We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Islander is clean but spartan.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Islander is clean but spartan.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

The resort is clean but basic. There were maintenance and grounds people working virtually every hour when we were there but landscaping is not lush. Rooms are pretty spartan--white walls, minimal art, tile floor, slight smudges here and there. The rooms look pretty much as shown in the web site but smaller. We had an ocean view room but didn't spend much time in it as it was not particularly homey. There are screened porches and we found out why. All through the day (early Sept) there were no mosquitoes but when we got up early to look at the sunrise, we were swarmed in seconds. My wife had 10 bites in less than 5 seconds before we ran back inside swatting and shutting the door. The pool area is clean and fairly modern looking. The restaurant staff was chatty but the front desk people were cold. Our room thermostat went out and our cable TV went out twice--they respnded quickly but without much sense of cutomer friendly service. We were mandatory evacuated because of Hurrican Ike and the staff got the word to us quickly and efficiently. The "beach" is hard and appears to be sand hauled in and packed thinly over the coral. There is not interface between the sand and water--only breakwater rocks. The road down from Key Largo to Islamorada was a disappointing strip of tacky shops and strip development, not in keeping with a resort theme. The Islander sign looks like something from 1960's Las Vegas. All in all a well maintained property without many amenities. It was more than a motel but comes in on the bottom end as a resort.

Helpful?
2 Thank Meigs_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    502
    173
    70
    67
See reviews for
472
552
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

Very Friendly Staff. Rooms were very comfortable. Kitchen in every unit. 2 swimming pools, so not real crowded. Bar closed early one night because it was very very windy from Hurricane Gustav, but that is understandable. Purchased a bottle of wine to take back to the room and it was not good at all. Chaise lounges on the beach for the hotel guests. Watersports on property, along with basketball, volley ball, and shuffleboard. We had a great time and will return.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — wine selection
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandy4044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

OK place. Nice pool deck. Rooms very basic ... no carpet. Wireless internet unreliable. I might stay there again.

  • Liked — Pool and beach area
  • Disliked — poor reception wireless internet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

We made reservations for a group of 6 families and asked to be put close to each other. Did not happen. We were placed all over the resort, and were not put in the part of the resort (beachfront) that we paid for.

Found little stuff missing from our room each day, then upon our departure my wife was missing around $300 of new clothing.

When we contacted front desk, they were not helpful. When we called the police, they said "Oh yea, that happens a lot there at the Islander." When the police arrived and asked to look at the room and speak with the maids (who we believed stole our property), they were denied permission to enter the property or speak to the maids.

Not what I would have expected. We travel quite a bit and I have never seen this lack of concern about an issue as huge as theft at any hotel, let alone a beach resort.

Also, the seemingly nice "beach" they show is concrete covered by a thin layer of sand.

The "breakfast" was horrible at best.

Steer clear-I would suggest you try another place like Hawk's Cay.

  • Liked — near pool
  • Disliked — theft
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Vitzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

We arrived at the Islander around 4, check-in is at 3 and our room was not ready. The housekeeping staff were angry that we were given the room key, and were rude to us. We headed to the pool where there were no towels to be found. This seems like a great family resort, tons of kids. The pool was hot (it was FL in August). Decent property and beachfront and nice dock.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehclegg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

Just returned from a 4-day stay at the Islander. Our family had a great time and really enjoyed the facility. I found the Tripadvisor reviews to be very accurate. As long as you are not expecting room service, a spa, and mints on your pillow, I think this is a great place for a family vacation. The exterior of the facility is a little dated, but the rooms are clean and comfortable and the kitchenette is nice to have. The free breakfast is convenient - nothing great, but probably as much or more than we would have fixed if we were eating in the room. The grounds and pool area are very clean and very nice. Based on what I saw, the grounds and pools at the Islander far exceed other similarly priced hotels in the area. The only disappointment was the swimming area at the beach. It is very shallow and not really suitable for swimming or snorkeling. However, I think you will find similar conditions at other Islamorada resorts. Overall, I would definitely recommend this for a family vacation, but probably not for a romantic getaway.

  • Liked — pool and beach area/ocean view
  • Disliked — swimming area at beach
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tlydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

Simply put, this revitalized resort is GREAT! My fishing group has stayed here 9 out of the last 10 years for our annual trip and have seen them go from an outdated 60's style motel to a beautiful resort. It features two pools (fresh and salt water) very good poolside bar service, friendly staff, and "sleep like a stone" beds. Each room has a screen porch, and there's a fishing pier that is a great place to meet other guests.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of ice in machines
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
2.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
2.3 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,198 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,601 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Siesta Resort & Marina
La Siesta Resort & Marina
#12 of 19 in Islamorada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Property: Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing