We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch”
Review of Chef Michael's

Chef Michael's
Ranked #4 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A warm, inviting dining room with colorful local art adorning the walls. Small, sleek bar serving fine wine and beer. Tropical veranda seating for a lovely alfreso dinner or Sunday brunch. Fresh Local fish and seafood, Prime steak, attentive, friendly service.
Islamorada, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Downtown Islamorada has Chef Michael's. You"ll leave a better person for your experience with their cuisine Absolutely amazing. I know I need to go back soon. Do yourself , your family and friends a lovely jester and eat at Chef Michael's. Like me you'll want more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Girlfriday077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    945
    208
    80
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nyc
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“I Had to Return for More”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Okay I don't know if Cafe Michael is the best restaurant on Islamorada, but I can see it is very popular with the wealthier locals. Friendly service and if you prefer sitting at the bar for good conversation than Michael's is your place.

I would only say that I wish the entrees were served with something more than a large portion of rice and a few veggies. The fish was fresh and prepared well but the flavors lacked the wow factor. I would like to see more interesting desserts.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hi3655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was my favorite restaurant (out of 8 on Islamorada) with great food, cozy atmosphere, great service!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gmszj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best Fish We've Ever Eaten”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

After eloping with my wife in Key Largo, we needed a place to enjoy our wedding night dinner. Our photographer recommended Chef Michael's very highly and I'm happy to report that our food and experience was excellent.

Before arriving in The Keys, I made reservations and let the staff know that this would be our wedding dinner. When we got to the restaurant we were immediately seated and brought two complimentary glasses of champagne to celebrate our nuptials. Our midwestern taste buds had never experienced hogfish before, but since Chef Michael's seems to specialize in this particular type of fish, my bride and I decided to try it two different ways. We ordered the Juliette and the Ambassador style of hogfish and started with a fried lionfish appetizer. The appetizer and the bread were fantastic. The breading of the fish was crunchy and hot while the bread was crusty on the outside and tender on the inside. I wisely turned down the offer of additional bread which I could have eaten all night long, because the generous portions of fish to come were prepared expertly and with the care and attention to detail I would expect from the finest restaurants.

Do yourself a favor and seek this place out. You will love the food and the service. When we return to The Keys I guarantee you we will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wes and Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“YUM!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Fish was outstanding- Snowy grouper special. Owner and staff very accommodating and genuine. Best meal in Islamorada we had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dguerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Michael's also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Chef Michael's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing