trouble and they made you feel so at home. With paddleboards, kayaks and canoes complimentary for guests to use, we were out on the water all day making the most of our time in the Sunshine State. Bikes were also available to use, so we cycled to nearby Morada Bay on night for dinner and to watch the sun go down - a must.
The rooms are great and very spacious - it's well worth paying the little bit extra for the Deluxe Ocean View Suites.
I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. It really is the best kept secret in the Florida Keys.
We are already plotting our 2013 Labor Day return!

Room Tip: As already mentioned, pay the little bit extra for the Deluxe Ocean View Suites. You won't regre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoteluvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

After a shaky start we enjoyed this hotel. We arrived late after driving directly from Miami International, and were given frankly poor directions to a restaurant. The next morning, being jet-lagged, we naturally slept in and were hassled by over- eager staff who wanted to make up the room. Having made our displeasure clear, though, there was a.
Marked improvement, and they gave us free drinks to make up for a bad start. Overall, a great location and a restful place for a restful holiday. Well worth a visit

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Robinl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful resort for 3 nights during my birthday trip to the Florida July 3rd-5th. Our overall experience was very positive and enjoyable. Check in was handled like we were special guest, given introductions to everyone, given a tour of the property, offered a complimentary drink at the bay side bar and then showed us our room. The room did not have a view of the water but was very nicely surrounded by a tropical garden. The room had a sitting area that had a day bed for our third guest with shudder doors that separated it from the bedroom. The room’s décor could us a little help. It’s on the sparse side with a more retro feel and color palette. This was really our only complaint with the place, although it kept in line with the peacefulness of the property. There was an outside shower along with a main bathroom shower. It was enjoyable to use the outside shower however I would have liked a shower curtain on the rear side for more privacy instead of a plant. The shower and bath products offered were excellent: natural and aromatherapy inspired. This resort has a beautiful pool area along with a bar area, however they don’t serve hard liquor which was fine with us as they do serve beer and wine. They also make very innovative tropical drinks with sake in place of liquor. The bar and pool area overlook the bay directly and it is beautiful, calm and with little boat traffic. They do not have a real beach but the way the pool area is laid out made up for it. Overall our experience there was a great one and I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a simple, zen-like place with the smell of Nag Champa, great tropical plants and a desire for peace and tranquility. For those that enjoy paranormal experiences we would recommend room Sweet Mango for some interesting experiences and energy. We are already thinking about when we can return.

Room Tip: Choose a room that includes an outdoor shower for an alternative experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
294 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
664 reviews
2.0 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Morada

Property: Casa Morada
Address: 136 Madeira Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morada is an upscale sixteen suite privately owned hotel inspired by the informal character of the Caribbean. The atmosphere is private, peaceful, and serene. The staff is known for their warmth and attentiveness. Raymond Jungles, a renowned Miami Landscape Architect known for his natural lush landscapes, designed the award-winning garden spaces throughout the property. The highlight of the resort is Casa Morada's spectacular private island. The island is accessed by a dramatic footbridge and features a fresh water pool, secluded cabana and the Sunset Gazebo bar with stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico. Casa Morada is a 90 minute drive south from Miami International airport and 90 minutes north of Key West. Guests of Casa Morada may also arrive to the hotel by boat. Casa Morada is a pet-friendly hotel and welcomes children 16 and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morada Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing