We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing, boutique hotel”
Review of Casa Morada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Morada
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very relaxing, boutique hotel”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I really liked this place a lot. It's a small Boutique style hotel. The grounds are really beautiful. The breakfast was included in our room rate and it was a very good continental breakfast. Some people came to breakfast in their hotel bathrobes and brought their little dogs with them. I just loved that. I really like the casual elegance of this place. It's quiet and very dog friendly, the rooms are private and the common areas are really quite nice. The pool area has plenty of lounge chairs. The bar was staffed by the pool so we could order drinks and appetizers and gaze at the water.

The pool could maybe use some updating. It was a little cold in the pool when we were there. I don't think they heat the pool, or at least they didn't when we were there. They had free kayaks for you to use. I thought it was refreshing to stay somewhere that didn't nickel and dime you everytime you turn around. It's so nice to have these free amenities! I really think the owner's of this resort know what they are doing.

Another great thing was that they had a whole bunch of different magazines, some board games etc in the bar area. How nice to grab a magazine and lounge in your chair by the water with a drink. These little amenities make the whole experience so enjoyable. the location is close to a number of great restaurants (we love Morada Bay for a casual dinner on the water with live music)

We will definitely be back, and next time we will bring our little dogs!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eggroll22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    171
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
48
689
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This quaint hotel is like a bed and breakfast, we had a beautifully appointed room (gumbo limbo) and loved their grounds and pool bar views. Found the staff a bit aloof and there was an annoying neighbors dog who barked constantly, but besides that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is a lovely little place a third of the way down the Florida Keys. It is the best place is Islamorada, but take note that the Florida Keys are not Miami South Beach. We got a bit of a shock at the change of pace and style. Casa Morada is a converted motel with well appointed rooms. The pool area is the best feature and is fantastic. Sadly they do not serve spirits, so you cannot have a cocktail by the pool... Take your own vodka or gin. There are manatees which come up to the resort and they are amazing. My wife was able to swim with them and it made her day. There are lots of nice restaurants nearby which is handy as Casa Morada does not have a restaurant. You NEED a car round here. The owner is a lovely lady. You must speak to her with any comments that you have and she is very responsive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alistairio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have been staying at Casa Morada for at least 8 years now.. It's about three hours from my house to this stunning tropical island... I am appalled at the scathing review that someone actually left on here ... It's pretty obvious by the majority of the reviews what this sanctuary is really like... And I have used the bocce ball court I have taken many naps in the grotto... There are Mosquitos everywhere that's just life in the tropics... The rooms are large and beautifully done.. I have never stayed at a holiday inn but I assure you that there is NO comparison... Maybe the travellers who left those remarks aren't used to the keys life..... Casa Morada goes above and beyond our expectations and always have... And I happen to love hard boiled eggs... They also have lovely breads fresh cereal delicious tropical fruits... Many other items to order if you want something more... Please don't let someone who is obviously blind to beauty stray you from this hidden treasure!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisyhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Casa Morada for two nights over labor day weekend 2011. We were on our way to Key West to celebrate her birthday and wanted to break up the drive as well as see Islamorada. My wife absolutely loved this place. It is very peaceful with really cool gardens and paths winding down to the bayside bar, pool and "beach". The bayside "beach", bar and pool were very nice and never crowded even though the place seemed full. We had a cocktail the first evening we arrived and watched the sunset from the bayside beach, and we were hooked. It was the most amazing sunset we have ever seen with sailboats moored in the bay. Absolutely beautiful. In the morning we walked down to the water and pulled the free kayaks off the rack and kayaked up and down the coast for a couple of hours. We also used the bikes free of charge and were able to bike to local restaurants and museums. Overall a very nice place. The rooms, in my opinion, were above average (not great) but the bed was very big and comfortable, there was plenty of room and the A/C worked great. The staff brought us a coffee maker for in the morning and the continental breakfast served near the water was pretty good. The staff was VERY friendly and attentive but were not bothersome. A great place for couples but not a good place if you have kids. The main downside was there is not enough parking but this seems to be par for the course in self-serve boutique hotels in the Keys. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We want to keep this short and sweet: La Casa Morada was the Biggest Mistake Ever. We have absolutely no idea how this property has received positive reviews. This place is a rip-off, a con, a complete and utter joke. We paid over $300 a night to stay in a souped-up motel, box-of-a-room that would make any Holiday Inn look like a Small Luxury Hotel. These people spend more time and money trying to divert your attention from your pathetic rooms with a bocci ball court nobody uses and a malaria-infested grotto designed for "meditation" instead of addressing the real issues. In addition, the breakfast is third rate at best. You get hard-boiled eggs. I mean, who eats hard-boiled eggs? Maybe Nick Adams, in one of Hemingways's short stories. There is one positive thing though: Leaving! After three nights and a $1,200 bill we were pumped to get the heck out of dodge!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was a long weekend at the end of July 2011. It was a wonderful stay, the greatest thing I believe is the tranquility. It is not a big fancy spa hotel but nice and small and very personable. My wife and I went there for her birthday and to get away from daily routine. It gave us way more than that. From the suites to breakfast overlooking the water, all our needs were met.
The overall feel @ Casa Morada is luxurious. The location is also perfect, This will become a spot that we will frequent more

Room Tip: We had the Moonroom, it is on the 2nd floor and gives you a lot of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dutch90-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
298 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
678 reviews
2.0 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Morada

Property: Casa Morada
Address: 136 Madeira Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morada is an upscale sixteen suite privately owned hotel inspired by the informal character of the Caribbean. The atmosphere is private, peaceful, and serene. The staff is known for their warmth and attentiveness. Raymond Jungles, a renowned Miami Landscape Architect known for his natural lush landscapes, designed the award-winning garden spaces throughout the property. The highlight of the resort is Casa Morada's spectacular private island. The island is accessed by a dramatic footbridge and features a fresh water pool, secluded cabana and the Sunset Gazebo bar with stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico. Casa Morada is a 90 minute drive south from Miami International airport and 90 minutes north of Key West. Guests of Casa Morada may also arrive to the hotel by boat. Casa Morada is a pet-friendly hotel and welcomes children 16 and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morada Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing