We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great weekend at the Islander!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Marco Island, FL
1 review
“Another great weekend at the Islander!”
Reviewed June 4, 2009

This is a return visit, we love the Islander, great location, great pools, fishing pier, boat rentals available and nearby, great fishing-excellent beach bar food/drinks and staff!! This place has it all!! We highly recommend it if travelling to the Keys! Cant wait to return again!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirl1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    525
    179
    77
    70
See reviews for
498
586
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We had booked our reservations based on the website, which depicts a beautifully renovated hotel and describes the accommodations as "classic elegance". When we arrived and looked at the room we were very disappointed. The room and bath were small, very spartan, with a substandard bed - clearly not "elegant". We had stayed at many other FL Keys hotels and were not about to pay $169 per night for this room with absolutely no view. We told the front desk staff we didn't feel the room was worth the rate and politely asked whether there was something they could do. They responded rudely reminding us of the one full night cancellation fee if we were to go elsewhere. I later called and asked to speak to the hotel manager and was given the front desk manager. I asked if there was anything they could do about the cancellation fee since we didn't cancel but were unhappy with the room, and she said no. I mentioned that I did not want to have to dispute the fee through my credit card company, and also mentioned that I did not want to post a negative review. She stated that she was sorry if the staff was rude, but if that's what we felt we had to do then "go for it". For $175 per night we stayed in a beautiful room at Hawk's Cay Resort, truly elegant accommodations - we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaFans2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Our large family has been going fishing in the Florida Keys for over 40 years. We wrote a glowing review of The Islander 3 years ago but we were extremely disappointed this trip. Management was never seen. There was loud, blasting salsa music coming from several rooms>some outside so you could hear it everywhere. One night I went to the front desk to complain/and they said it was ok until 10 p.m. *it went on from morning till night!! There's rules forbidding people from bringing their own drinks to the pool, but no one said anything to the people who were SMOKING in the Pool!! There were zillions of little ants all around our kitchen and bathroom areas. They now nickel and dime you to death, charging for Anything they consider "an extra". And the prices at the restaurant are ridiculous. We will look for other places in the area in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Went for Memorial Day weekend.........what a mistake! Neighbors had about 12 people in a room designed for four. Garbage consisting of empty beer cans and water bottles greeted us outside our screen door every morning. Loud salsa/bongo music at night until 2AM, then started again at 9AM. Unfortunately, this does nothing to dispel the typical stereotypes of Latins, etc. It's a shame, nice location with amenities. Only bad comment for hotel....no pool towels at 11AM the first day......hotel should be better prepared and not let "trash" check in. Breakfast was ok, but area should be made bigger. Won't ever be back.......other hotels with similar or better price in area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajediinmaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We had a great stay at the Islander Resort. It was an easy drive from Fort Lauderdale under sunny skies. The room was reminiscent of past motor courts but clean and comfortable. The outdoor pools, bar and restaurant were great. Beautiful ocean breeze and delicious food. Very relaxing find! We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innkeepermeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We got married at The Islander in March 2009. We had a large group of about 60 family and friends, the vast majority of whom stayed at the resort. The grounds were clean and beautiful, the food and drinks from the tiki bar delicious. Convenience to Lorelai (walking distance) across the street was great for us.
Our wedding was *perfect*. The staff were so accommodating and made the day run smoothly. The food was wonderful, and the backdrop for our wedding photos stunning!!
Many of our group want to make this a yearly return trip - it was that good.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod Mass.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

I just returned from a weeks stay 4/20-27-09. I have been to Islamorada a few times and always try to stay someplace different. Well no more, THE ISLANDER is all that and more.Cozy cottage style rooms with kitchens,beautiful beach,2pools,tiki bar and restaurant and staff more than pleasant. You won't be sorry also try the causal Lorileigh's across the street for a beautiful sunset dinner & drinks or snack.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsetgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,411 reviews
2.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
699 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
717 reviews
2.9 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Property: Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelsClick so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing