We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahi ... can't miss this year”

KAY K IV Sport Fishing Charters
Ranked #2 of 159 Tours in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Kay K IV was built in 2002. Air conditioned, well maintained and fast, the K KAY IV was customized to maximize fishability and comfort. We can easily handle up to 6 fishermen in the KAY K IV’s huge cockpit with it’s large live bait well. The experienced crew will guide you to and give you instructions on how to catch Mahi , Wahoo, Sailfish, Kingfish, Tuna and more. Do you want to fish the reef for yellowtail snapper, muttons snapper and groupers? We can do that! How about fishing for something different? Deep dropping (300ft to 600ft) for snapper, tilefish, porgies and snowy grouper; just a few of the tasty deepwater fish species that Captain Don has the equipment and the expertise to catch. Concerned about getting seasick or don’t want to get too far out to sea? Try our patch fishing trip. Lots of action, close to shore and in relatively calm water. We have a clean bathroom, comfortable seating and a large fish box. We also have a courteous, professional, and experienced crew that will make your trip truly memorable.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mahi ... can't miss this year”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Reports are that the Mahi-Mahi fishing is the best its been in 10yrs. Capt Don and First Mate Lee worked hard to locate the birds, which guided us to the fish. Lee was outstanding!! He's a freelancer, so make sure you know his schedule.

The day before our trip, we talked to Capt Don and devised a plan to go for Mahi in the morning and fish the reef in the afternoon. That did not happen. Too bad because several in our group were feeling the effects of the rough seas.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SPS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Mahi Mahi heaven”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had 6 guys on a charter in late May with Kay K charters with captain Don and Lee. It was a perfect full day of fishing. Captain Don put us on the fish and we boated 32 mahi (biggest was a 30lb cow), 3 skip jack tunas, got back to the dock safe and happy.
This was a great charter, comfortable boat, loaded with everything we needed to have a great time. Bring your own drinks and snacks, the full day is a long day. The parlor is air conditioned and a perfect place to escape the hot Islamorada sun.
This was a fishing trip I will never forget.
Thanks Captain Don and Lee!!

Jeremy Jacobs
Miami FL

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeremy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Bash!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Captain Don made my 50th birthday special by putting us on the fish! My wife and two sons had a great time. Captain Don and Gary did a great job finding the fish and helping us catch them. I higly recommend booking your next fishing charter with KAY K IV.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cesar z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
1 review
“Family fishing”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Captain Don on the Kay K IV provided an incredible trip for my family. As a father of two boys that have never fished offshore before, the trip was everything I could hope for them to experience. Not only did we catch 40 yellowtail snapper but Captain Don treated my boys as family. He was very patient and instructional to the kids. After the trip, all the boys could talk about was when we were going to fish again with Captain Don. Thank you for the wonderful memory that you provided today and the experience that left the kids wanting to go again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great day of fishing!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great day of fishing thanks to Captain Don, Mate Lee and a couple of wonderful birds that kept us on the fish.

I highly recommend the Kay K IV and crew if your looking for that special time CATCHING FISH!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sburger65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KAY K IV Sport Fishing Charters also viewed

 

Been to KAY K IV Sport Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing