We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother - choose motel along the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't bother - choose motel along the way”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2006

Reception staff is anything but welcoming - they give impression that it is a huge chore for them to provide instructions on how to find the room and amenities. Don't even bother asking further questions about the local attractions.

Room is more of a motel standard quality that can be found at much cheaper rate in the area. Air-con is old and very noisy, hence, it was a choice of trying to sleep in a hot room or trying to fall asleep next to this noisy air-con. Don't expect much in terms of amenities - there are two pools and a virtually empty bar. It is a waterfront property but there is no beach to speak of - it looks like a beach on the photos but there is no sand and nowhere to swim hence waking along the coast is the only option.

All in all there is no difference between this hotel and motels along the way, not to mention that there are plenty of nicer places in the area.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Old, noisy air-con, bungalows can be far from reception hence no feeling of security
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanita1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    502
    172
    70
    67
See reviews for
472
552
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2006

Our family and friends were thrilled with picking this hotel to stay at on our way to Key West. The hotel was easy to find with the huge sign out front. Coming onto the property you get the feel of being somewhere very tropical. All the rooms are ground level so it's great being able to park in front of your room and be able to carry your stuff right into your room. The room was a huge. All the appliances worked great in the kitchen. The free breakfast was very good, a nice area to eat in or outside if you wish. By time we came back from breakfast our room had been cleaned up and we were ready for the day. We put a call in for maintenance upon arrival due to not being able to get the safe open and a screen on the back porch was pulled out. The maintenance guys were there within a couple of hours to get things back in order. The one man said he would be there all night since he patrols the area. The pool(s) were beautiful! A fresh water and salt water pool. There were always chairs available plus they provide the towels. On one evening a wedding was done on the beach, it was beautiful and there were no noisy crowds or crazy people to go along with it. The beach was kept immaculate. Not any luck fishing off the fishing pier but it was nice to hang out on. Overall a great resort, we would stay here in a heartbeat. Very relaxing, tropical and family friendly!

  • Liked — Pool and Beach area
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — n/a
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2006

I can only vouch for the beachfront rooms (those numbered 500+) but our stay was perfect. The room was great size, clean and the A/C rocked (we actually had to go outside to get warm!). We stayed the last week of July. The resort is located along the highway between Whale Harbor and Bud n Mary's, so wherever you choose to fish from, you're nearby. There are bars & restaurants and shopping located within walking distance. Great place to take the kids to and the resort is a very reasonable ride to Key West, we took a great day trip there and explored the Everglades on our way back to the Miami airport. No bugs, I had more bugs swarm me when I returned to PA than I saw on my entire trip to the Keys. All in all, we would return to the Islander in a heart beat. The staff was responsive and friendly - I am so happy we didn't pay more to stay at an expensive lodge or spa.

Helpful?
1 Thank robil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2006

Good part. Found if you get to the pool before lunch you're fine and then try
after 5pm. During the day you will be croweded out. I read a comment... Local
here Local there everywhere a local.. ITs true. Too bad they cannot reserve 1
pool just for guest use when its crowded and then have a Lifeguard or somebody
out at the pool monitoring how the locals treat the guests.

My kids did catch fish on the Dock, and found other things to do. But be careful, it
does get Lound during weddings.

The room was clean, the screen door broke on our way to breakfast, reported it
and by the time we were finished they fixed it. so if something is wrong report
it, my experience is that they fix it fast

If you live in the Keys - The Islander is a fantastic Deal.

You can drive right up PARTY.. Argue with the Guests.. have your teenagers party
on the beach drinking lots of beer, toss their beer cans and let somebody else
worry about cleaning up.

IIf you're paying $$$ for it you're kinda getting ripped off. On Monday the
Hotel empited out. Pool was crowded the Locals
took over the pool, the locals dragged in the lawn charirs into the pool and did
not even make room for the kids. It was upsetting. Then later on, when the
people left about 4pm (but did not take the furnature out of the pool). I made
the comment quietly to my wife that they did not pick up after themselves that
was not nice. Then a Man Blurted out. Well You don't Live here. You don't
know how much we clean up after the hurricane so we can enjoy the keys. He
wanted to argue. It was upsetting. He was just trying to show he owned the
place.

I think I would give better ratings if they can manage the pool area better.
Since they don't pay attention to the guests, let the locals take over the
grounds I would not call this place a resort. More or less a campground during
the day. Some days good, somedays overcroweded. You have to take the good with
the bad.

Timing of what you do when is the most important... The Saff was responsive to my needs and no complaints about the room.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2006

We just returned from Islamorada and our stay at the Islander Resort. It was great! The room was clean. The continental breakfast was fine. The pools were really nice. We enjoyed relaxing in the hammocks outside our room, snorkeling in the roped off area of the ocean, and playing basketball and shuffel board. Yummy food and tropical drinks are available at the pool. The beach is unbelievable and the water is so beautiful. I can see why people have weddings here. It would also be a great place for a family reunion.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMelloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2006

After reading all the wonderful reviews for this hotel I was really looking forward to staying here. And I was very pleased with everything overall. We stayed 3 nights and for the first 2 nights we had an oceanfront room with a spectacular view. I highly recommend staying in one of those rooms.
The rooms have all been redone with very cute "florida beach style decor" but they forgot to change the windows in the bathrooms that are that old style panel type that you crank to open and never really close so when the drunk 21 year old is having a fight with his girlfriend outside your bathroom window you hear EVERYTHING!!
The rooms could have been a little cleaner and the bedding leaves much to be desired but you can not expect to much from a florida beach hotel.
The staff was ok, just humdrum about you being there, but i have found thats anywhere in the Keys.
The Tiki Bar was fun and very nicely maintained, great food too!! The pool area was also very nicely maintained!
I would definatly recommend the Islander to anyone planning a trip to the Keys. It is in a great location and a great deal for what you get, especially compared to the other hotels in the area!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2006

It was a great stay but there are locals all over the beach and pool area. I watched them as they unload their cars with chairs, toys and kids. It reminded me sometimes of a local community pool. I wouldn't mind except for 2 things. The locals (adults, teenagers and kids) did not seem to respect the property at all, leaving their debris (food/drinks brought from home) all over. The other is that the hotel was already crowded with guests paying over $200 a night for a room and we did not think it was fair to have to share the already crowded pool area with FREELOADERS !! The locals in the pool had no problem telling everybody that they come here all the time. They need a system to monitor this or we will all enjoy a day at the Islander and then sleep somewhere else. Excluding this major problem we all agree it was a great stay.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
2.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
2.3 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,195 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,599 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Siesta Resort & Marina
La Siesta Resort & Marina
#12 of 19 in Islamorada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Property: Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing